SINGAPORE: The National Taxi Association regrets the premature action taken by some taxi operators who have recently informed their drivers that their hiring agreement could cease if they are unable to meet the Taxi Availability standards.
Advisor to the Association Ang Hin Kee said drivers have been working hard to meet the mileage requirements since the standards were introduced over the last four months.
He said operators should value every driver and not simply pass the blame on drivers who are unable to meet the standards.
The Association has asked the operators and the Land Transport Authority (LTA) to develop reasonable incentive schemes to motivate drivers as well as assistance programmes such as helping drivers find relief drivers.
It called on the LTA to play a more proactive role to ensure that taxi drivers are fairly treated as they work to meet the standards.
It also urged operators to instead work alongside drivers so that together, the target can be met.
Since January, cab companies have had to meet new standards for taxi availability.
These include requiring 70 per cent of all taxis - per cab company - to reach a minimum daily mileage of 250 kilometres.
They must also ensure that 70 per cent of the fleet is on the road during the morning and evening peak periods.
Thank Mr Ang .
Taxi company are bloodsucked.they only care about $. old driver cannot make it out u go .there r many other waiting for taxi now.driver try your best,at the end is tc answer to lta not driver....
For show nia....you all believe meh? NTA buay sai one lah....
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:For show nia....you all believe meh? NTA buay sai one lah....
They are juz another part of the
so, the NTA and taxi companies misinterpret the intentions of govt?
not a bad move to retain your seat in 2016.
if the taxi companies care about the drivers, insurance wont be $2k, rental wont keep gg up, finding relief wont have so many restrictions, and wont use all the diesel guzzling cars liao! 10km/l diesel car is totally unacceptable in today's std.
seriously they the gov wants Td to buy diesel daily and our medisave ($1500). No excuse to under declare your tax.
Even limo is not excluded to run the min distance . The thing is limo got pajak ,counter and hourly booking. We are talking about 50 points hourly and some can afford it. Lta wake up please. To please the general public you are taking the easy way out. Limo taxis only constitute about 2% of the whole taxi population. What can 2% taxis harm the entire country system.
Knn they say renew license got $20 discount, I renew still pay $40. Phui!
Must Hit 250km during peak or off peak period. .?
Originally posted by Canton keith:Must Hit 250km during peak or off peak period. .?
Whole day la, per cab, doesnt matter 1 or 2 drivers
Honestly speaking ..... how can one OMO cannot get 250km ?????
I see liao also hell lan ......
My hirer alone Mon to Friday chow chow sweep 270km .
I throw rental also safe safe for him .
Okay lah say $1 per 1km .
If one OMO drive $240 per 240km .
Minus rental and diesel , plus food break , kopi break , car park , car wash .....
Left $80 ..... OMO kum lan ?
Half shift is good enough .
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Whole day la, per cab, doesnt matter 1 or 2 drivers
or 3 drivers, for that matter.
As I said before, NTA have to do something, you can pass all rubbish problem to the upfront people who are churning the profit for you, that is not fair, all parties must work together to amicably find a suitable solution, I believe it can be done.
Matter is do they get the right peoples into the committee to talk about taxi issues, knn..all tie and coat from LTA and taxi companies, inside play mahjong also nobody knows, it must be tripartite decision, and for once, be it political or NTA gathering members, NTA did not kamlan.
As such, Ang is the ES of the NTA, at the same time a MP of a GRC (meaning follower heng heng tio MP)< a kind of directorship at NTUC. All these news from NTA must be and will be more profound if it come directly from its President, who is truly a taxis driver himself and can really put him as Taxis driver leader, not an MP or ES of a union.
What was discussed on future taxi driving, I can let you know abit
The proposal was, no more relief and OMO,
Taxis will be split into 2 shifts and companies must provide enuf car parking space for the take over.
Drivers will be like working, morning go, register and take yr cab, check before moving off, anything wrong.
Afternoon, another group of drivers will take over for the nite.
As such if you are a regular, you will mostly get the cab you drive everyday with the same person in the nite, unless one of them is off, then they will assign someone or even no one, which is no more a driver problem.
Every driver will have a day off unless he wish to drive.
All adminstration like wish to drive on off day or car problem this and that will be spell out later.
Originally posted by bowah:What was discussed on future taxi driving, I can let you know abit
The proposal was, no more relief and OMO,
Taxis will be split into 2 shifts and companies must provide enuf car parking space for the take over.
Drivers will be like working, morning go, register and take yr cab, check before moving off, anything wrong.
Afternoon, another group of drivers will take over for the nite.
