If pax try and rob you...will you fight back or llst and give up your collections for the day?
Fight!!!!!
kill the mofo, rape his wife/gf, kills his 9 generations!!!
With the large number of taxis in Singapore, taxi drivers help the Police by using their radio sets to report crime occurrences / traffic accidents on our roads through their operators to the Police.
Taxi drivers have taken crime prevention measures so that they do not become a victim of crime.
We have useful information and advice for taxi drivers on crime prevention and traffic matters. Taxi drivers are not allowed to choose their passengers, they could be vulnerable as victims of crime. Thus this information will serve to remind all taxi drivers on the various crime prevention measures to adopt and how to report crime occurrences. There are also advice on what to do in the case of accidents and driving tips to enlighten and ensure a peaceful and safer drive for all.
Robbery and theft
To deter robbery and theft from your vehicle:
Do not carry too much valuables (eg. jewellery, expensive watches) and money with you when you are on the job.
Bring along your valuables and cash when you leave your vehicle.
Deposit part of your money at home or in the bank if you have accumulated a large sum of it.
Keep only a small amount of money as change.
Crime Prevention Tips
Theft of your vehicle...
Minimise your Risk Against Robbery:
Do not wear expensive jewellery / watches and avoid carrying large amounts of cash with you when you start work.
If possible, deposit part of your cash at home or in the bank when you have accumulated a substantial amount of takings from passengers. Keep only a small amount of cash as change.
Be wary of passengers who are indecisive about their destinations or keep changing their destinations.
Be cautious of passengers who direct you to secluded places.
Be familiar with the use of the silent alarm.
If You Encounter a Robbery...
Remain calm and do not resist.
Activate the silent alarm when it is safe to do so.
Pay attention to the culprit’s appearance and distinctive physical features.
To help the Police investigations, do not touch anything at the crime scene.
If the culprit has escaped in a vehicle, note its registration number and other details.
If possible, inform your radio operator of the incident with the description of the culprit / getaway vehicle for lookout by your fellow drivers.
Report to the Police as soon as it is safe to do so.
Minimise Your Risk Against Theft
Secure all windows and doors of your taxi even if you have to leave it for a while.
Park in well–lit areas. Dark and secluded places are ideal for thieves.
Avoid leaving valuables in your vehicle.
Never leave your cash card in the In-vehicle Unit (IU) even if its stored value is low.
Use additional security devices such as a steering wheel lock or a clutch and brake lock.
You Can Help…
Your timely assistance will always help to save another person and prevent another crime.
Help look out for fellow taxi drivers in distress. Use pre-arranged codes or signals to enquire if he is alright.
Be attentive to your surroundings. Call the Police if you come across any suspicious situations.
Avoid direct confrontation with the suspicious character. He may be armed or violent.
Provide information on the location of your sighting and as many detailed description of the suspicious character as possible to the Police.
At The Scene of an Accident
What you should do if you are involved in an accident…
Stop immediately after the accident and check if anyone has been injured or killed.
If someone had been killed or seriously injured…
Contact the Police and Ambulance Service immediately.
Do not remove your vehicle without the authority of a Police officer unless:
i) A seriously injured person has to be sent to a hospital and there is no other vehicle to do so except the one involved in the accident.
ii) It is necessary to extricate a trapped person, prevent a fire or reduce a serious traffic hazard posed as a result of the accident.
You are required to render assistance as and when required by a Police officer, or in the absence of a Police officer, help the injured persons of the vehicle.
Remain at the scene until the Police arrived.
If no one has been injured or the injury is superficial (i.e. minor bruises or cuts)…
i) Switch on your hazard warning lights and move the vehicle out of the flow of traffic to the road shoulder; or to the left side of the road if there is no road shoulder.
ii) Do not hold up traffic by arguing or trying to settle the matter or exchanging particulars in the middle of the road. This may cause a second accident.
Exchange the following particulars with the other party:
Name of the driver
Driving license details
IC number
Address
Name of insurance company
Registration number of vehicle
Name and address of vehicle owner
If you have a camera, photograph the damage, but do so safely.
If someone sustains superficial injuries, he may be brought to a private doctor. It is not necessary to summon the Police or ambulance.
You must lodge a Police accident report if:
Someone is injured in the accident.
The accident involves government vehicles (bearing QX or MID plates) or damage to government property.
The accident involves foreign registered vehicles.
The accident involves pedestrians or cyclists.
If there is no injury to anyone at the time of accident, you do not have to lodge a Police report with the exception of non-injury cases mentioned in (b) – (d).
