Originally posted by Taxilim88:Migrating? I got no comments cos very emo one. I am talking about getting PR. The Singapore today and 20 yrs later will be very different. Give yourself an alternative. You can live in either country freely. Sinkapore too ex., stay Australia. Dun like Australia, stay Singapore lor. Simple what.
Singaporeans of the future must be prepared to uproot and find work overseas. Some will settle there. Why? Because there will be many university graduates competing for jobs here. Unless they want to become TDs lah. My time, 5% to 10% of NS boys are A levels. Today, that figure is 70%. 10 years later??
Last time, riflemen all Hokkien Peng. Today, u got riflemen who are A level holders who will be studying Law at Cambridge University after NS.
Those FTs who come here get PR are smarter than a lot of Singaporeans. Don't be fixated with loyalty for country kind of thing and block out everything else. Those type of mentality only belongs to the North Koreans. Even China has changed.
And had my grandfather remained fiercely loyal to China, I would not be having a good life here today.
Yes, uncle Lim, the heading is about migrating.......
I have repeated myself many time, if you felt dishearted at this country, please go, I repeated many time.........
So don't think I'm not aware of current and future situation of the world........
Some forumers had already stress or indicated or even explain in detail what and what's as an immigrant will encounter when you had decided to reside in another countries, I shall not be a dog mother snake and repeat again........
I personally treasure Singapore, a country where I belong, this loyalty not like those communist countryman, only yes, don't have no in their dictionary........
We know where we stand, we know what's going to happen, we standing firm to go for our right.......
but if you decided to gave up Sg citizenship, you lost the right to vote, you lost even the basic right to talk about Sg future, that is the different, no matter how good the pictures he/she wanted to tell us on another country, is nonsense and redundant, we had to understand this........
Let what I had said, a country won't change(unless aggressor invaded your soverighty) but policy can change, and policy can change in any other countries also........
But we must know where's our root..........and I'm talking about Singapore since independent day, your last sentence in bold red, to me, is really unnecessary..........
Originally posted by Rbs70:Yes, uncle Lim, the heading is about migrating.......
I have repeated myself many time, if you felt dishearted at this country, please go, I repeated many time.........
So don't think I'm not aware of current and future situation of the world........
Some forumers had already stress or indicated or even explain in detail what and what's as an immigrant will encounter when you had decided to reside in another countries, I shall not be a dog mother snake and repeat again........
I personally treasure Singapore, a country where I belong, this loyalty not like those communist countryman, only yes, don't have no in their dictionary........
We know where we stand, we know what's going to happen, we standing firm to go for our right.......
but if you decided to gave up Sg citizenship, you lost the right to vote, you lost even the basic right to talk about Sg future, that is the different, no matter how good the pictures he/she wanted to tell us on another country, is nonsense and redundant, we had to understand this........
Let what I had said, a country won't change(unless aggressor invaded your soverighty) but policy can change, and policy can change in any other countries also........
But we must know where's our root..........and I'm talking about Singapore since independent day, your last sentence in bold red, to me, is really unnecessary..........
Ok lah..removed bold red oredi..But, the point is necessary. It succintly sums up the desire of many families who decide to emigrate. It is as relevant today as it was 70
years ago. Which is to seek a better life for their families.
From talking to many people, I sense that this desire is stronger today than it was 10 years ago. But, I am not critical of families who decide to emigrate as they have their own reasons.
So, do you agree that getting a PR elsewhere is a good alternative?
I was given a chance to work in Australia ....... that was 2006 , i declined .
Cos my kids are too small ..... regretted it ?
Not when 2006 ....... i love my country ..... my home , my root whatever fuck u can say .
2013 ?
Nay ....... after meeting my friend and spoken to him again , without another round of invitation , i felt a even more desire to move across to the Continent .
It will be easier if someone from Australia they bring you in , using their company level to do it ..... not starting business , but platform to begin to start with .
Now no more working , about retiring ...... there , while children studying there .
That's a dream ..... without giving it a shot , when given those possibilities , it wont happened !
A lot of things gotta be done , It will not be a overnight stuff .
Also depends on those changes politically here .
Those changes the law and policies could also change my decision .
