where got extra? if pax want to merlion, lta provide washing?
still when the 1 time when i was a victim.. what a fark feeling..
Originally posted by gohcy:but if you take extra--- overcharge.... ---- LTA lim kopi
U think they still remember they took a cab home ?
Comfort their company got give driver reimbursement for car wash ..... for vomitting case .
A bit troublesome ..... still they do provide such benefit for their drivers .
Solution offered for "Head Big Syndrome", passed down fr generations of Taxi old birds.
Originally posted by bowah:They scold in chinese, me handphone call liao..then quickly throw a $50, clean up with their tissue and I drive them to their destination, way out, I look, a bit vomit only, just use my mineral water wash can liao/...
Maybe passenger felt guilty and scared, quickly used her hands to sweep all her vomitus into the gap between back seat cushion and back rest, then wipe clean her hands on the interior lining of the cab, thats why you saw abit only. In this case how much, got to remove rear seat and sterilise whole cab.
On a serious note, i am concerned about the hygiene in the cab, very unfortunate if anyone contract any deadly avian flu or superbugs and subsequently dies from it. Can be anyone's immediate family or relatives.
H7N9 as of today, 103 infected 20 dead and more bad news.
And... the emergence of superbugs. Singapore being a metropolitan island will be devastated.
p.s thanks for the advice, but still a very grey area (just need our bosses' endorsement)
Originally posted by Gw2kitty:Solution offered for "Head Big Syndrome", passed down fr generations of Taxi old birds.
Maybe passenger felt guilty and scared, quickly used her hands to sweep all her vomitus into the gap between back seat cushion and back rest, then wipe clean her hands on the interior lining of the cab, thats why you saw abit only. In this case how much, got to remove rear seat and sterilise whole cab.
On a serious note, i am concerned about the hygiene in the cab, very unfortunate if anyone contract any deadly avian flu or superbugs and subsequently dies from it. Can be anyone's immediate family or relatives.
H7N9 as of today, 103 infected 20 dead and more bad news.
And... the emergence of superbugs. Singapore being a metropolitan island will be devastated.
p.s thanks for the advice, but still a very grey area (just need our bosses' endorsement)
Alamak! Will u use your bare hands to wipe your vomitus??
I think nobody will do that...
Originally posted by Sam.seah:Alamak! Will u use your bare hands to wipe your vomitus??
I think nobody will do that...
Depends if u will provide me this to wipe yours or anybody's. Havent u heard of our new muticultural FTs will allow their children to defecate and urinate in the foodcourts, mrt or any nearest dustbins.
Taxis will be next, Alamak and 风油 wont help, not under police jurisdiction, our TD problems swept under the carpet, familiar? What will u do then, please advise.
You have no idea how much i have thought about the circumstances involving our work as Taxi Drivers, the hap hazards, lack of authorities intervention, trade cum house rules and industry protection. My yearly's supply of 风油 depeleted long ago liao.
Let be frank here, it might hurt...but then nobody force you to be a TD, you take the job with your decision, you know the consquences if day and nite driving, the hazards, the stress, both mental and physical, there is alway a platform to throw your keys or cards.
But if you think that all these TD stress, hazards and circumstances is worth to drive on as compare to working class people, thing such as freedom, own time and own target, no supervision above you, a free mode of transportation and more important, do not have to see someone face to work or drive. Then you can drive on.
But if you keep thinking of these hazard, that illness..transmitting, then best is dun drive, othewise driving with a worrying heart is never a happy driver.
I can be frank as well, but if u fail to see the gist of my postings that it isnt about my self benefits so that i can turn a blind eye to the general population. Being aware of the problems, circumstances and solutions will make us more competent and not just be happy, but a happier TD cum commuters.
Maybe i can ask another Q&A and u can answer more appropriately.
Well, this year alone, 3 cases of death in marine, 12 cases of death in construction, 6 motorcyclist gone on the road..we are all aware of the circumstances we face, everything has it hazards, during the sars period, 1 TD died out of other 33 peoples who are doing other hazardeous job such as working in the hospital, hotels and so on.
