Hi all taxi shifu, just signup to the forum and say hi to all, intend to start and go into this trade in the next 6-12 months time, just a short intro myself, I'm 38 married with 2 kids both pri sch 9yr and 12yr, working in a F/B industry, wife is a thai working as a supervisor in a restaurant,
currently staying at woodlands ave 6 4rm flat, Main reason to consider going into this trade is able to work in flexible time, maybe probably can earn more than what I'm earning now at 2k, the 2 company that I'm going to consider is between this 3, SMRT / Transcab , silver , SMRT is the priority mainly becos is 5mins from where I'm staying, the other 2 is mainly becos of the cheaper rental, looking forward to be a hire 1 man driving, in the meantime hope to make some new friends over here.
Thanks for reading.
Welcome to the trade
To THE SATURATED INDUSTRY.....
Omo flexible hours?
Siao ah ?
Omo no life de...
Everyday wake up... Rental... Fuel...
Where got time do other things ?
my suggestion is be relief first, learn the trade, jump straight into omo have to experience lots of failure.
also dun chose taxi company just cos you live near the company :p
Originally posted by Khoon 24:Omo flexible hours?
Siao ah ?
Omo no life de...
Everyday wake up... Rental... Fuel...
Where got time do other things ?
knn...bo bo you also omo 2year liao..
Originally posted by Red5xx:knn...bo bo you also omo 2year liao..
Err... Drive cab less den two years lei...
May den officially omo one year..
No life lor...
When still half shift wif CK... Got so much free time. .
Omo so far nett income so much lesser den half shift... And always cannot find time to do my own stufff...
C.Keith , pass liao update us . Long way to go , dunno u can pass yet or not .
Hi, it's still early for me to decide which company I would go for, yes I would probably go in to one man driving for a start, and I really don't mind driving and handle all by myself if I can sustain the cost and at the same time can steady earn 50% more than what I'm getting now, I'm quite ok with it,
long working irregular working hours is ok with me as I'm one of those broke that start working at the age of 11 till now , all along my work is those f/b service line that work early early go home late late type, I choose to be one man driving is because suka suka can start in the afternoon till am or eveing till next morning, or vice versa like that..
If I can bear the cost and make a decent earning without sharing the cab with someone else then it's good for me, and of course if my one man driving is not going to work out for me or it's not sustainable, I will definitely reconsider others options, but for a start I will go try as a one man driving.
Originally posted by Poolman:C.Keith , pass liao update us . Long way to go , dunno u can pass yet or not .
Already pass the VL, it's just my employers wants me to stay on first as long as I can till they find someone that can cover my duties, he steady with me I will be steady with him, so probably 6 mths from now,
For someone in the F&B industry , indoor business .
A switch to driving a cab is already very tough , OMO one is even worst .
I was an outdoor salesman for many years , running shopping centres all over Singapore , and when i first drove a cab , when i thought i am familiar with Sgp , too bad , i was proven wrong , i only know Singapore 10% .
Thank god i chose to be a relief .
Pay rental to learn .
I mean half a day rental to learn .
Not full rental to learn .
Yes that's one of the concern really is , unfamiliar with our routes, by the time comes I will have a final decision on that, and I will make sure before I make any decisions I wi go pay a visit to tua ya, di ya peh for their prediction and ask for a tailsman first ha, but in the meantime any advice is good for me , thanks
Frankly speaking there's currently a former auntie cabby whos been working at the same company as me, she stop driving cos she got suspend for 1 year that's why she comes in to f/b for the time being, in fact I have told her when I'm coming out to drive maybe me and she can become a working partner as she is staying not quite far from me sambawang so, there are always options around, but a visit to tua ya peh first is definitely a must.
Originally posted by Poolman:For someone in the F&B industry , indoor business .
A switch to driving a cab is already very tough , OMO one is even worst .
I was an outdoor salesman for many years , running shopping centres all over Singapore , and when i first drove a cab , when i thought i am familiar with Sgp , too bad , i was proven wrong , i only know Singapore 10% .
Thank god i chose to be a relief .
Pay rental to learn .
I mean half a day rental to learn .
Not full rental to learn .
TS already made his decision...... Just come here to make friends nia......
Welcome to the club, and good luck to you on being an OMO.......
Yes trying to looking at making friends to seek to hear opinions advice over here ,whether is one man driving 2 or 3 man driving is still considered making a living as a taxi driver,the difference only down to a person choice or preference , I only hope that whichever choices I start out in the near future whether I'm in a one man or a partnership drive, please do not start to alienate me with groups, I'm just here to make friends ,
I'm one of those born ti ki very stubborn type of person, this is very unfortunate to me as these type of character ones don't always has the best of friends, follow the trend or go for those proven ways to success. .. to be frank whenever there's a choice or a decision to make I make with my heart my instinct but not my head, this is just my character other than that I come with no harm de really harmless de , and I can be friends with anybody anyone .