And i don't see any changes will take place as long as they are there .
The outstanding issues of my exisiting HDB flat .
Children's progress in their education .
As for now ..... still finding informations and need to visit my friend in Perth , to know roughly what kind of business easy to start with , easy to access to Australia , with his partnership , if needed .
I was told to start a badminton related equipment outlet in Perth , sourcing for the right coaches and organise coaching classes for the kids and schools for Asian , and have a eventual badminton halls of 3 courts of our own , cater for the increasing Asian esp Indonesians communities in Perth .
At the same time , do retailing and services for badminton equipments for past time , biggest shareholder sleeping partner .......
Badminton is a very least popular sport in Perth . Good chance to start off with the Asian , Indonesians and malaysians market .
Just a basic discussion between them and myself .
They know my passion ...... stumbling block will still be those around me .
Break the barriers , and should be something interesting .
Anyway , tell u all , u all dunno one .
I would rather die doing something of my passions , then struggle at the age of 60 in Singapore !!!
I am so sure i will find it tough ....... many old folks is not coping well now , 17 years down the road , lagi no need say .
Away from Singapore , it will be less strugglings by the high cost of living .
Originally posted by Taxilim88:So, do you agree that getting a PR elsewhere is a good alternative?
Well ..... yes , base on current trend , everyone is doing so .
Those China nationals in Sgp also like that ..... after a while , they go back to their country , or move across to other continent .
Singapore are vast becoming a platform for them to move to a bigger economy .
We knew it ...... they knew it ..... everyone knew it , our government know or not ??
Originally posted by Poolman:I was given a chance to work in Australia ....... that was 2006 , i declined .
Cos my kids are too small ..... regretted it ?
Not when 2006 ....... i love my country ..... my home , my root whatever fuck u can say .
2013 ?
Nay ....... after meeting my friend and spoken to him again , without another round of invitation , i felt a even more desire to move across to the Continent .
It will be easier if someone from Australia they bring you in , using their company level to do it ..... not starting business , but platform to begin to start with .
This is exactly the same as our FT ah nehs here are doing, using their company level to bring in relatives, friends and their ancestors into Singapore.
So, you want to become ah neh of Australia?? then must change yr name to Chandra Poolneh s/o Tharman
Originally posted by sacredspirits:when I went back for CNY earlier this year, with the ‘Singapore 2030’ debate, I had wondered…. while attracting more people into Singapore, maybe it will mean that more Singaporeans in the future will be more educated, more ‘globalised’... and so will want to get out….
In near future, CNY will be only be given one day holiday, the other day will be rename as FT Day.
More and higher education is typically in the mind of every singaporeans and parent of childrens, it is all because govt preached no resource except human resource, so his kids goes into University, that cleaner kids when into scholarship at NUS, that neighbour at SMA and so on.
Then when they came out after NS and education, already 23 to 24 ++, along came a foreign boss who holds a mumbai degree, taking a bare minimum of $5k as manager, provided with condos at tanjong rhu and most importantly, an employment pass to allow whole family arrival with his work level.
Do you think our boys will take it??
excuse me , for a beginning , i should be in the legal social visit working visa into Australia if things work out .
Not employment thing yet .... yet to finalise anything , just prelimary discussion regarding procedures , they know a bit . Still need to check it out further .
The problem lies in between social visit and actual living.
Social visit is like tourist, no string attached.
Actual living is committed, money spent in moving, buying and everything in your family, including dogs, cats and mouse life changed.
If you said you are sending your childrens for education, it perfectly fine if they are given scholarship, self paying is no jokes.
Then visit them once or twice a year, slowly built in to get to know the place.
Most people migrate to australia because they are educated there, some never even wanted to come back, not that here is no good, because they cannot take the fast and furious life here. Most would had adopted a laze life, which is typically, their culture.
Moving in at mid life is no joke, and to start up, find a job, it also no joke, they got plenty of youngs there, of course, you said relatives or friends can help you, but it can turn out to be a burden to them with you around, then how?
Mai lah, here still got your buddies, your LV, your favorite fish soup, coffee and cigarette, family, relatives and also a relaxing job, why make life miserable further, just drive and save, old liao, buy a second hand car go around with wife and see childrens works..see bowah, fark him, see CT, can also fark him..in aussie where can do like this..I guarantee once you gone for 3 months, you will miss all this.