As such if you are a regular, you will mostly get the cab you drive everyday with the same person in the nite, unless one of them is off, then they will assign someone or even no one, which is no more a driver problem.
Every driver will have a day off unless he wish to drive.
All adminstration like wish to drive on off day or car problem this and that will be spell out later.
agree. good system which shld be the case.
this will also free up carpark lots within HDB estate!!!
companies are all taking the easy way out now.... hirer bear full responsibilities, settle any problems with ur own relief if u have one.
companies no need provide parking space which means $$ also.
But drivers also dun want to start and end at the taxi kiosk....which may be far from their homes....
Best thing now is, incentivise hirers and relief drivers!!! make sure they work together.
I think some companies may kick off this type of taxi rental.
but then again, city cab used to have the ad-hoc scheme....now no more.
Originally posted by Samsun:
agree. good system which shld be the case.this will also free up carpark lots within HDB estate!!!
companies are all taking the easy way out now.... hirer bear full responsibilities, settle any problems with ur own relief if u have one.
companies no need provide parking space which means $$ also.
But drivers also dun want to start and end at the taxi kiosk....which may be far from their homes....
Best thing now is, incentivise hirers and relief drivers!!! make sure they work together.
I think some companies may kick off this type of taxi rental.
but then again, city cab used to have the ad-hoc scheme....now no more.
like that how to change shift "chinatown"?
Originally posted by Red5xx:like that how to change shift "chinatown"?
maybe LTA trying to curb that?
end day , 250km quota is never i think a good solution , i said before , what can they do to me ? pok me ? silver pok me , my hirer will ki siao . .. end day premier stuck wif one skoda , u think premier will sack me ?
if they want to do something , cut down the compulsory new 400 taxis rulings , so that taxi companies will not do marketing for new hirers .
encourage more to do partnership .
Cut down on taxis?? I think you cannot be a busineman, too soft hearted.
If today profit is less than yesterday, even at blue and gain, most business people will tell you, they make a loss except Taxi drivers.
If cdg this year earn 100 millions from taxi trade, next year, they will target up to 120 million in their budget planning at Australia where all the top executives went there, had golf, big boobs girls, resort and fun.
And when back in Singapore, die die must cut cost to earn that 20 millions more, so that they can go further, maybe LA, america to enjoy their next retreat of budget planing. And to do that, with the same capacity, there is only 2 solutions
1. Cut cost of its people, from salary to allowances thru retrenchment, restructuring, re employment of cheaper FTs or locals.
2. To increase rental fees, diesel surcharges, increase more new taxis with higher rental on the pretext of expansion.
So, if you are the CEO of cdg, which one you choose will be an easy way out of a promised free trip to LA next years ??
The LTA, so called the govt, also need money to support it treasure box, at the same time, it must also satisfy the public.
The Taxi companies, the business operator, also want make incremental profits years by years so as to satisfy their shareholders n enjoy good paid increment with good bonuses. It must also satisfy the public, which is their customer
The Taxi driver, the Labourer with a bogus titile of businessman, would have to drive, struggle and follow rules and regulaton inorder to satisfy the public, his family, the pax, the LTA and the his own taxis company.
This is call tripartite, a 3 parties involvement, if this 3 parties are in harmony and peace with each other, able to understand, give and take with friendly negotiation, no problem, you will enjoy a very good relationship and life will be a breeze.
However, each party have their own interest as stated above, and the interest conflicted among each other, and in long run, it become bipartism instead of tripartism, meaning only LTA and Taxi companies doing all the decision and left out the taxi driver from the table. And when you are left out of the table, what you expect from the 2 parties to talk about...sure to exploit TD further lor.
As for NTA which represent TD of singapore, but it was created by the govt and endorsed by the taxi companies, what do you expect them to represent?? themselve? or on who interest do they side..so to speak
best is 3 ppl maximise the earnings by driving 8h each.
whack the car until cui......
Originally posted by Poolman:Honestly speaking ..... how can one OMO cannot get 250km ?????
I see liao also hell lan ......
My hirer alone Mon to Friday chow chow sweep 270km .
I throw rental also safe safe for him .
Okay lah say $1 per 1km .
If one OMO drive $240 per 240km .
Minus rental and diesel , plus food break , kopi break , car park , car wash .....
Left $80 ..... OMO kum lan ?
Half shift is good enough .
some just want the cab for personal use.
some just want the flexi hours if omo.
many reasons for omo or relief.
but good partnership is not easy to find and maintain.
some got bad experience with relief/hirer.
never ending stories again.
End of the day, to put more cabs on the road, either u penalise omo or incentivise hirers with relief, or both!