I felt taxi driving very easy to get skin problems like Eczema .
Something nothing can cure .
All thanks to AirCon , dryness of skin .
Irregular eating habits .
Stress level ( sometimes , not all times ) .
Recently one member have such problems until so bad , no mood to drive , which is very bad .
Anyone here suffered from Eczema after driving a cab ?
U have 2 examples here , one is myself and BCL , mild case .
Mine is better now , getting mild .
Any special "own" treatment ?
Anyone can tell us the symptoms of Eczema ?
My own treatment is drink Australian Ginger Beer
Well it dry up those "pimples" like from the skin . And moisturiser , which dun work too much .
But apparent it dun work well for some , base on individual .
Mine will come ..... after every badminton session .
I guess it the work of sweating .
I remember the very first time i got it ...
was i ate crabs , after eating , rashing and red patches all over my back , arms and legs .
Itchy somemore .
After a while , it goes off .
Some serious scratch became wounds , and caused it to swell and reddish for a long time .
I am asking , not for me , but for my fellow member .
My friend recommended me to go Yishun ring road blk 800+ to see that skin doctor , but no point , as what that doctor said , no cure .
So why waste $100+ ?
Waste money .
Eczema is the worse thing to ever hit me. fucking ugly patches all over and worse it itches. Mine is not as bad as poolman but enough to cause distress.
I am allergic to shellfish , something that i love to eat . i bo chap just eat and itch later.
No point applying cream , the most effective is to jab but must know what are ur allergies.
It is $60 per shot but i went so frequently that my doctor decide not to jab me coz of side effects like thinning of the skin and additional stress on the kidneys.
Now i totally ignore the problem , itch just let it be.
Damn sian one kena eczema, no cure one.
my gal got eczema.
first four years only one word for me n my wife...cham
Actually its treatable or I say preventable if u have suddenly got the condition...
1stly its the lifestyle u lead everyday....
especially insufficient rest and irregular bathing... why I say bath... coz by bathing u will prevent clogging up ur pore and also at the same time moisturise ur skin. If u have notice u have oily scalp and face after a long period of drive, that is one of the sign that u must go take a bath...
2nd the food we eat...
Try to avoid oily stuff and sweet carbonate drinks... food u suspect u have allergy with, sometime after a food allergy attack ur skin condition will lead u to eczema indirectly especially ppl have skin rashes.
3rd.. drink plenty of plain water... I mean those filter plain water not mineral water... drinking plain water will actually flush the toxic out thru our body system...
So the morale of the story is a healthy life style, plenty of rest, avoid food that cause skin allergy, bath whenever u can and drink plently of plain water...
That is what I gather from one of a tcm doctor I visit last time...
Got quite bad skin problem and took vitamin E which seems to help. Best to get from some reputable company. I got some from vitaminsonline.com.sg which sells brands you can find at watson or guardian and not those funny brands..
The easiest and cost effective matter to solve this dryness problem while plying the road........
Wet a towel constantly and place on dashboard.........
Fill up clean water in a small bottle and place anywhere within the vehicle, usually I use those perfume bottle, after finish, don't throw, recycle and fill up with water........
Old man theory, but very effective........
go Nuh retail pharmacy. buy a was called cetaphil. not cheap. 1 small bottle about $20.
then any pharmacy can get a water based cream QV cream. very effective. not cheap too as 1 small tube cost $10+
good luck.
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:Aloe Vera, Vit E, C, D, almond oil, Cocoa butter..all natural
Aloe Vera is good, but for my skin it makes Eczema worse.. Itch like hell... LoL
Eczema cases around the world has risen by 40% past 10 yrs.
I got Eczema around 8 yrs, my skin was never sensitive to anything before. One day was working onsite, the table where i was to setup my equipment was dusty, so i blew the dust, got on my face. Rash start develop on my whole face, went doctor, gave me some some pills, after few days rash disappeared, then ever since that my skin became hyper sensitive, but still controllable following all the Do's and Dont's of Eczema sufferes.
But recently after Chinese New Year, my sleep pattern and driving timing changes and having severe Eczema break ok. Back of my neck, both my arms, hands, fingers, whole of my back, armpits, legs, face, ears.
As those suffer Eczema know, sometimes at night will suddely wake up scratching and can't sleep again. Mine got so itchy i woke up several times and even scratch till bleed..
Thru the years read up on so many things about Eczema and tried many things also, only this past few weeks i was not able to control the eczema break out.
I don't like go doctor, cos the normally give corticosteroids creams, which actually thins the skin and long term use increase the risk of skin cancer.
Here are some product recommendation, most can get at Supermarket and places like Guardian and Watson, but complete range only can get at Polyclinic Pharmacy:
Don't use soap, cos it irritates and dries the skin.
QV Wash / QV Gentle Wash
( I perfer QV Gentle Wash, cos lightly foaming)
Soap-free cleanser for every body, everyday.
QV Wash is an effective, soap-free cleanser made for dry or sensitive skin. Lightly foaming on the skin, you can use it every day to leave skin soft and supple.