You see, human like you and me got a funny mentality of telling good of what we are, just like you, drive silver, said skoda damn good..this and that..same goes your relatives who are staying at Oz, they will tell you all the goods about Oz.
Peoples from poor developing countries, whereby the country is not at peace, no job, full of illness, dirty, lots of begger, high corruption and so on coming into Singapore or australia or any developed countries is understandable, to them, is heaven. But coming from Singapore to Oz, is almost the same, just that they got bigger space and less people, more green than concrete, more cows than Singaporeans only.
There was once I took a Oz living here for 23 years, he said something that bewildered me till today in disbelieve, he is a teacher here.
He claim that aussie, especially near the coral reef, from brisbane down to sydney, melborne across into perth, that belt is of space had the most people dying of skin cancer or other related cancer, because, that belts of sphere have the least ozone layer on earth, and that is where the reef coral needed, direct sun radiation to survive.
Originally posted by Taxilim88:Ok lah..removed bold red oredi..But, the point is necessary. It succintly sums up the desire of many families who decide to emigrate. It is as relevant today as it was 70
years ago. Which is to seek a better life for their families.
From talking to many people, I sense that this desire is stronger today than it was 10 years ago. But, I am not critical of families who decide to emigrate as they have their own reasons.
So, do you agree that getting a PR elsewhere is a good alternative?
Because Singapore don't allow dual citizenship, even how good is other country, one had to really sit down and think, "Give up Singapore citizenship?".......
Even special case like my niece, who bear a child in US, although her child was granted US citizenship, but Singapore Authority never fail to inform her, once her child reach legal age tender, got to choose 1, either Sg or US, as her child is a male, what do you think he will choose?.........
As for PR, aiyo, you see I never even bother to touch on this, why? Nowadays with $, a lot of wonders can be done.........
My uncle every year attend NDP sing Majulla Singapura, but he is holding PR status for New Zealand, Phillipine and Canada.........
My main point is "Giving up Citizenship" over here........like now chief had clarify, working hor, knn la........
Why Merlion or Temasek Club been set up? Maybe if possible, Raffles Club will be there also.......
Is for those PR, working type la, student la.....to have a place to gather and sing Majulla Singapore together mah, if someone given up citizenship still step in to those club, knn kiam gan only..........
If the chief just simply talking about going oversea to look for business opportunity, than farking wasting all my time typing la........
Like bowah had said, we know ourself what's our capability, want to be "ah Neh" in Australia, please go ahead.........
How Australia treated Asian?........the day when the chief met the REAL ANG MOR, when their real ang mo wallop you until you nearly die or killed, than come and tell us again........
Chief,
You see who is yr real buddy here, me and Rbs, tho we alway like to tease you, not because we like to tease or disturb you, but we want you to be good and stable, take a gd example, if Oz is good, many working above TD already migrated, maybe I and Rbs chiong liao...wait for you meh??
Eh.....Chief only migrating mah, giving up his SC as well meh?
I also already thinking of migrating..... to my wife's homeland...... but now daughter young and some other issues, still cannot yet.....
I already got my driving license there, accomodation, only things left are hunting for a good school for my daughter and a job for me to work..... once these settled, I'm out of here.....
Singapore, I see no future for me.... be a TD for life? If the gahment allow PR or FT to be TDs, good luck to us......
Agreed migrating is not a just say and do thing, takes time and need planning.... may take a few years, but definitely will be much happier there than in sg......
many sg citizens busy with planning for migration..
many pap mp busy with taking in fts as citizens..
uniquely singapore..
i m sure sg mps r not monkeys, they already know most of the reason for migration..
it just that they rather c the $ that more fts bring in, who care where they come from..
as long there a guy to do cheap ns, who care local born or counterfeit " citizens "..
the worst part is, those who stay behind until the very end, will never c the day that singapore reserves is a calculator that only keep on adding no. for dun know what purpose..
not as a fruit for sg citizens to enjoy..
Originally posted by eurocab:Eh.....Chief only migrating mah, giving up his SC as well meh?
Every country is the same........
