A speech made by the former PM of Australia.
'This culture has been developed over two centuries of struggles, trials
and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom'
'We
speak mainly ENGLISH, not Spanish, Lebanese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese,
Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part
of our society . Learn the language!'
'Most Australians
believe in God. This is not some Christian, right wing, political push,
but a fact, because Christian men and women, on Christian principles,
founded this nation, and this is clearly documented. It is certainly
appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends
you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new
home, because God is part of our culture.'
'We will accept your
beliefs, and will not question why. All we ask is that you accept ours,
and live in harmony and peaceful enjoyment with us.'
'This is OUR
COUNTRY, OUR LAND, and OUR LIFESTYLE, and we will allow you every
opportunity to enjoy all this. But once you are done complaining,
whining, and griping about Our Flag, Our Pledge, Our Christian beliefs,
or Our Way of Life, I highly encourage you take advantage of one other
great Australian freedom, 'THE RIGHT TO LEAVE'.'
'If you
aren't happy here then LEAVE. We didn't force you to come here. You
asked to be here. So accept the country YOU accepted.'
If only our own PM is brave enough to give out such speech to our Fts...
dear coconut, u think too much liao..
looking at thing in perpective, we kenna attack from north side? their 1 million plus citizens still here.. go back eat grass?
we kenna attack from the south? only from their fast sampans bringing ciggy for us cabbys here..
beside, i heard our defence budget more than both of them combine..
so much burn also burn bey liao.. if half of our defence budget allocate to local citizen, we will all be better..
will war really break out, i 've stop being naive..
pax told me, war will come, u shd have the chance to prove yr loyalthy donkey years ago..
anyway, those better off sg or better qualified sg have n really went to other country..
there r cabby who did not pick up pax during peak hr at cbd fringe area.. not 1 or 2 ok.. punish all of them? the same thing will still happen with new generation of cabbys..
not 1 or 2 sg left singapore.. by the bus load, plane load..
i won't say they r not loyal.. it just that life seems to be better the other side..
most of the ppl who left, one of the main reason is for their next generation.. they say sg cmi.. yr son, would probably need to work above 65 years old here..
Originally posted by ericgo:A speech made by the former PM of Australia.
'This culture has been developed over two centuries of struggles, trials and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom'
'We speak mainly ENGLISH, not Spanish, Lebanese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society . Learn the language!'
'Most Australians believe in God. This is not some Christian, right wing, political push, but a fact, because Christian men and women, on Christian principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented. It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture.'
'We will accept your beliefs, and will not question why. All we ask is that you accept ours, and live in harmony and peaceful enjoyment with us.'
'This is OUR COUNTRY, OUR LAND, and OUR LIFESTYLE, and we will allow you every opportunity to enjoy all this. But once you are done complaining, whining, and griping about Our Flag, Our Pledge, Our Christian beliefs, or Our Way of Life, I highly encourage you take advantage of one other great Australian freedom, 'THE RIGHT TO LEAVE'.'
'If you aren't happy here then LEAVE. We didn't force you to come here. You asked to be here. So accept the country YOU accepted.'
If only our own PM is brave enough to give out such speech to our Fts...
Now you know why those indian expatriate are crowding simei, little india, meyer road, tanjong rhu etc etc? because they get booted out from Aust
most other country citizens have slowly go into retirement mode at around 55 years old.. most sg pax i ask, expect to work above 60 - 65 years old..
i was thinking to myself, can all of them really work until that long? wu chance bo?
after 65, what u want to do? what can u do?
After 65yo, Can join me at Geyland lor 18 kopitiam, i teach you how to sian bak bak ..
k.. after kopi break?
After 65yo, bo drive taxis, still lim kopi meh?? Ang zee kow (guniess stout) is good for you
who would still be loyal to our country if we have a government like north korea?
yes maybe, loyalty out of fear?
government policies and nation loyalty not interlink?
in countries like north korea and in the past east germany or iraq there are citizen defectors due to government suppression.
when a government start to treat the country like its own and only for its own interests, you cant really blame the citizens for renoucing their citizenship.
bo pian, my body anti- alcohol.. not anti - pap..