Cetaphil® Gentle Skin Cleanser
(This one damn good, but non foaming and very fast finish)
Cetaphil® RESTORADERM® Skin Restoring Body Wash
( Only can get at Polyclinic Pharmacy, foaming but must avoid eyes )
Important thing after shower/bathing don't use towel rub skin to dry. Pat your skin dry.
Then moisturize with lotion or cream.
Lotion - ligther compared to cream, absorbs into skin.
Cream - Thicker, locks in the moisture, last longer lubricates the skin against friction, so when scratching skin won't break easily.
Normally they recommend use lotion in the day and cream at night. But i use cream when driving cab, cos my skin easily get dry with the aircon and i use lotion at night when want to sleep.
QV SKIN LOTION
( Cheaper, but absorbs slower then Cetaphil Lotion )
Cetaphil® Moisturizing Lotion
(Damn good stuff, absorbs immediately, also notice if use often, the black patchy scars on skin slowly fade away)
QV CREAM
( I use this skin become too dry and starting to itch)
Cetaphil® RESTORADERM® Skin Restoring Moisturizer
(Only at Polyclinic Pharmacy, suppose to restore skin barrier, i don't like the weird smell and also sometimes irritates my skin)
Cetaphil® Moisturizing Cream
( The best in my opinion, last longest on skin, downside slightly more ex then QV, skin so soft even girls envy! LOL)
Sometimes no matter what you do Eczema will come out, so here what to use to relief the itching.
Like what Pool recommend, Ginger Beer.. Ginger actually reduce inflammation, so skin don't itch so much, when dont itch, you dont scratch when don't scratch it heals faster.
Best is the Ginger Beer shown above, cos it contains real ginger, some just use flavour or ginger extract not real Ginger.
Teh Halia (Ginger Tea) also good, most indian drink stall have.
QV FLARE UP WASH
( I use this when my Eczema come out, only available at Polyclinic Pharmacy. Usual price $14.90, now offer $11.90 )
QV FLARE UP CREAM
Really good at stopping the itch, also only at Polyclinic Pharmacy. Usual Price $12.90, now offer $10.35.
Currently using this for my severe flare up, good so far. After the Wash, i pat dry skin and immediately apply Flare Up Cream on affected area, slightly warm feeling, let it absorb for 2-3min then apply Cetaphil Cream all over my body. That method works best for the current situation. Of course the flare up range once skin recover stop using liao.
Natural stuff:
(Only available at Guardian, got 2 version Intensive and Gentle its all natural, no chemical, suppose to restore your healthy skin but treatment takes weeks. The Intensive smells like Tiger Balm, when spray on skin slightly warm feeling. The Gentle slightly less odour, no warm feeling. Relieves the itching, aborbs into skin. Repairs skins from the inside. Small bottle $29+, 400 spray. But for whole body last me only few days.)
( Same only available at Guardian, $28+ all natural, but the organic Urea irritates my skin)
OLIVA forte™
(This one never try before, promo pack $89+ at Guardian)
Probiotics
New research found that the Lactobacillus bacterium found in stuff like Yakult is good for people with Eczema. Maybe need to drink one bottle a day now... LoL
Those with sensitive armpits cannot use normal deodorant like me, use this:
Dr Mist
Believe it or not its a Malaysian product. But worlwide now getting very popular. Guardian selling $8.50, one bottle can last me nearly 2 months. All natural, just water with Dead Sea Minerals.
Spray on armpits let dry, no arm pit smell whole day. They say if 3 days never bathe also no smell, but i never try not bathing for so long.
Also when my skin got cut or scratch my Eczema and skin broken i spray, helps heal quickly. But problem is it dries the skin so must apply cream after spray to prevent Eczema break out.
This one spray can do many things one
http://www.drmist.com/p_multipurpose.html
There is no known cure for Eczema, the products that i use may work for me but not for others.
Different people have different skin. One of my ex colleague just use Tiger Balm ok liao.
Use the product that works best for you, best find what triggers your Eczema and prevent it from flaring up.
Diet and exercise help flush out toxin and prevent stress..
i believe its inside the blood thing
Originally posted by Poolman:i believe its inside the blood thing
Yup, our immune system is actually over reacting causing skin to itch... But in Singapore suddenly so many people have Eczema, one is the air here getting more polluted..
another thing is, our water now "different" I notice me and few other people i know get Eczema when the water in Singapore "changed"
Yes i believe Newwater caused those reactions ......
Originally posted by Poolman:Yes i believe Newwater caused those reactions ......
Dont say so loud.. LoL
Originally posted by cyben764:Dont say so loud.. LoL
I also suspected water ...... but i have no ground and scientific datas to back those things up .
For me , jab no point one , waste money .
Not a long term solutions .
Solutions comes in a package .
Sleep well , sleep less in aircon rooms .
Exercise and sweat all out .
Drink lots of water ..... clean or dirty .
Less crabs and prawns , worst one it's sotong .
All fish and beef , rice and vegies .
100% no alcoholic drinks .
Alcoholic drinks makes Eczema worst .