Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Pls allow me to say something, the heading is still WRONG!
The whole issue is a cabby was beaten up by a drunk and abusive pax!!
We are talking about the safety of out fellow TDs!!
Why has this became a personal attack thread?
Can anyone tell me this won't happen to other TDs if they are good wif Singapore routes or very well mannered?
THE KEY ISSUE ARE DRUNK AND ABUSIVE PAX!!!
PLS MOVE ALL THE PERSONAL ATTACK TO A SEPERATE THREAD!
totally agree with Mvp30sg, lets keep it to keeping the rest of us safe and discuss those issues, i believe joe raj as ex cop got very relevant info to share with rest of us
Anyway BJ is aware of what I posted in the Limo forum regarding the next steps to take. He has PM me and I got no issues with him, except sympathy.
This thread heading should be "Cabbie beaten up by drunk and abusive pax"
Dun u all think it more suitable? This is the taxi forum and not hardware zone forum u know?
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Anyway BJ is aware of what I posted in the Limo forum regarding the next steps to take. He has PM me and I got no issues with him, except sympathy.
Ha ha bro Joe Raj, where have you been all this while?
Welcome back!!
Fellas, something to ponder over...
Although assaulting someone is wrong, it would be interesting to know the mitigating factors once all facts in this case are known.
This could be a lesson to all night drivers:
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Ha ha bro Joe Raj, where have you been all this while?
Welcome back!!
Self imposed ban! Hahaha. Maybe after today, some might want me to take another break, haha..
It has been said and proven since time immemorial, that exercising self-restraint is the most difficult and almost an impossibility for those in positions of absolute power and authourity.
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:I’ve always felt too much censorship may not hv the intended effect and can backfire on the administration whether in politics or here. Better to urge forummers to exercise self-restraint refrain from personal attacks and encourage exchange of views..
This is the grey area that one percept differently from one, some given views and opinons are taken as personal assault, some giving personal attack are taken as good and well advised.
Therefore, this so called "kong wu, kong bu, wu kong bo, bo kong wu" existed.
As long as you understand this concept of kong wu kong bo, and never take cyberspace opinon and comments to heart.. forum is for you.
Originally posted by Techo:It has been said and proven since time immemorial, that exercising self-restraint is the most difficult and almost an impossibility for those in positions of absolute power and authourity.
100 peoples used make one powerful people
1000 peoples used make one more powerful people
10000 peoples used make one even more powerful people
Therefore, to be the most powerful, more peoples must be used.
Today 61% of singaporeans are used
1 more point overlooked - it's almost certain the guy took another cab home. Higher chances another CDG taxi. BJ should ask DRO whether can trace data if any taxi picked up a fat Indian man along North Buona Vista or nearby at the time of incident and sent to CC Dr. That driver can be an indirect witness or help to pinpoint better.
Or if CDG dont hv such record can ask Poolman or CT check with Transcab or Premier, see if they can assist in any way.
Of course the IO can do this, can ask him for help.
Now not the time to piss IO off or feel fed up with him if he moves slowly, now must try to win his favour and make him sympathy for you, so he will try his best.
If only after 2-3 weeks no movement or nothing, then can make some moves to get the police to try harder.
Bro, some had mention and ask......
what's the outcome if TD carry a weapon like a hammer, act as self defense......
than in such case, use this object to self defense but ended up kill the other party.......
what will be the charges like?......
2 sides to every coin.
Did td provoke pax?
Originally posted by Poolman:Look like our ploy works ....
Look like thread name's has to be change ...... after some positive news from fellow members .
Good lah.. But the title of this thread should revert back to its original..
The New Paper: Cabby attacked because he didn't know directions
as what the TS intended. Then TS can edit his first post on this thread again..
very busy hor....
Originally posted by Rbs70:Bro, some had mention and ask......
what's the outcome if TD carry a weapon like a hammer, act as self defense......
than in such case, use this object to self defense but ended up kill the other party.......
Culpable homicide not amounting to murder.
Offences affecting life
Originally posted by Rbs70:Bro, some had mention and ask......
You cannot use a hammer, steering wheel lock or baseball bat to defend yourself. The law doesn't work that way. The Law cannot solve and prevent every crime from happening it can only be there as a guide and a form of punishment.