Originally posted by Ken@kofishop:Though I’m not one who will easily opt for migration, I can see more ppl doing it as the world globalise, travel becomes easier and easier and moving towards “A world without borders”. We will see more ppl like co-founder of FB migrated here to escape heavy tax in US, Jet Li who says “The world is my home). Likewise Sporeans migrating out…
Years down the road migrating may become no big deal/issue…counties become more tolerant of immigrants of different races…but maybe not in my lifetime. For my children… I will leave this important choice to them but I will try to equip them to be in a position to make that choice if they want to. I.e. to be successful or have useful set of skills…Most countries will still welcome successful ppl that can contribute towards their betterment…
........Skill.......
if we are nothing in our homeland, what's make us think that by migrating can better out life........
Migrating to Australia....
U thinks so simply & easy ?
What make you think that Australia's govt will take u in ?
If u are not within their professions they need... you don't qualify, unless your bank accounts have 7 digits.. (definitely they don't need taxi drivers over at Perth and/or Australia)
Originally posted by Tcsaaa:dear coconut, u think too much liao..
looking at thing in perpective, we kenna attack from north side? their 1 million plus citizens still here.. go back eat grass?
we kenna attack from the south? only from their fast sampans bringing ciggy for us cabbys here..
beside, i heard our defence budget more than both of them combine..
so much burn also burn bey liao.. if half of our defence budget allocate to local citizen, we will all be better..
will war really break out, i 've stop being naive..
pax told me, war will come, u shd have the chance to prove yr loyalthy donkey years ago..
anyway, those better off sg or better qualified sg have n really went to other country..
there r cabby who did not pick up pax during peak hr at cbd fringe area.. not 1 or 2 ok.. punish all of them? the same thing will still happen with new generation of cabbys..
not 1 or 2 sg left singapore.. by the bus load, plane load..
i won't say they r not loyal.. it just that life seems to be better the other side..
most of the ppl who left, one of the main reason is for their next generation.. they say sg cmi.. yr son, would probably need to work above 65 years old here..
Uncle Tcsaaa, I think u think too much on my post........
I just chin chye quoting an example........
but of course, never take thing for granted........
I already say, if our definition of being loyal is different, so be it.......
whether this goberment fail or success, I'm a Singaporean, I'm holding pink IC and Singapore Passport........
No more British colonel era, no more linkage with the North neighbour, we are an indepenant country.........
don't like it, give up and go.........
I don't need to tell people how good is others and make things bad about my own country........
when Cyprus went bankrupt, how rich you are also no use.......
a country is still a country.......
when in rome.
want to migrate must be able to adapt.
those who come back obviously cannot adapt.
life is not about work, its about living life to the fullest.
aust you work too much, your coworkers and you no see eye to eye.
however the issue about colour cannot be avoided, there will always be racism everywhere.
maybe for this reason, my retirement is base in thailand, laos, cambodia, vietnam.
every few months can move around. eternal holiday.
until you too old then come back old folk home.
retirement, 7 years to go to 45.
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Migrating to Australia....
U thinks so simply & easy ?
What make you think that Australia's govt will take u in ?
If u are not within their professions they need... you don't qualify, unless your bank accounts have 7 digits.. (definitely they don't need taxi drivers over at Perth and/or Australia)
You mean like this can migrate there?
Originally posted by Poolman:In Melbourne , there is a club called Temasek Club , set up by former Singaporeans ......
Asked how many would want to come back Singapore ?
Non .
Goh Chok Tong once screwed those "Quittors" at one of his National Day Rally .... why screw them ? Just a little bit only mah , right ?
Nope it's a lot .
He ! He! He! Melbourne ? Temasek Club ??
My wife graduated from RMIT (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology).
Melbourne-Temasek Club, We know them.
Want to migrate to Australia !
Please
dont like that leh
must gib poolman �师 some face de ma
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:You mean like this can migrate there?
like this.....nid to migrate there?
Originally posted by BotaHead:dont like that leh
must gib poolman �师 some face de ma
Oh ! I should said: 师傅�Please go ahead !
If you are in Australia and you still SO concenr about Singapore.
Temasek Club~~ Small Fly, Join this
If you are in Melbourne then Join
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:You mean like this can migrate there?
U can apply...
but they (their immigration) are giving points (on professions) for Migrating Aliens.
GP (cum Taxi driver) can made so much ?
U got undeclared your income tax bo ?
yes planning , who say go australia need 7 figure $$$$$ ???
dun read too much straits time .