Of course, we can try to prevent all these by just quitting, but even that, till today 4 singaporean died at home due to falling down, electrical shock and one burnt. Making our hygience and safe is of course good, but you cannot deny that we all have to face the outside world, interact, get close up inorder to survive and earn a decent living.
And there are more TD died of cardic arrest than road accident, so far from last year, only 1 from the ferrari case.
Therefore we should arrest that problem more than just worrying about disease which is affecting the general public and not only Taxi driver.
Yes, the Sar's time, there was much emphasis on taxi cleanliness and contact tracing because Sar's was easily transmitted in taxis. Lets not forget that.
bowah, your early post seem to imply, im just concerned of contracting disease?
Ok, let me be blunt now, maybe u will understand my post better. I am concerned that the cab can be a bacteria transmission haven among the commuters. And TDs can only clean so much, passengers have the responsibility to keep the space they used clean too, not littering, squeezing pimples, cutting finger/toe-nails, stuffing wet tissues on door handles, in between gaps etc. Then if passenger vomit, they should apologetically and responsibly pay for the cleanup.
But how much is reasonable? If it can be stated by and via the authorities. There are 2 cases where taxi driver suffered a fatal heart attack, during a scuffle with passengers who vomited and refused to pay for the cleanup, when theres no provision or by-laws stated. And more non fatal cases that went unpublished. Are the authorities doing enough for us ~ TDs and commuters? Its high time, we need a set of house rules for commuters in taxis to abide.
So those TDs who met responsible drinkers really lucky, but for how long.
my min standard $50 + meter .................
max kenna more than 1XX points + meter ...............
Strictly speaking it's a question of how you 'psycho' the pax into paying. Around $50 is the standard practise, but beware you can ask for anything but don't be at the receiving end of a complaint.
Heres another scenario;
Police clamp down hard & fast on drink & drive habits. They did so unrelentlessly for years and produced great results, our roads are safer now and saved many people who would have killed themselves and their friends.
The Police have solved the problems of drunkards driving dangerously home, but escalated these drunkards into other problems for other people. Now these drunkards will have to take a cab home, they often smell bad and have no recollection where home is ~ maybe thats the epitome of true bliss, some say.
Cabbies now have to deal with a huge numbers of these drunkards who tells us their addresses incoherently with a smittering accent, and also unpredictably abuses the cabby whether it be verbal or physical. Worse cases, they start damaging the cab. Normal cases, they start puking, half in the plastic bag and other half everywhere. Inorder not to incur any losses, risk of life n limb, implication in a court case etc. cabbies will avoid picking the drunken passenger who actually needs the cab the most to get home for a good rest. See the irony? why?
Authorities have not persevered in their duties and methods in helping the drunken public home. The kind cabbies who will undertake such unfavorable circumstances will need laws, house-rules and safe guards to confidently fullfil their duties. And thats a minimal.
Originally posted by Gw2kitty:Heres another scenario;
Police clamp down hard & fast on drink & drive habits. They did so unrelentless in years and produce great results, our roads are safer now and saved many people who would have killed themselves and their friends.
The Police have solved the problems of drunkards driving dangerously home, but escalated these drunkards into other problems for other people. Now these drunkards will have to take a cab home, they often smell bad and have no recollection where home is ~ maybe thats the epitome of true bliss, some say.
Cabbies now have to deal with a huge numbers of these drunkards who tells us their addresses incoherently with a smittering accent, and also unpredictably abuses the cabby whether it be verbal or physical. Worse cases, they start damaging the cab. Normal cases, they start puking, half in the plastic bag and other half everywhere. Inorder not to incur any losses, risk of life n limb, implication in a court case etc. cabbies will avoid picking the drunken passenger who actually needs the cab the most to get home for a good rest. See the irony? why?
Authorities have not persevered in their duties and methods in helping the drunken public home. The kind cabbies who will undertake such unfavorable circumstances will need laws, house-rules and safe guards to confidently fullfil their duties. And thats a minimal.
No lah, how can you expect the authorities to step in other than advise people to drink responsibly?
