Started at 7am this morning.
There was a lot of booking call and advance booking but rejected all. Not confidence of route yet. Turn MDT to Busy.Got a lot of you know what make advance booking.
3mins into start, I pick up my first pax. Told pax it is my first day and if she could guide me with the best route to her destination. She say ok.
She kept hurrying me to go faster but I did not. There is only so much a person can do in morning traffic. She was grumbling a lot.
Ahhhh..halfway thru, I realised I forget to turn on the Taxi Meter...shit. Immediately turn it on.
I missed a turn near her destination..end up giving her a discount on top of what I have lost out earlier......a 2 digit fare to single digit :(
She say I will not last long as a taxi driver :( she say taxi driver must drive fast and I keep giving way to people is not going to cut it.
Find that Sonata has a lot of blind spot.....
Thing I will do feeder services in, estate by estate to learn the neighbourhood first...
From the rate I am going..I doubt can hit my rental and diesel cost.
no wonder she keep ask u go faster...
bo meter hor...
Bro.... try driving during off peak times to get used first...... at least off peak hours pax not so rush.....or put change shift in the area you are familiar before venturing into unchartered waters......Good luck on your driving......
I never left.......this forum.....hahahha........
Sonata a lot of blind spot. Better go get the small mirror attach to the side mirror. That will helps.
Good first experience.
Now you know this kind of cb pattern, nothing honourable about them when they don't even tell you meter not on. End of trip they say need go atm withdraw, will you believe?
Its ok forget on meter, it will happen. For the first week. After that you better develop habit of eye go meter every now and then.
But you garang, choose peak hour start.
First time I took pax at 3 plus afternoon. Tot can get short first trip from senoko area.
End up go Tampines....
Originally posted by fifufu:Started at 7am this morning.
There was a lot of booking call and advance booking but rejected all. Not confidence of route yet. Turn MDT to Busy.Got a lot of you know what make advance booking.
3mins into start, I pick up my first pax. Told pax it is my first day and if she could guide me with the best route to her destination. She say ok.
She kept hurrying me to go faster but I did not. There is only so much a person can do in morning traffic. She was grumbling a lot.
Ahhhh..halfway thru, I realised I forget to turn on the Taxi Meter...shit. Immediately turn it on.
I missed a turn near her destination..end up giving her a discount on top of what I have lost out earlier......a 2 digit fare to single digit :(
She say I will not last long as a taxi driver :( she say taxi driver must drive fast and I keep giving way to people is not going to cut it.
Find that Sonata has a lot of blind spot.....
Thing I will do feeder services in, estate by estate to learn the neighbourhood first...
From the rate I am going..I doubt can hit my rental and diesel cost.
You need to get the 2 add on mirrors for the sonata . Helps a lot to solve the blind spot problem.
$30 per pair can get from sin hoe watt at paya lebar.
blind spot mirror also not much help,everytime almost kena side swipe!those bastard drivers signal to change lane,they will speed up to close the lane
Good luck drive safe.
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:blind spot mirror also not much help,everytime almost kena side swipe!those bastard drivers signal to change lane,they will speed up to close the lane
Sonata is meant for light footer drivers, many TD always can't get use to it at the start because they drove Crown donkey years liao, which need to accelerate harder.......
All type of vehicle is the same, sure got blind spot, not just sonata alone, adjust your seat properly, try to look at rear mirror more often, not to look at chio bu sitting behind hor, I rely on rear mirror a lot, get those wide angle mirror, si beh good.......
Those side mirror are meant for parking purposes, to check rear tyre, if your seating position is not right, put 10 side mirror will still tio blind spot.........
Than SSDC instructors teach us must turn our head to check blind spot mah........
For me, 3 years driving sonata, smlj accidents also happen before, due to CDG call volume, knn, this vehicle piak calls si beh good, no horse to run........
Anyway, good luck to TS, virgin drive is like that 1 la, either forget this or forget that, want to become TD, must really see open, take those negative comments as farking lor........
Any report on ur 2nd day?
Originally posted by InSPirE78:I used my 10 yrs old stick on rotating blind spot mirror … good enough … cost me $3.50 for a pair hehehe … use since my van driving days … eurocab hor? Hehehe … get those rear mirror, those wide view one helps too!
Mine dunno go where liao......but I remember mine can turn 360 deg to adjust the angle one.......
