Originally posted by Hiei1979:Wah, $200+ rental, that is $80+ increase over a period of 8 years, close to 70% increase. Outrageous inflation.. Hyper inflation.
the flag down never increase
the diesel increase....
208-rental
50-diesel
total 258 round up 260
1 hour lucky-$30
260/30=9 hours non stop to break even...siao boh!
Originally posted by PrOfAtSiR:208-rental
50-diesel
total 258 round up 260
1 hour lucky-$30
260/30=9 hours non stop to break even...siao boh!
Maybe should i put it that way ....
Usually they need 2x$50 private limo trips to cover partial rental .
Now they need 3x$50 .....
Perhaps due to high rental , maybe increase to $55 or even $60 for limo , esp those arrivals or departures .
Those who took Merc , cannot just sweep lah .
They have to do some limo jobs , limo prices , limo service .
I believe SMRT knew those Limo network very effectives .
And they want a slice of profit from there .
$208 to use it to sweep , die cock stand .
Not for u and me .
if i now currently with SMRT Mercedes , knowing i could be paying $208 , i very naturally will go to Comfort to sign up for their cheaper Mercedes , $168 also cheaper than $208 , by a cool $50 margin .
if not sign up for Premier Mercedes also cheaper .
What are SMRT thinking ?
Chasing their drivers out ?
Funny lor
Maybe SMRT is seriously thinking of shrinking their Mercedes fleet , focusing on just the Chryslers .
In the next 5 years ....
Due to the immigration rulings , changing rules in employment policies , cost of living ( a little bit too high for some expats ) , there should be a significant drop in foreigners , strong spending foreigners .
That could caused the Premium service to be even more competitive .
Cos demand less , supply the same .
That could hit those high rental taxis .
I have a strong believe , taxi company are also on the re-structuring process .
Be prepare for the next phase of taxi industry .
next phrase - dunno good or not?
Now they're re-structuring for the new phase after the end of last generation of taxis of those Crowns , Sonata , Kia , Skoda , old Merc etc etc .........
Newer taxis , newer COEs , new road tax structures ..... against the new populations , new infrastructures , new MRT lines .......
But something i really dun understand ......
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Long kept saying they are doing their best to curb the cost of living ........ bring quality life to all Singaporeans .
But contradiction leh .....
Transport cost will go up due to the rental hike .
I dun see the current taxi flag down to stay there for too long .
$3.00 and $3.20 will be history .
In future , commuters si bei cham ....
See Merc dunno want to flag or not .....
Got CDG $3.90 Merc , Silver Merc is $4.50 , SMRT $208 merc dunno how much flag down ......
For night shift , we should see more Mercedes plying their trade at Little India area .... like those Chrysler .
i agree, sat n sunday after 6 am, really no mood to drive.. but i can tell u y i drive until abt 7 am..
so that i can c the level of diesel when i pump, no need to use torch light..
Originally posted by Poolman:Now they're re-structuring for the new phase after the end of last generation of taxis of those Crowns , Sonata , Kia , Skoda , old Merc etc etc .........
Newer taxis , newer COEs , new road tax structures ..... against the new populations , new infrastructures , new MRT lines .......
Chief, allow me to tell you 2 types of business changes,
Restructuring is a change of internal system, but not the personels, assets, be it fix, current or movable asset like Taxis.
The next one is call re-engineering, best example to show re engineering is take a piece of paper, tear it to pieces and throw it away, take another new piece of paper and work on it. Re engineering is a total change of personels and assets, it can be done phrase by phrase at a slower speed, or it can be done in just one stroke of the shareholder decision, example, retrenchment and closure of companies and rename a new one.
What we see in Taxis industrial today is restructuring, a shift of it way of operation, management may restructure their roles, but personel speaking still the same, just the reporting and heiarrchy changed. Assets still remain with add in new assets, and to avoid high depreciation which most asset like taxis to IT product do, they hv to use back those old taxis that are still fit to be on the road.
As such, we do see a new fleet of taxis coming in to the market at exhorbit rental prices, but the old crown, magnetis, older sonatas still around, and that why most TD are finding is harder and harder to make a living, because when the old fleets are not removed, taxi fleets increased.
This SMRT Merc rental do not associate , too much with the terms : " To curb inflations in Singapore "
In Singapore , taxi drivers will eventually be the person that got fucked the most .
U guys voted 40% against the governement , now they change policies for the 40% .
Change employment policies .....
Taxi companies got hit , cos they need many ah tiongs and ah nehs to work as mechanic , now they need to employ 9 locals to get one ah tiong .....
Cost went up ...... Levy went up ......
Rental up ...... taxi drivers lan lan pay ..... but commuter siam .
Who die ?
Taxi drivers lah ....
when the old taxi r scrap, taxi fleet will decrease? right now, old n new taxi get the same no. of paxs.. old taxi drivers got time to go lor 13, 15.. seldom c new taxi park there..
Best is what ?
Don't sign up for them .
Originally posted by Tcsaaa:when the old taxi r scrap, taxi fleet will decrease? right now, old n new taxi get the same no. of paxs.. old taxi drivers got time to go lor 13, 15.. seldom c new taxi park there..
what ? old taxi scrap , replaced by new taxis .
One taxi company must maintain a certain numbers of taxis each year , can be more , cannot be less .
each year they must report to LTA that they do increase 400 taxis as per LTA's requirement .
if not , tio fine one .
Smart tio fine tio kao kia .
SMRT Merc is a testing the water survey. And we all could end up knocking our own head because there are peoples, you can call them siao or tao hong, willing to take it up. You should know that like me, many TD are simple laymen, management of Taxis companies are trained on how to lure these people in, like sales, there are targets to meet.
Once the top management (shareholders) decided on how much profit to increase this year, the ground have to do the work, be it chopping TD with rental at $200++ or sabo TD deposit, that target must be reached, otherwise heads will have to roll.
Inflation is mark up by 2 factors, cars and houses,
Cars in itself is a non essential item.
House is an essential, everyone of us need a roof, this is bare essential.
But because nos of taxis on the road is calculated with all other vehicles on the road, COE come into the picture. But a taxi driver is not the owner of any car, why then, should he pay higher rental just because the owner (TC) paid high COE for the cabs they bought with poor foresight.
Originally posted by Poolman:Best is what ?
Don't sign up for them .
the best? whose cheap cheap? that the best.. i willing to drive, does not mean sure got pax running the meter..
no pax? dun forget pay rental..
You see, the rental should be base on the OMV of the taxis, not the COE nor the this tax and that CEVs. Then we can said that rental prices is more base on OPEN MARKET VALUE.
The open value (real car value + importing and exporting expenses) of a diesel driven epica is only 28k to 30k at most, and if spread over a 7 years lifespan, per year is only 3 to 4k depreciation, and they are charging more than 3k of rental per month.
COE had fallen, from 90k to 60k, still high, but it had fallen by 30k, if taxis companies said because we bought that time COE was high, that is not our problem, so if COE GOES DOWN< are you going to lower your rental??? And for once in your taxi driving life, have you see any Taxis companies lowered their rental??
Originally posted by Poolman:if not , tio fine one .
Smart tio fine tio kao kia .
Be it SMART< SMRT<CDG<TC or even Prime..Fine to them is defined as one pocket out, the other pocket go in.