Inform your insurance company and lodge a Non-Injury Motor Accident Report in the prescribed form available from your insurance company. Your insurance company will process your claim and inform you of the outcome.
Driver's Dos
When your vehicle breaks down, move it to the shoulder or to the extreme left side of the road. Switch on the hazard light to caution other road users. Place a triangular warning sign some distance in advance of your vehicle to warn others of the breakdown.
Give advance warning to other vehicles before changing lanes.
Be aware of changing conditions, even familiar roads can be dangerous.Watch out for:
oily patches
wet surfaces
gravel or sand
road works
children and pedestrians
cyclists
Be alert at all times
On the expressway:-
To enter, accelerate to reach the speed of travelling vehicles.
To leave, keep to the lane leading to the turn-off well in advance.
Be on the look-out for vehicles joining the expressway.
Plan the route to your destination well in advance.
Driver's Don't
Do not stop, pick up or alight passengers along the expressway.
Do not straddle lane or overtake recklessly.
Do not drive after taking alcoholic drinks.
I come into this world empty handed , i'll also go out of this world empty handed .
So let's fight !!!
I shall not give up without a fight .
If robbers prepare to eat this , by all means , come !! Come with all u have .
I really dun care if Police charge me of illegal possessing of weapons , they dun do a job , then i'll do mine .
Anyway ........... life eventually will come into an end .
It's sooner or later only .
It's how u live your life .
And it's how u die .
If die of kena robbery , without a fight , disgraceful death .
If die because of upholding one integrity , and of not succumb to surrender , this is glorious death .
Die with Pride .
those young ones maybe can fight, but majority of TDs are more than half a century old, how to fight ? with a tongkat ?
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:those young ones maybe can fight, but majority of TDs are more than half a century old, how to fight ? with a tongkat ?
old one can use tai ji fight.
i just got robbed last week. seriously sway. pick up 2 young malay boys about 17 - 18 years old. one sit infront and at the back. pick up at bukit panjang and ask me to go teck whye. when reach teck whye both pull out pen knife, those box cutter type. the one at the back put the knife to my throat the other fella point knife at my face. took all my money but didnt take my phone.
seriously all of you who talk alot of cock and gung ho about fighting all i can say is if you get robbed dun even put up a fight. just give the money later go make police report.
for a few hundred dollars you want to lose your life?? its not a matter of young or not strong or not know kung fu karate 8th dan or not, a knife put to your throat the robber grabra just press a little cut your wind pipe already you bat man or iron man also no use. for a few hundred dollars exchange your life, i say must see open, let them rob and later you try help police to catch them is better.
not die with pride, if die for a few hundred is die with stupidity.
sorry if i offend but this is my 2 cents worth.
imagine your life exchange with some useless drug addict?? seriously? all cos of few hundred? when i was in that situation i was very angry. wanted to hunt the fuckers down and kill them. but after a while i realise how lucky i was. all i lost is some money. didnt get injured or hurt. they didnt even take my phone.
kena injured next few days no need to work no income. seriously if any of you encounter this, let them rob, dun put up a fight. but report it to police, try to remember their face etc.
when i was robbed, i was caught by surprise, knife held to my throat, if aggravate the robber, or put up a struggle he could have accidentally cut my throat. all for a small sum of money. lose your life or permanent injury not worth it. i rather just give them the money, see open, tomorrow can earn back. this one is not a matter of principal this one is matter of loosing your life for a little bit of money.
Teck whye in my ban list..
prominent gang in SG operating there..
Originally posted by Poolman:I come into this world empty handed , i'll also go out of this world empty handed .
So let's fight !!!
I shall not give up without a fight .
I in for fighting back to but scare I lost my VL.
Else...I let them take $ 1st then run them over.
Originally posted by Hpgin:i just got robbed last week. seriously sway. pick up 2 young malay boys about 17 - 18 years old. one sit infront and at the back. pick up at bukit panjang and ask me to go teck whye. when reach teck whye both pull out pen knife, those box cutter type. the one at the back put the knife to my throat the other fella point knife at my face. took all my money but didnt take my phone.
seriously all of you who talk alot of cock and gung ho about fighting all i can say is if you get robbed dun even put up a fight. just give the money later go make police report.
for a few hundred dollars you want to lose your life?? its not a matter of young or not strong or not know kung fu karate 8th dan or not, a knife put to your throat the robber grabra just press a little cut your wind pipe already you bat man or iron man also no use. for a few hundred dollars exchange your life, i say must see open, let them rob and later you try help police to catch them is better.
can share which day or time ? so we can avoid ...
