Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Bro bowah, this is so TRUE!!
What important most is how you feel about yourselve being a TD!!
Even now coming to 3 yrs on steering liao, some of my pax still tells me I dun look a TD at all, whever we have conservations during the trip.
But not all pax is worth to start any conservation...
esp those from vietnam.. ( i just ask, where she come from? she told me short n sharp.. u drive yr taxi, can already.. )
Originally posted by Mvp30sg:Bro bowah, this is so TRUE!!
What important most is how you feel about yourselve being a TD!!
Even now coming to 3 yrs on steering liao, some of my pax still tells me I dun look a TD at all, whever we have conservations during the trip.
But not all pax is worth to start any conservation...
As we move along our TD life, we tends to like to please others and slowly forget ourselves, remember that everything start from self, when self is disciplined, wife is happy, childrens will be happy, parent will utlimately be happy. With a happy family, you drive more happy, once you are happy, pax seeing a happy cabby, will most likely to be happy taking yr cab.
Therefore, it is critical to please oneself, pamper oneself with good foods or a good massage to respect oneself for a good work done, if nobody gives you a pat on yr back, you can alway give yourself a pat.
What bring about unhappiness in TD is the external factors, from govt policy, to paxs, to the society at large and companies rules and regulations. Day in a day out, you see those TDs keep saying knn, that new rules, this new rental fees, knn, this govt fark up design or policies, all these are external factor trying to make you unhappy.
However, most of us are unable to affect the external factors, so to speak, but as long as we are aware of it, like we get a lousy fark up pax, we should not be influence and tackle it with care as not to make ourselve unhappy out of their fark up policies or character pax.
As saying goes, you can die pleasing people.
Never I will have any intention to smear at TD.......
This wrongly accusation words are too strong to be swallow........
Why many ended up become a TD? only you know and gods know........
Why some ultimately gave up TD? same same, only you know and gods know........
Whether is a last option or only option, only individual know the best themselves........
it's my 1st option when i quit my job.
work for others and listen to ppl talk shit year after year? don't waste my time.
pax at most stuck in your cab for 1h (bad jam) and after that take the money and smile...byeeee
less money, but better control over my life, and time.
freedom cannot be measured.
some job give u money, also take away the joy and your life.
as TD, u decide how much you wish to earn and when you want to work.
you decide if you want your life or money.
Yesterday pick up one pax from pandan loop to penis plaza
Myanmmar convert Sing citizen
12 years in SG
his poly sponsored by MOE and work at changi CAAS for 5 years
then part time 4 years at UNISiM sponsored by his company
now manager at his boss company dealing with agriculture food
I regret never study harder take business studies
I engineering diploma small $$$ le
Originally posted by Tcsaaa:esp those from vietnam.. ( i just ask, where she come from? she told me short n sharp.. u drive yr taxi, can already.. )
those frm motherland normally chit chat with me all the way.........
Originally posted by bowah:
Fly kite? now fly kite also need skill hor, and kite also not cheap cheap hor.The way the public looks and view Taxi drivers is a culture, and depend on which country you are cultured from, you look at TD at differently, however there is only one common view on us, and that is sorry to say, cheap.
Like it or not, you can be a manager, GM, businessman, or like me former casket supervisor, once you hold the steering wheel of a Taxis, you don the image of a taxi driver and therefore considered in most common view as cheap.
However, being a common view does not imply that all look at it that way, some paxs are real understanding and respect TD as an honest and hardworking job.
If pax from india, you know how they look at us, if paxs are from china, viet or any other countries imported into here, they will view us in a way of their motherland TD until someone like me or Hammer or Rbs teach them a lesson, then maybe they will get enlightened and be more meadow in the way they look at Sg Taxi driver.
As for Locals, TD was cultured out of no option because during the 80s and 90s when economy was booming, driving TD is a last option, meaning you must be someone who cannot make it even at a booming economy, and that culture had in a way transmitted down till now, coupled with those born with silver spoon si gina (kids), we are still very much under the scope of being the lower rung of the society.
But then, now matter how peoples perception on us, the most important is still yourself, and that is ME, Me must have confident, discipline,steady, smile often and be happy, care for me family and good buddies. Once that is reached, we are no different or even better than a CEO status, because CEO is still a labour, we are the boss.
