when u have certIan people to employ you , then there be nk turning back . ....scared jo people employ you only .
i better dun say so much , sekali people also follow my ways .
i was given a chance . .. .. ..i just declined . Cos i love my country .
Now i dunno , i only fear for my children .
If my son are going to Uni , i will sent him to australia , cert lousy nevermind . Once he started to be in aussieland , then good liao .
Singapore cannot make it liao , even Malaysia i also will run there .
Quality life in Sgp ? Nay . .. ..
I love SOCCER , maybe i should move to merseyside .
Chief, I think you missed your appointment at Buangkok
Originally posted by Ct2220:If you are in Australia and you still SO concenr about Singapore.
Temasek Club~~ Small Fly, Join this
If you are in Melbourne then Join
Just one example of people they met and asked : " Are u returning back to Singapore ?"
Maybe u should ask those people from Merlion Club ...... they'll be more happy to Merlion in Australia then in Singapore .
Migrate lor, talk so much for what.. one less major competitor at coconut tree, serangoon Taxi stand, jurong island and tuas south also good for all of us.
Please give us the date, we can give you a wonderful farewell dinner cum escort to airport
I want to see datas from government to tell us recent years how many renoun their citizenship and migrated out ?
They dun dare one . Cos it is just too many .
And many are middle class famililes .
A small family , like my friend , as long as business , the Australian accepted u in .
It is cheaper to live in Australia then in Singapore .
High wages , cheaper to live .
Better quality of life . They just pay taxes , the rest let the government deal with it .
Dun read too much Straits about racist thing in Australia
Not so soon lah .....
But i wont die in Singapore , that's for sure . I will die outside Singapore .
When someone like me has got those desire to leave ......
there is something wrong , either in me , or something wrong with the system here .
Originally posted by Poolman:Not so soon lah .....
But i wont die in Singapore , that's for sure . I will die outside Singapore .
you mean die at sentosa?
to get their citizenship...
they based on your contribution by profession(s)....
so, what r u going to contribute to their economy ?
drive taxi ?
Originally posted by Poolman:When someone like me has got those desire to leave ......
there is something wrong , either in me , or something wrong with the system here .
There is definitely something wrong with you, your inner self is not stable, you alway look at others as greener, friends or relatives more brighter both in look and earning, or that your neighbour door is alway more beautiful then yours no matter how your change or decorate it. This is call inferiority complex mentality while presenting a superior complexity nature. And all this got to do with too much egos and pride at stake.
Your inferiority is very complex, but you never want to show it to others because at the exterior, you want to show superiority, like you are the chief, but as you age, you somehow find your superiority deteriotriating, and those relatives or friends had found better pasture and life than you, a TD, so to speak, therefore, that inferior of feeling a sense of failure start to exist as time goes by.
The antidote is therefore, be simple, dun think so much, just drive happily, meet us happily, go home happily, make family happily with your love, and you are still our great Chief without any string attached. Be kind to yourself, we, at such age, should not torture ourselve further, live, work, old and die, no one can escape this road.
Originally posted by sacredspirits:hmm…. I think every country has its pros and cons…. yes, in UK where I m now, I don’t have to pay money to see ‘loh goon’.... but then hor, 30% of my hard earn money goes to government here (who has led the country into recession!!)... good thing here is that I don’t have to b workaholic like many friends in singapore…. dont hv to bring work home…. aiyah… everywhere it’s ‘I see u good, u see me good’ lah…. yes, my hubby n I can afford 2 cars here (well…. second-hand ones lah….. but I think dispensable income seems more in Singapore leh…. a Singapore friend here also say… in UK want to watch movie also must think twice (expensive leh!)... in Singapore, no need to think even once!
I don’t know about Australia though….
well…. at the end of it, it all depends on what u want in life…. I miss my friends n family back home… I m still holding on to my Singapore passport…. only reason why I m here is my BBC hubby….. I can understand why some people migrate to another country for long and still want to go back Singapore…. it’s the memories, the family, the friends, the food, the singlish even…..