Knife to throat situation can be counter lah. Most important is be calm when caught by surprise. Release the seat back and let it fell to a sleeping position to hold off the back attacker then use seat beat to go round the other attacker neck and pull hard. One move subdue 2 attackker then you can slowly whack them until police arrive
Originally posted by fifufu:I in for fighting back to but scare I lost my VL.
i thinking running over but never think of vl. if can bang one den the other saw what happened best … torture him!!!!
Originally posted by fifufu:I in for fighting back to but scare I lost my VL.
pig also not so big, you think people rob u already walk slowly infront of your taxi to let you bang??? straight away run into hdb void deck and run far far away liaoz
Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:can share which day or time ? so we can avoid ...
i was robbed last friday about 4am
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Knife to throat situation can be counter lah. Most important is be calm when caught by surprise. Release the seat back and let it fell to a sleeping position to hold off the back attacker then use seat beat to go round the other attacker neck and pull hard. One move subdue 2 attackker then you can slowly whack them until police arrive
hammer, i was wearing my seat belt, plus mine got problem not easy to release, press seat belt button still must jiggle then will release.
regardless, my simple point is this is not a kung fu movie, so many thing can go wrong if you want to retaliate, the robber can panic and start to slash wildly, you can get seriously injured, even if you manage to subdue both of them, end of they day what for??? posibility of lose my life with risk of serious injury vs loss of few hundred...
your life worth only few hundred??? this is serious real life situation not kung fu movie. gung ho for what, encourage other taxi driver to fight for what?? exchange possibility of loss of our valuable life vs catch 2 low life drug addicts whose life dun mean shit???
I not encourage TD to fight. I only says if confident then go for it. If not just pay and ask them fuck off. Anyway money can earn right? Life only have one, but for me I will not go down without a fight.
from what i understand from the police, this is their modus operandi, they rob taxi drivers, locations they change change about one. they are very experienced, only steal money, never take handphone, cos they know sometimes handphone got install tracking software.
my suggestion is if at night wee hours, got 2 youngish adults, a certain race, suspicious looking, better just dun pick them up.
scared people complain?? scared LTA drink kopi?? excuses alot lar, need to pee pee have to rush to toilet, didnt see passenger too dark, assess road situation dangerous unable to stop, have to cut 2 lanes assess too dangerous to stop, 101 excuses.
like poolman say, passenger is for us to decide to pick up, go where we want to go, not for them to control us.
when i kena this incident, my mind is blank cos i was caught by surprise. they ask for what i just give them, lucky i put some of the 50 dollar notes in a small pocket in my pants so i didnt lose everything, they took the rest, about 300 plus in all ba.
i was very angry when i was being robbed, but i never thought of fighting them off cos 2 of them, and pen knife at my throat. yes, i was scared, scared i would get hurt, both angry and scared, heart beating like hell.
after the incident, on hindsight i was damm lucky, i only lost some money, no injuries. if had retaliated, surely at least kena some injuries, will not be able to drive for a few days at least loss of income surely more than 300. still have to pay rental you know!
so my advice is just comply, they only after money, your life is more valuable than that few hundred bux. Just make sure you remember their face and other details to help the police catch them.
With the large number of taxis in Singapore, taxi drivers help the Police by using their radio sets to report crime occurrences / traffic accidents on our roads through their operators to the Police.
Taxi drivers have taken crime prevention measures so that they do not become a victim of crime.
We have useful information and advice for taxi drivers on crime prevention and traffic matters. Taxi drivers are not allowed to choose their passengers, they could be vulnerable as victims of crime. Thus this information will serve to remind all taxi drivers on the various crime prevention measures to adopt and how to report crime occurrences. There are also advice on what to do in the case of accidents and driving tips to enlighten and ensure a peaceful and safer drive for all.
Robbery and theft
To deter robbery and theft from your vehicle:
Do not carry too much valuables (eg. jewellery, expensive watches) and money with you when you are on the job.
Bring along your valuables and cash when you leave your vehicle.
Deposit part of your money at home or in the bank if you have accumulated a large sum of it.
Keep only a small amount of money as change.
Crime Prevention Tips
Theft of your vehicle...
Minimise your Risk Against Robbery:
Do not wear expensive jewellery / watches and avoid carrying large amounts of cash with you when you start work.
If possible, deposit part of your cash at home or in the bank when you have accumulated a substantial amount of takings from passengers. Keep only a small amount of cash as change.