The whole idea is not to drink and drive and take public transport. Short of putting a bullet proof glass (like they do In NY), there's really nothing much left to do. And I doubt taxi companies here will be willing to put such a glass. Maybe a camera perhaps.
The only alternative is for TDs to be aware and size up the pax they gonna pick. If someone wants to drink until seh, then just too bad. Until he sobers up, he'll just have to wait to get a cabby willing to ferry him.
This issue is not unique to Singapore, I'm sure Tds in other countries will also be unwilling to ferry drunken louts
Originally posted by Angwk7118:TS still does not have a clear picture about Taxi driving is about.
You should approach your MP or the minister etc to highlight your concern
Many issue over driving Taxi is not new, do you think Nobody ever did what you trying now?
Wake up, cannot take it just live with it or leave it. Or maybe be a victim of it
This is Taxi driving.
Maybe there arent enough people bring up such issues, keep trying for what you think is better or right. Or u would rather sweep the issue beneath the carpet, thats your taxi driving?
Implementing house rules can only benefit everybody.
We taxi drivers are not afraid to follow rules, We taxi drivers are only afraid YOU cannot set good rules.
Originally posted by Gw2kitty:Yes, the Sar's time, there was much emphasis on taxi cleanliness and contact tracing because Sar's was easily transmitted in taxis. Lets not forget that.
bowah, your early post seem to imply, im just concerned of contracting disease?
Ok, let me be blunt now, maybe u will understand my post better. I am concerned that the cab can be a bacteria transmission haven among the commuters. And TDs can only clean so much, passengers have the responsibility to keep the space they used clean too, not littering, squeezing pimples, cutting finger/toe-nails, stuffing wet tissues on door handles, in between gaps etc. Then if passenger vomit, they should apologetically and responsibly pay for the cleanup.
But how much is reasonable? If it can be stated by and via the authorities. There are 2 cases where taxi driver suffered a fatal heart attack, during a scuffle with passengers who vomited and refused to pay for the cleanup, when theres no provision or by-laws stated. And more non fatal cases that went unpublished. Are the authorities doing enough for us ~ TDs and commuters? Its high time, we need a set of house rules for commuters in taxis to abide.
So those TDs who met responsible drinkers really lucky, but for how long.
That is why it is important to be a calm and simple TD, in every trade, there are bound to lost and gain, but of course, the gain must be much more than lost. We as TD, must then ready to set aside some unforseen circumstances, just like any other business, tends to meet difficult customers, from drunk paxs to unreasonable ones.
For that, we must be prepare and learn to avoid, but no matter how much you avoid, it will come because you are placing yourself as a TD, and especially so, on a nite shift, be compose and calm, once a while you will meet such people, or some unreasonable aunties or ah nehs.
it is same as my casket driving, some of these dead relatives are very unreasonable, you do abit wrong only, they will curse you here and there, especially those very patang type, and some even shouted at me like I am their slave/coolie for just placing some part wrong or placed with a heavy thug. And more worst, I am facing a person died of cancer, from colon to skin to whatever. Aren't I more expose to diseases??
But somebody have to do the job, those working at the shit factory also hv to wash tank and stir shit...and shit transmit the most illness. Those in chemical industrial are more worst, Jurong Island, why many opts not to work there unless no choice? Not just because of traffic problem, but also because of dirt and chemical induced aric atmosphere.
Then you talk about fine from traffic fines, parking fines, LTA fines...and so on. When I work in yard, I got more fine than driving taxis, from safety boots to safety sock, to belts to helmet to glove to hot work , cold work..every time you turn, a safety officer or managment will be glaring down on you. Forget wear helmet, $50 on the spot, forget pass, $30 and ban for the day, forget belt or hardness set $100 and so on.
So when look into a certain trade hazard, we must learn to look from a macro level, meaning eagle view, if you look from a mouse in the drain view, you see nothing but yourself and a few mice and you think you are the only one exposed to hazards and the rest are not so.
By and large, we are all in danger at any one time, and it is like striking lottery, which you can hardly strike, only once a while, unless you are tian kong kia, same goes to unreasonable and badly drunk paxs, you only strike with them once a while, but if you are more careful with experiences, then you might not strike at all.