Originally posted by eurocab:Mine dunno go where liao......but I remember mine can turn 360 deg to adjust the angle one.......
Toa Payoh Lor 8 Toyogo warehouse got sell. 1 side less then 4-7 dollars nia depends on design
Thank you Sifus for the advises...
I will be going down to pick up the round mirror later.
There are some very nice customers and REALLY nasty one. I gave quite a lot of discount and got quite a bit of tips as well.
I got my first fare evasion yesterday..this guy took my cab and when reached his destination told me he has no $ to pay me..I did not lose much so just told him to get off.
But the worst is this..I have the busy sign on and wanted to go home and rest. Saw this lady flagging fantically so out of compassion, stopped for her..I say hello, she threw me a black face and just shouted out Geylang.
I told her I am a new driver, I do not know the best way to Geylang and if she could show me her best route. She start raging and raging so I told her I can send her to somewhere else FOC to get another cab or I can use my GPS...she refused and grungingly directed me.
On the cab, she called her friend to complain in her broken english (before that, she asked me if I could speak English). OTW, since she is talking on the phone and I do not want to go the wrong way, I keyed in Geylang in my GPS at the traffic light. She started screaming again, don't play with computer..can you concentrate on the road.
When reached the destination, she threw the fare in my face :(
Today..take a rest...program GPS..print out notes on major places..just throw rental...take a drive with SO (when she off I off) around...
you got baby face?
Originally posted by fifufu:Thank you Sifus for the advises...
I will be going down to pick up the round mirror later.
There are some very nice customers and REALLY nasty one. I gave quite a lot of discount and got quite a bit of tips as well.
I got my first fare evasion yesterday..this guy took my cab and when reached his destination told me he has no $ to pay me..I did not lose much so just told him to get off.
But the worst is this..I have the busy sign on and wanted to go home and rest. Saw this lady flagging fantically so out of compassion, stopped for her..I say hello, she threw me a black face and just shouted out Geylang.
I told her I am a new driver, I do not know the best way to Geylang and if she could show me her best route. She start raging and raging so I told her I can send her to somewhere else FOC to get another cab or I can use my GPS...she refused and grungingly directed me.
On the cab, she called her friend to complain in her broken english (before that, she asked me if I could speak English). OTW, since she is talking on the phone and I do not want to go the wrong way, I keyed in Geylang in my GPS at the traffic light. She started screaming again, don't play with computer..can you concentrate on the road.
When reached the destination, she threw the fare in my face :(
Today..take a rest...program GPS..print out notes on major places..just throw rental...take a drive with SO (when she off I off) around...
I think it is not right for customer to throw fare at our face, tho new, you hv to stand by your dignity and intergrity, it is good to tell pax that you are new and do not know the road, option is he or she guide you or that allow you to use your GPS, do it on the spot before pressing the meter, if she start scolding, logically tell her that you have not start the meter. If she is not happy, can get off.
Many I know do keying at traffic lights and on the way, this I would say is very dangerous, once a pax on board, the mind goes into window core 5 start up,
core 1, the pax, core 2, the meter, core 3 the GPS, Core 4, the road, core 5, the place,
When these start to boot at the same time, you go blur, understand that it is very taxing,
Suggestion is think each at a time, first, the pax, greet and ask them the destination, tell them you are new and need to do this and that, once agreed, on meter, then after GPS or be guided, then move out, the road condition, then follow by the place (destination) coming into your mind.
Guided by pax is good if pax knows the way, if pax is also those blur blur type which they have the right to be, then you may also get into wrong way and get scolded, because some pax dun tell you to keep right or left
Pax scolding if reasonably is fine, but to insult and throw this and that is a violation of our intergrity. New or old, we have to hold our dignity and not get abuse and taken as a punching bags for some of this cheapo pax.
Last week, one ang mo pick up at peninsular, destinaton Tanjong rhu, lim peh take the usual victoria toward ophir and use the ECP into fort, told him about it, he said ok ok but busy with his ipad, then jammed at bugis, he start scold this and that, why not use marina, why not use beach road, into nickol...and so on. Only one word struck my brain chord, he said, you try to CHEAT me and bring me into a jam.
Limpeh jam brake at middle of bugis pedestrian crossing, go down and open front bonnet said, taxi got problem, please get out. He said fark this and that, I just on both signal lights, go one side buy kopi liao, want to get out or not is his problem.