SINGAPORE: A taxi driver who was fined $1,000 for making off with a passenger's wallet left in his taxi will now have to serve a jail term of two weeks.
His fine was also increased to $3,000, following an appeal by the prosecution for a tougher sentence.
Roy Pang Tin Jen, 39, was fined in July 2012 for one count of criminal misappropriation.
On 30 December 2011, he picked up a Japanese tourist from Ritz Carlton Millennia Singapore Hotel and sent her to Changi Airport.
But she left her black Cartier wallet containing 59,000 yen (S$956) on the rear seat.
Another passenger who later took Pang's taxi handed the wallet to him.
Instead of handing the wallet to his taxi company, Pang pocketed the cash and threw away the wallet, driver's licence and credit cards.
The victim contacted the hotel, which then checked with Pang's taxi company.
Pang was arrested and fined.
The prosecution appealed against the sentence, arguing that there was failure to accord sufficient weight to Pang's occupation and public interest.
The maximum sentence for Pang's offence is two years' jail and a fine.
Think this cabby kena "Bao Toh" by the passenger who handed him the wallet .
Gum Gum ho when the pax "Bao Toh" him , the hotel tracked him , AP cameras also tracked him down ....
One Word : SUAY !!!
And not forgetting , Comfort's and SMRT's GPS system , can locate driver one , so dun play play .
Not too sure about TransCab , LOL , recently serious cock up in their MDT .
knn stunt $900+ kena jailed and fined , damn knn not worth it .
even more suay fined $1000 buay song went appealed , slapped to $3000 fined , LOL
And two weeks jailed , knnbccb LOL .
but hor , they never reveal the driver's which colour he drove .
Dunno got kena guntong bo his TVDL ?
If ang mor got caugt stealing other's wallet , fined how much ? Got jail bo ?
I warned u guys , when taxi drivers go court ...... different treatment one hor , dun say i dun warn u .
between taxi driver and ang mor kow , same offences , ang mor can go scott free bo tai ji one hor , cabby will kena three times worst !!
ang moh hum tum taxi driver also can go back new zealand holiday dun come back...until interpol wanted list than bo bian LL come back
CDG gps i think very efficient one.
3 yrs ago took a cab at bishan after one bangala and a maid alight than i board.
within 10mins of my journey TD receive a call from comfort operator
than TD ask me if got any hp left behind by previous pax from where i seating
look ard and below but cannot find so told him no.
mai siao siao....even bangala also know who to call when something go missing.
this type of thing scary also, what if next pax took the wallet, and "frame" the td?
oh one thing maybe to refresh old bird memory, must return valuable to your taxi company within 24hr, weekend when company close can hand over to police station, weekday night go police station, they ask me go back to tc office next day.. knn
Originally posted by Poolman:And not forgetting , Comfort's and SMRT's GPS system , can locate driver one , so dun play play .
Not too sure about TransCab , LOL , recently serious cock up in their MDT .
Originally posted by Poolman:knn stunt $900+ kena jailed and fined , damn knn not worth it .
even more suay fined $1000 buay song went appealed , slapped to $3000 fined , LOL
And two weeks jailed , knnbccb LOL .
but hor , they never reveal the driver's which colour he drove .
Dunno got kena guntong bo his TVDL ?
that driver really sway lor... eat also dun know how to wipe ckean his mouth...
only one sentence, "do anything but dun get caught!!"
also really do not under estimate the gps tracking system...
Originally posted by Maituliao:
As jail term, will leave criminal record, think TVDL shall be void permanently. Liao chor, somemore, the lawyer fee?
got criminal record cannot drive teksi meh?
Originally posted by cyben764:this type of thing scary also, what if next pax took the wallet, and "frame" the td?
oh one thing maybe to refresh old bird memory, must return valuable toyour taxi company within 24hr, weekend when company close can hand over to police station, weekday night go police station, they ask me go back to tc office next day.. knn
Originally posted by Poolman:I warned u guys , when taxi drivers go court ...... different treatment one hor , dun say i dun warn u .
between taxi driver and ang mor kow , same offences , ang mor can go scott free bo tai ji one hor , cabby will kena three times worst !!
ttotally agree, there is a peaking order for punishment,
the rulers, elites, rich and famous, foreign talent, foreign workers, middle income, low income then taxi drivers.
we are at the bottom of the food chain.
Dun underestimate the bottom of the food chain, in evolution, every matter is critical, for without one matter, the whole chain will break and reverse evolution will occur.
Let me go back to the asshole story,
Take the brain as the elite, the heart and all other vital organ as the rich and famous,
the FT and FW as the legs and arms,
the middle income as the eyes, nose and mouth,
lower income as the ear, skin and hair.
And taxis driver as the asshole
Brain will say, hey I am the best, without me, all you guy become stupid and useless
Heart and vital organ said, I also important, without me, you cannot eat and live
Then the legs and arms also said, knn, without us, how you can walk and work or drive
then the ear skin and hair said, me also important, without me, you look ugly, bald, dumb and cannot hear
then the tiny asshole (TD) said, hey I am important too...the rest look at him and laughed, you asshole full of shit, what so important. fark lah...hahahaha
So the asshole decided to go on strike, 5 days, hole closed, brain start to get heated up, vital organ start to get mess up, leg and arm become weak weak, skin discolour, hair dropping, ear hear only ringing soung, ...then all of them tell the asshole, ok ok, you are the most important, please open the damn hole, cannot tarhan liao.
i didnt under estimate the lowest rung of the society, but just a reminder for taxi drivers when u have to attend court.
to get a lighter sentence, if its a male judge, lower ur head and keep say sorry, act humble
if its a female judge, send out a sexy electric current to her.
For that matter, he should not throw the wallet away, return the empty wallet to taxis company or police station, if pax claim the cash, well, you are not the one who pick it up. But of course best is do not take anything lah.
But I may take the wallet over the cash..cartier..hmmm..can worth a 1000++
Originally posted by Poolman:I warned u guys , when taxi drivers go court ...... different treatment one hor , dun say i dun warn u .
Now you understand why I want to de-anglicise Singapore. But the peranakan bastard Harry Lee will oppose. His peranakan power base will lose out in de-anglicised Singapore.
hmm... how almost all thread cant avoid ending up related to politics/ anti-garment ?
maybe our forum queen can merge the taxi forum with the politics forum liao...
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:got criminal record cannot drive teksi meh?
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:hmm... how almost all thread cant avoid ending up related to politics/ anti-garment ?
maybe our forum queen can merge the taxi forum with the politics forum liao...
if garment is fair to citizens, who will want to talk against them.
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:got criminal record cannot drive teksi meh?
can still join property agent, after few years of clean record, CEA can approve property license on a case by case basis.
u know why, bec its for show to lower the unemployment rate t