Be wary of passengers who are indecisive about their destinations or keep changing their destinations.
Be cautious of passengers who direct you to secluded places.
Be familiar with the use of the silent alarm.
If You Encounter a Robbery...
Remain calm and do not resist.
Activate the silent alarm when it is safe to do so.
Pay attention to the culprit’s appearance and distinctive physical features.
To help the Police investigations, do not touch anything at the crime scene.
If the culprit has escaped in a vehicle, note its registration number and other details.
If possible, inform your radio operator of the incident with the description of the culprit / getaway vehicle for lookout by your fellow drivers.
Report to the Police as soon as it is safe to do so.
Minimise Your Risk Against Theft
Secure all windows and doors of your taxi even if you have to leave it for a while.
Park in well–lit areas. Dark and secluded places are ideal for thieves.
Avoid leaving valuables in your vehicle.
Never leave your cash card in the In-vehicle Unit (IU) even if its stored value is low.
Use additional security devices such as a steering wheel lock or a clutch and brake lock.
You Can Help…
Your timely assistance will always help to save another person and prevent another crime.
Help look out for fellow taxi drivers in distress. Use pre-arranged codes or signals to enquire if he is alright.
Be attentive to your surroundings. Call the Police if you come across any suspicious situations.
Avoid direct confrontation with the suspicious character. He may be armed or violent.
Provide information on the location of your sighting and as many detailed description of the suspicious character as possible to the Police.
At The Scene of an Accident
What you should do if you are involved in an accident…
Stop immediately after the accident and check if anyone has been injured or killed.
If someone had been killed or seriously injured…
Contact the Police and Ambulance Service immediately.
Do not remove your vehicle without the authority of a Police officer unless:
i) A seriously injured person has to be sent to a hospital and there is no other vehicle to do so except the one involved in the accident.
ii) It is necessary to extricate a trapped person, prevent a fire or reduce a serious traffic hazard posed as a result of the accident.
You are required to render assistance as and when required by a Police officer, or in the absence of a Police officer, help the injured persons of the vehicle.
Remain at the scene until the Police arrived.
If no one has been injured or the injury is superficial (i.e. minor bruises or cuts)…
i) Switch on your hazard warning lights and move the vehicle out of the flow of traffic to the road shoulder; or to the left side of the road if there is no road shoulder.
ii) Do not hold up traffic by arguing or trying to settle the matter or exchanging particulars in the middle of the road. This may cause a second accident.
Exchange the following particulars with the other party:
Name of the driver
Driving license details
IC number
Address
Name of insurance company
Registration number of vehicle
Name and address of vehicle owner
If you have a camera, photograph the damage, but do so safely.
If someone sustains superficial injuries, he may be brought to a private doctor. It is not necessary to summon the Police or ambulance.
You must lodge a Police accident report if:
Someone is injured in the accident.
The accident involves government vehicles (bearing QX or MID plates) or damage to government property.
The accident involves foreign registered vehicles.
The accident involves pedestrians or cyclists.
If there is no injury to anyone at the time of accident, you do not have to lodge a Police report with the exception of non-injury cases mentioned in (b) – (d).
Inform your insurance company and lodge a Non-Injury Motor Accident Report in the prescribed form available from your insurance company. Your insurance company will process your claim and inform you of the outcome.
Driver's Dos
When your vehicle breaks down, move it to the shoulder or to the extreme left side of the road. Switch on the hazard light to caution other road users. Place a triangular warning sign some distance in advance of your vehicle to warn others of the breakdown.
Give advance warning to other vehicles before changing lanes.
Be aware of changing conditions, even familiar roads can be dangerous.Watch out for:
oily patches
wet surfaces
gravel or sand
road works
children and pedestrians
cyclists
Be alert at all times
On the expressway:-
To enter, accelerate to reach the speed of travelling vehicles.
To leave, keep to the lane leading to the turn-off well in advance.
Be on the look-out for vehicles joining the expressway.
Plan the route to your destination well in advance.
Driver's Don't
Do not stop, pick up or alight passengers along the expressway.
Do not straddle lane or overtake recklessly.
Do not drive after taking alcoholic drinks.
Originally posted by Hpgin:i just got robbed last week. seriously sway. pick up 2 young malay boys about 17 - 18 years old. one sit infront and at the back. pick up at bukit panjang and ask me to go teck whye. when reach teck whye both pull out pen knife, those box cutter type. the one at the back put the knife to my throat the other fella point knife at my face. took all my money but didnt take my phone.