As for paxs, try to appreciate and remember those goods ones and forget those bad ones. Some cabbies alway like to have durian type of fares, but for me, I will anytime take a $6 fare good paxs then a durian fares of $30 with a fark up pax, because, a good pax can really light up our day.
nice break down
i believe human nature has this mentality
expensive = good
cheap = lousy
just like cars, mobile phones, have an expensive one means got status, can make it, top of crop, whether can sustain or really make full use of it is another issue, least is 'already there'
high excutives can downgrade to be a hawker/taxi driver(irregardless successful or not), but the reverse hardly happen
taxi drivers some times protray their poor image as well although there are better ones too. even between different company, some say the drivers attitude is different too. most will see it as a trade for uncles than for young men.
service trade here is usually regard as lower grade profession, and therefore at times get pushed around. same as being property agent in its earlier days, any tom dick harry can be one over night, close a few cases and disappear. lost a job, be a property agent, job market rebound, they left the trade. tdvl, got basic qualification, just pay and go through it first, get licence first and then decide later.
although is important to have a right mindset is considered half battle won, but the other enemy is how people see u from outside. but at least for sure, when taxi transport is much sought after(peak hour, rainy day,etc), the passengers are usually more appreciative of our presence.
all in all, its still a HONEST LIVING..
i think its because most people have the opinion driving taxing is very bad for the body.
Originally posted by bowah:
As we move along our TD life, we tends to like to please others and slowly forget ourselves, remember that everything start from self, when self is disciplined, wife is happy, childrens will be happy, parent will utlimately be happy. With a happy family, you drive more happy, once you are happy, pax seeing a happy cabby, will most likely to be happy taking yr cab.Therefore, it is critical to please oneself, pamper oneself with good foods or a good massage to respect oneself for a good work done, if nobody gives you a pat on yr back, you can alway give yourself a pat.
What bring about unhappiness in TD is the external factors, from govt policy, to paxs, to the society at large and companies rules and regulations. Day in a day out, you see those TDs keep saying knn, that new rules, this new rental fees, knn, this govt fark up design or policies, all these are external factor trying to make you unhappy.
However, most of us are unable to affect the external factors, so to speak, but as long as we are aware of it, like we get a lousy fark up pax, we should not be influence and tackle it with care as not to make ourselve unhappy out of their fark up policies or character pax.
As saying goes, you can die pleasing people.
this part is a little tricky.
we have daily cost to cover, then we see income
unless u don't mind making sacrifices - a smaller income, with lesser driving hours, and therefore u can have own personal time, then its good to let go, a couple of days each week for own time. no income, u are like working for the company. lower income, do not let yourself fall into trap of being lazy and lazier.
cabbies are no different from hawker stall, got overheads to take care. once that taken care of, then is profit. just that hawker stall stays there for walk in customers, we are mobile. we all need to work least 6 days a week or even everyday, esp, weekends and PH because its the more crowded time. at least cover the cost, to make how much for that day, u can decide
Originally posted by Sil1606:As I am just driving part time …. 2/7 weekdays night and weekend day shift ..
I see it as a oppty to earn extra income.
With regardings to chatting with pax … I usually dun .. unless they start the conversation 1st.
one of the pax I fetch recently commented that he will always chat with the taxi uncles to ensure they are awake ?? lol
during the conversations .. he says that he is a private tuition .. $100/ 1 hr session.
Teaching the FT’s children, he also say that he always see a regular taxi fetching his students … machiam got private arrangement… as the taxi uncle told him that the FT pays him $2000 per month to fetch his children to and from school … or run errands … (fixed schedule) then he still can sweep the road outside of the hours …
Good idea hor?? but I supposed this is only applicable for full timer OMO drivers
chatting with pax, depends on individual.
chatting sometimes can distract a driver too, so do it if your pax can engage in healthy casual conversation
private arrangement got its pros and cons, so manage it properly
Originally posted by Ohyaitsme:Yesterday pick up one pax from pandan loop to penis plaza
Myanmmar convert Sing citizen
12 years in SG
his poly sponsored by MOE and work at changi CAAS for 5 years
then part time 4 years at UNISiM sponsored by his company
now manager at his boss company dealing with agriculture food
I regret never study harder take business studies
I engineering diploma small $$$ le
always remember, u never know the hardship he has gone through. do not just measure by his success
there's always a price tag to everything.
whether being a TD is bad for health, long hours of sitting, confined to a car cabin of different passengers, germs, long hours on the road to make a decent living, all boils down on how u manage and sometimes must learn to let go
u drive hard, make sure u do relax and unwind too, exercise, healthy lifestyle, give up some time on the road(= to income) to relax and pamper yourself and family.
some are hardcore, for the passion of $$,longer hours on the road, they end up with poor health and broken relationships.
i do agree we r sacrificing our time for earning money,but as u say gotta let go sometimes for exercise,family or friends
Originally posted by foolsh_2000:i do agree we r sacrificing our time for earning money,but as u say gotta let go sometimes for exercise,family or friends
ironically we can never earn enough or finish earning $, but we can finish spending them, earn less, spend less
so always keep it at the back of your head, health is more important than wealth
Originally posted by komade:those frm motherland normally chit chat with me all the way.........
Driving a taxi is definitely not a last option job, becos 1 u must have a class3 license and 2 u must obtain a tdvl in order for u to drive a taxi, and as we all singaporeans know our class 3 license is not easy to obtain one , it is often quite out of reach to most singaporeans :( so maybe cleaning clearing tables at our friendly neighborhood food courts is a truly last option for us locals.. ...