Route not familiar a bit difficult. During your free time go to the map online and study. Even I free I also browse the map and explore different routes to improve my knowledge.
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Route not familiar a bit difficult. During your free time go to the map online and study. Even I free I also browse the map and explore different routes to improve my knowledge.
Yes thanks, this is what I'm trying to do at home during free time, using the streets directory as a learning tool first and doing visualize, for now this is something I can practice atm ,
to do OMO is not impossible,but u gotta have the discipline and warning u it's quite tiring.u have to forego social life,exercise,a lack of sleep and negative feedbacks fr most.also u cannot suka suka start anytime u like although ur driving alone or else ur body cannot take it.time to stop if u feel tired,even if pax got durian drop trip,also must decline.
Since u haven started yet... u want a headstart ahead of others 1st...
I can lend u my course note if u want but must come sengkang take...
Can guide u abit on the modules...
Like what the bros here say... take course at smrt is faster... like 602 get his vl in a week... me take at STA wait 2 weeks still haven smell letter... dun need to necessary sign up for them... take at woodlands very fast de...
Originally posted by Canton keith:Hi all taxi shifu, just signup to the forum and say hi to all, intend to start and go into this trade in the next 6-12 months time, just a short intro myself, I'm 38 married with 2 kids both pri sch 9yr and 12yr, working in a F/B industry, wife is a thai working as a supervisor in a restaurant,
currently staying at woodlands ave 6 4rm flat, Main reason to consider going into this trade is able to work in flexible time, maybe probably can earn more than what I'm earning now at 2k, the 2 company that I'm going to consider is between this 3, SMRT / Transcab , silver , SMRT is the priority mainly becos is 5mins from where I'm staying, the other 2 is mainly becos of the cheaper rental, looking forward to be a hire 1 man driving, in the meantime hope to make some new friends over here.
Thanks for reading.
2k means total income of 2.4k less 800 for cpf which can be used to pay for house and medisave. On top of that, there is leave, mc, hospitalisation insurance, etc.. and pay increments, tips, and promotion/better opportunities.
Think yours is a borderline case in terms of taxi driving vs being employed. Main thing bad abt tds is income may not be steady due to things like illness and vehicle inavailability.
Could consider being a super-relief or part time first and see how.....
Originally posted by Canton keith:Yes trying to looking at making friends to seek to hear opinions advice over here ,whether is one man driving 2 or 3 man driving is still considered making a living as a taxi driver,the difference only down to a person choice or preference , I only hope that whichever choices I start out in the near future whether I'm in a one man or a partnership drive, please do not start to alienate me with groups, I'm just here to make friends ,
I'm one of those born ti ki very stubborn type of person, this is very unfortunate to me as these type of character ones don't always has the best of friends, follow the trend or go for those proven ways to success. .. to be frank whenever there's a choice or a decision to make I make with my heart my instinct but not my head, this is just my character other than that I come with no harm de really harmless de , and I can be friends with anybody anyone .
Never alienate you lah, but we are just trying to feed you infomation that going OMO will be a little tough, if you thinking earn $7k a month, tell you now, you can forget it.......
I am an OMO driver, my good friend LV346 was OMO, but he gave up and found a relief.... now he has more time than me, every night jio me go eat supper b4 midnight......
Just FYI, OMO need to put in extra hours to get the same income as those relief...... Upside, you can huat everyday.....
Learn your roads fast, and most importantly, listen to old birds here when they give advice..... otherwise you will struggle......
What Poolman tell you will sometimes sound ridiculous..... but then hor....after some time on the road, you will know what he say is true..... But dun follow him idle lah, he super idle one.....=P
I reserve my comment.......
This day, anyone trying to be a TD just kiam gan only.........
not enough TD? Hahahahaha.........
I will read and heed the comments and advice from the seniors over here, I have the VL now and at 38 I think it's better to start early than wait, I may be in the F/B but in these trade I'm surrounded by 90% of fw ft, I want to change a different trade, before I start I will definitely find a few of my friends to guide me be my mentor and learn from them , it's not going to be easy but I will try,
I join this forum to make friends and I hope can learn some useful knowledge from the taxi shifu here, and lastly I'm definitely not looking or expecting a 7k pay check.
Originally posted by Khoon 24:Err... Drive cab less den two years lei...
May den officially omo one year..
No life lor...
When still half shift wif CK... Got so much free time. .
Omo so far nett income so much lesser den half shift... And always cannot find time to do my own stufff...
which job in sg got life?
Any job outside to get 3k a month,
working hr plus transport time ez ez more than 12hr...