Strictly speaking, fist attack you must use hands. But sometimes see the condition, you pickmup something to block like that can, but all subjective, all depends what the other party say and whose version is believed. Is this unfair? Of course, is life unfair, why some rich goyang kaki no worries while others gotta struggle?
Somebody hantam you, you hantam back that can be affray - fighting in public, both kena charged.
You use weapon or something that be construed as a weapon like the steering lock, this becomes VCH with Dangerous Weapon much more serious than BJ case. Got caning one. That person injured can become VCGH - causing grevious hurt (BJ case not VCGH, injuries not permanent or fracture of bones), also got VCGH with dangerous weapon, that 1 more jialat.
Person die, then charge is murder later reduced to manslaughter, can expect 8-10 years minimum, maybe more, sometimes life. But also depend on the provocation, who started, who right who wrong.
BJ case is VCH, usually a fine $2000 to $5000 or a very short jail term, maximum say 1 month, a bit more serious injury 3 months.
However, the courts have said that public transport workers must be protected from assault, anyone found guilty of it, will be jailed - usually starting at 4-6 weeks, sometimes can go a few months.
Thank Taxilim and JR.....
I always think is culpable homicide, but flip many related cases don't match.......
I never against self protection, but to a hot temper people like me, anything can happen......
welcome back, JR. And hope peace btw u and pool.
The same News now is on AsiaOne liao !
Cabby whacked because he didn't know directions
At first, he was verbally abused.
Then the passenger punched Mr Michael Tan's back while he was driving his Comfort taxi.
When the 56-year-old cabby refused to continue driving and stopped on the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE) near Normanton Park around 1am on Sunday, the burly passenger rained blows on him before throwing him into a roadside bush.
The relentless attack stopped only when passing motorists sounded their horns.
It is the latest in a series of verbal and physical attacks on taxi drivers here in recent years.
In this case, Mr Tan was not sure of the drop-off point and had irritated the passenger by asking for his postal code so that he could key in the destination on his Global Positioning System.
Mr Tan ended up with lacerations on his face and back, scraped knees, and blood on his shirt.
He has since made a police report and the incident is under investigation.
Mr Tan said he picked up the passenger - a man who appeared to be in his 40s - on North Bridge Road, at the junction of Coleman Street.
The passenger wanted to go to Chwee Chian View, near South Buona Vista Road.
Mr Tan recounted: "I wasn't familiar with the location and asked him to give me his postal code so that I could use my GPS. He said he wasn't a 15-year-old boy and that he wasn't drunk so he could direct me there."
The instructions meant the cab was headed for the Merchant Road entry into the Central Expressway towards the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE).
Once the cab entered the AYE, Mr Tan asked the passenger which exit to take. The passenger refused to tell him, saying that Mr Tan should know the way since he was going by the AYE.
Mr Tan explained that he didn't know how to get to the destination and asked the passenger to direct him.
The cabby said: "He sounded irritated, so I explained that all he needed to do was to give me the postal code and he could sit back and relax.
"But since he insisted on leading me personally, I had to trouble him to do so, but I respected his decision."
Unhappy
The passenger became unhappy and started to scold Mr Tan.
Mr Tan said: "I can deal with passengers scolding me, because it is part and parcel of being a taxi driver... But when the passenger challenged me to get down from my cab when we reached his destination, I got worried."
Suddenly, the passenger punched Mr Tan's left shoulder three times.
"That was the last straw, I stopped the cab as we could get into an accident since he was hitting me while I was driving," said Mr Tan.
He stopped the cab on the shoulder of the highway and asked the passenger to take another cab. The passenger insisted that Mr Tan continue driving, but he refused. Mr Tan got out the cab and the passenger followed suit.
Said Mr Tan: "I saw him coming towards me and tried to get in my cab, but he was too fast for me."
The passenger grabbed Mr Tan by the head, slammed him against the side of the cab and punched his head several times.
Mr Tan estimated the passenger to be around 1.9m tall and about 100kg.
The cabby is 1.65m tall and 65kg.
Mr Tan broke free from his attacker and ran to the back of his vehicle, but the attacker caught up with him and pushed him towards the hedge by the side of the highway.
Mr Tan recounted: "He pinned me down and used both arms to punch my head repeatedly... I used my arms to cover my head and block his blows, but he was very strong and continued hitting me. I thought I was going to pass out.