....even the char kway tiao, the laksa, the chicken rice and fish soup...hehehe..it occur to me when I was sailing for a few years during my young time, before sailing, never miss a single thing here, everything is boring, once gone sailing for a year only, start to miss even my neighbourer's..
Originally posted by bowah:
you mean die at sentosa?
Fish La Sentosa Lim Kopi Sibei Gui.
Actually sentosa and ubin is still consider singapore, so, the best option is OPL, I use to go when doing voyage repair by taking boat from Marina south, OPL mean Out of Port Limit, it is international, no man own. Our chief can just jump, nobody will give a dime
Actually long ago, My wife and me did talk about when we get old, where to retired.
Definitely not Singapore, BUT not becuase of those reason Poolman mention. It's because we like to have a much slow pace life.
She hope to retired in Tasmania.
I hope to retired in 丽江
But at the end, we still feel that Singapore is the BEST,
BECAUSE æˆ‘ç”Ÿåœ¨è¿™é‡Œï¼Œæˆ‘é•¿åœ¨è¿™é‡Œï¼Œè¿™é‡Œæ˜¯æˆ‘çš„å®¶ï¼Œæˆ‘çš„æ ¹åœ¨è¿™é‡Œã€‚
I just couldn't believe a so call reputable chief will come out all those naive posts.......
Migrating and Retirement, please decide which 1 you looking at......
Citizenship and PR, please decide also.......
don't waste our time, posting like a kina.......
I think the 1 who have been reading too many ST is chief himself.......
Anyway, I strongly recommend Darwin in Australia for chief........
more than hundred over years ago, the whole city was totally submerge in sea water........
than they rebuilt the whole city.......
tia gong it will happen again in hundred years time which is now........
Australia is riding on a gd fortune because of it trading with China, the chinese need those raw materials and food stuffs from australia to support their growing economy, so if you ask me if the aussie will welcome a china chinese or a singaporean chinese like our chief status. I think, i do not need to provide an answer.
And bear in mind that aussies are decendant of brit prisoners.
Why not just get a night guard job at tuas south facing the strait sea, at nite can read books, watch seagul, fishing, play with stray dogs and yet can also surf the net..
Originally posted by Poolman:
If my son are going to Uni , i will sent him to australia , cert lousy nevermind . Once he started to be in aussieland , then good liao .
The reason tht My girl friend (Singaporean) and Her hunband (Malaysian) leave home (Singapore and Malaysia ) to Australia study and stay there, It's totaly same as what you think for your son now.
Many many years laters (Maybe oso 18 Years), Likely your son will like them becuase of their children (Your Grand Children) and return back Singapore.
BUT。。。。。。。by then, don't know whether your son can make it to come back to Singapore or not.
Originally posted by Rbs70:The key word here is Migrating......
Singapore don't practice dual citizenship, you have to choose......
So you decided to migrate, but you still love your own country? No, it don't work that way.......
but if due to work committment, I'm posted oversea, I miss my country, that's a different anticipation......
my home grown country, my loyalty is there, quoting company level example don't really match........
so I repeat, if you decided to give up Singapore and MIGRATE, please go.......
Migrating? I got no comments cos very emo one. I am talking about getting PR. The Singapore today and 20 yrs later will be very different. Give yourself an alternative. You can live in either country freely. Sinkapore too ex., stay Australia. Dun like Australia, stay Singapore lor. Simple what.
Singaporeans of the future must be prepared to uproot and find work overseas. Some will settle there. Why? Because there will be many university graduates competing for jobs here. Unless they want to become TDs lah. My time, 5% to 10% of NS boys were A level holders. Today, that figure is 70%. 10 years later??
Last time, riflemen all Hokkien Peng. Today, u got riflemen who are A level holders and who will be studying Law at Cambridge University after NS.
Those FTs who come here get PR are smarter than a lot of Singaporeans. Don't be fixated with loyalty for country kind of thing and block out everything else. This type of mentality only belongs to the North Koreans. Even China has changed.
And had my grandfather remained fiercely loyal to China, I would not be having a good life here today.