Without being their citizen, how to "enjoy" those benefit your chief have listed?.......
So if just go there look for "business opportunity" is as good as "ah Neh" working in Oz lor........
Originally posted by Rbs70:Every country is the same........
Without being their citizen, how to "enjoy" those benefit your chief have listed?.......
So if just go there look for "business opportunity" is as good as "ah Neh" working in Oz lor........
where got every country same.
you see the people at somalia,congo,north korea see they song anot? see got benefits anot?
birth now also by luck now come out wrong region and from wrong cb....hong kang liao...
Originally posted by ericgo:where got every country same.
。。。。。。 where got every country same 。。。。。。。。
Been going arround the world for so many years,
finally, I still want to said:
Yes !
I don't like the way PAP Government run my country for the past decade.
I am more qualified then my 师傅 Poolman to Migrate to Australia!
BUT!
I stay back and give PAP a chance to rectify their mistake.
I born here, I grow here, This is my HOME, My root is here.
A link from a recent article
http://news.asiaone.com/News/Mailbox/Story/A1Story20130310-407527.html
quote from inside last paragraph
"The relationship between the state and a citizen is based on a social contract.
The Government is obliged to protect the rights of its own people and to look after them, in exchange for the discharge of certain responsibilities, sense of loyalty and commitment to nation-building. Otherwise, citizenship would have scant value."
Originally posted by Ct2220:
riginally posted by ericgo:。。。。。。 where got every country same 。。。。。。。。
Been going arround the world for so many years,
finally, I still want to said:Yes !
I don't like the way PAP Government run my country for the past decade.I am more qualified then my 师傅 Poolman to Migrate to Australia!
BUT!
I stay back and give PAP a chance to rectify their mistake.I born here, I grow here, This is my HOME, My root is here.
if one day you found out to be of no value to this country but another country value your experience will your loyalty be tested?
Originally posted by Ct2220:The reason tht My girl friend (Singaporean) and Her hunband (Malaysian) leave home (Singapore and Malaysia ) to Australia study and stay there, It's totaly same as what you think for your son now.
Many many years laters (Maybe oso 18 Years), Likely your son will like them becuase of their children (Your Grand Children) and return back Singapore.
BUT。。。。。。。by then, don't know whether your son can make it to come back to Singapore or not.
yes they want some fresh air , given to me i earn so much in australia , to retire in sgp with those money , like those rich people , its good deal to be back to singapore . My son has long way to go , and Singapore just an option now , not the only choice .
Once the govt lost their sense of direction in protecting the rights of citizens...can we really blame those who renounce their citizenship and country of birth?
Humans in nature are mostly selfish...some more...some less...some show it openly...some pretend not to be selfish.
Some can say country come first before self....lampah la mai pian ka ki la
In the end its abt individual self interest.
�白说:我真的�常想在丽江退休养晚年。
My friend was a buyer for a famous electrical store ( Public Listed ) , young and honest .
Every month earned a cool $4000 as a buyer , without even have a GCE O level cert .
1995 his family moved over to Perth .
Staying at Marine Parade , under Mr Gok Chok Tong wards , i was very surprised they chose to move over to the Continent .
mid 90's , many went over due to the dissatifactions of Singapore's policies and politics .
they were one of them .
That was the time why they move on .
Now 2013 , it's not just politically , it was very much looking for quality life abroad , cheaper for their parents .
I now will apply to enrol into Singapore Sports Council Coaching course in badminton , class one to class three ..... NCAP course .
Once Class 1 coaching level , i can personally do coaching without any other resources .
Class 1 for juniors , which is most ideal for me .
Class 2 and Class 3 is least important .
Yes coaching i am in for .....
Which i could be throwing key for a while ..... to complete 22 hours of theorical course in coaching .
Once i am a coach , i can coach until 65 , even 70 .
Providing i keep fit all the time .
Originally posted by ericgo:where got every country same.
you see the people at somalia,congo,north korea see they song anot? see got benefits anot?
birth now also by luck now come out wrong region and from wrong cb....hong kang liao...
You like that is 强�夺�.........
We are comparing between first world to first world mah........
Don't tell me your chief want to migrate to Somalia, Congo?????.........