"Three cars stopped and sounded their horns. After a while, he finally stopped and left, walking towards the Buona Vista exit."
Mr Tan said he did not pay the fare, which had come to $20.95.
Ten minutes later, a black car stopped behind his cab and its driver, a man in his 30s who witnessed the attack, helped Mr Tan locate his missing spectacles.
Mr Tan called another cabby for help and a TransCab driver he knew came to his aid.
TransCab driver Christopher Toh, 51, was at Jurong East when he received a call from another cabby - one of their mutual friends - around 2.30am, telling him Mr Tan needed help.
Said Mr Toh: "When I saw him (Mr Tan), he looked stunned and in a daze. His shirt was stained and there was even grass stuck to the back of it."
Mr Tan, who became a cabby in December 2011, said the incident has not put him off driving the night shift.
"I meet more passengers who are good and even tip me for my service. I take this bad experience as an occupational hazard. But I hope that my attacker can be caught and that justice can be served."
There was some hoo haa about me somewhere ...... i repeat
i am a fair guy , i changed this thread name becos i was reminded fairly enough , this is ct22220's initial thread name .....
Given to any tom dick and harry thread , i can change thread name with a click .
It was ct2220 thread .
i do not need to chute such stunts on ct2220 , i was quote "借刀�人" .
No no i am not going to do that on ct2220 .
ct2220 dun deserve such an unfair treatment from me .
I remain there is no intent on racist .
He was an indian bastard , proven race indian , barbaric moron .
He is a disgrace , sia suay to all Indians .
He is an INDIAN ....... he is a disgrace to INDIANS .
A No S , with a S .
If i am convicted a racist , i dun think anyone here good enough to judge me .
I let the authority deal with me .
They will read from head to toes , there is no racist involve .
Culprit is an Indian ........ proven Indian .
Barbaric act ..... bastard SOB . Assault and now scott free .
And this is a public forum .....jason will be the first to be inform .
Jason will notified and warn me on such thing .....
Or even to some extend , Jason and fireice will delete all whole topic for good .
Because this is a special forum ...... as in one mega forum with full of sub forum .
The authority goes for the head .
Then the lower people .
That's why my initial thread name remain , which is locked for this thread .
It was never a racist thread as far as i am concern .
For those think they are more terror , they can say all they want .
Last night also pick up another Indian lady- a very petite one. I am just on the fringe of CDB, a few metres more, can collect another $6.30. But I “chin chai” la. Go Jurong East some more. For that few seconds, honestly, it did occur to me that she is an Indian and I did think twice but still ok la. Was travelling along Holland Rd and almost turning to Adam Rd PIE when she ask me to go by Ulu Pandan instead suddenly. Really upset me abit but I know I am just biased from the bad experience. Plus the fact that she is a girl, can easily bully but I tell myself no way I am going to do that. I will not push all my bad experience to her, not fair for her, not gentleman too. How much difference would I be from the bully if I did that?
Pick up 2 girls to Ophir Rd’s Blue Jazz. When they alighted, a very beautiful lady asked if my cab is available and there again, just one turn outside CBD but I still say ok. She walk in for a while and came back with another man – omg another Indian, he looks drunk and in a blurred condition some more. This time, I really want to turn him down but after a few seconds thought- since just Toa Payoh, bear with it la, hopefully nothing happen. This time, I am more prepared, feel where that alarm is, checked my plastic bags and my walkie. As I drive I feel more relaxed this time, he just keep quiet and sit there and alight without any incidents – ooossh! Then almost immediately, a Chinese gentleman ask to go MBS – how’s that for a good reward?
Actually, I am ok with Indians, no difference for me – any races. My biggest tipper was Indian - $50 for a $17’s trip, not once but 3 times.
What’s more worst off? Picking up an Indian or 3 burly Chinese army boys just out from incamp training? U choose
As for some question asked why some quote was quoted .....
Many here initial thoughts was that it was foreign indian who whack Michael Tan .
It was very fiercely debate about FT indians involving here .
As what i had promised , i am a fair guy , FT Indian was never involve in such incident , be fair to them . Content was taken out and clarified .
It was a local indian ..... so something i said about this local indian brought shame to the Indian community .
Sia suay Singapore indians , disgrace to all Singapore indians .
This is something from my heart , racist ?