All companies are more or less Govt Linked, to make it simple, anything that need to deal with fuel, govt has a hand on it, and those fines and summons or whatever warning that put forth to those Taxi companies is merely a show of a liberal democratic market the govt promised.
I mean we got to be realistic about this, who are shareholders/bosses of TC, smart, prime, and so on. You can do your research, and you eventually end up with a relation, either relatives or former temasek or GIC top executives.
You said they fark up, I dun think just TDs, many other also get farked up? but then, there are nearly 50k cabbies day in day out slogging for them. That is the hard truth that you have to accept if you wish to be a TD, if not, someone will take over
And since the start of so called liberalisation of taxis, did you see any of the company get kicked out of business? in comparing with taxi drivers get terminated?
Originally posted by bowah:You see, the rental should be base on the OMV of the taxis, not the COE nor the this tax and that CEVs. Then we can said that rental prices is more base on OPEN MARKET VALUE.
The open value (real car value + importing and exporting expenses) of a diesel driven epica is only 28k to 30k at most, and if spread over a 7 years lifespan, per year is only 3 to 4k depreciation, and they are charging more than 3k of rental per month.
COE had fallen, from 90k to 60k, still high, but it had fallen by 30k, if taxis companies said because we bought that time COE was high, that is not our problem, so if COE GOES DOWN< are you going to lower your rental??? And for once in your taxi driving life, have you see any Taxis companies lowered their rental??
calculate so detailed also must pay rental and drive.
know liao drive even more heart pain.....
every min the clock ticks, the bosses earn like dunno how many thousands...
TDs just hold on to the steering tight.....
Originally posted by bowah:And since the start of so called liberalisation of taxis, did you see any of the company get kicked out of business? in comparing with taxi drivers get terminated?
want to liberalise, let TDs buy and maintain their own taxi lor....
else it's just taxing TDs in another way.....since most or all TDs dun pay income tax....
companies are already paying for u.... ha!
When car loan policy change , when people have problems buying a car , they normally will switch to renting a taxi .
Run on diesel , subsidise rate , rental including tyres , maintenance , insurance , road taxes ..... cheaper than owing a car .
Now with such taxi rental , they will have to take buses and mrt liao .
Or take taxis .
At the expense of current full time taxi drivers .
All thanks to those rent taxis for personal usage .
All kind of patterns all come out to rent a taxi for personal usage .
Now LTA patterns also more than badminton liao ....
High rental , mileage quotas ....... for LTA , it's a good-for-all solution .
For us ? Cham liao .....
i see an end of OMO-ship very soon .....
Can OMO , earn really lesser , time longer .....
Love OMO and there's a price to pay for .
The price for Merc for OMO ?
$168 to $208 .
Cheapest $168 also die cock stand .
$168 and sweep floor ?
Must sweep how many hours ? At least 5 hours excluding diesel .
5 hours non stop diesel also not cheap hor .....
Tio gong limo meter jumping $0.30 from mid May....CDG limo....others I dunno...
Originally posted by Poolman:When car loan policy change , when people have problems buying a car , they normally will switch to renting a taxi .
Run on diesel , subsidise rate , rental including tyres , maintenance , insurance , road taxes ..... cheaper than owing a car .
Now with such taxi rental , they will have to take buses and mrt liao .
Or take taxis .
At the expense of current full time taxi drivers .
All thanks to those rent taxis for personal usage .
All kind of patterns all come out to rent a taxi for personal usage .
Now LTA patterns also more than badminton liao ....
High rental , mileage quotas ....... for LTA , it's a good-for-all solution .
For us ? Cham liao .....
Do not underestimate your fellow countrymen, 50% upfront in buying car is no problem for many, if not why COE still so high, remember that COE was reduced so as to curb inflation, not reduced because people cannot buy, even at $90,000 for a piece of paper, still fully taken up.
Yes, laymen like you and me may not be able to afford that luxury of putting 50%, even can, also heart Pain, unless it is was gain thru 4D, toto or other lucky means or Ah Kong's left over money slowly spent away by lousy decendants.
In Singapore, COE control car population, it control also the able and the unable, but the nos of car one got to have is limitless, you as TD goes by so many private houses to sent of pick up paxs, you see the how many cars does each have?? 3? 4? or some even have a garage with 10 luxury to sporty cars to play around.
Therefore, as a basic family man who really need a car in a social sense will find it very difficult to own one, but on the other hand, those eat full buy pao type of people, who have more cars than needed are buying cars like eating fish soup at cambridge road, so you see that inequlibrium here.
And when our govt attracted more and more richs, you will see higher and higher cost of living, because to the rich, what is high cost? as long as there is peace, a haven and place to put and wash my money in a safe place, who cares?
But it is the laymen like us that cares, laymen like us that cannot afford that 50% will turn to drive taxis, be it fulltime or partime just to live on,
You cannot blame them, the society acted upon them to go into this line, same like your and me, why driving taxis??.. not that they or we wanted, but if a hotel/hospital driver paid is $4,000 with bonuses, OT, increment and all others benefits and looking for a driver who can drive it home after work, you think you still driving Taxis?
Originally posted by Samsun:want to liberalise, let TDs buy and maintain their own taxi lor....
else it's just taxing TDs in another way.....since most or all TDs dun pay income tax....
companies are already paying for u.... ha!
With that pathetic income still pay income tax??? do you know that most singaporean working class with a $4,500 paid, 2 kids also dun pay any income tax?? and today, more subsidizing are given, there is no differences?
So do not think govt dunno yr earning, just that for us, even calculating our income per year, they also sian, peanut for them only.
Our income tax is one of the lowest in the world, now you know why the foreign richs are here, this is one way our govt attract them. In return, the govt use Gst, ERP, property, stamp duties, rental, business, fuel and all other kind of taxes to get their money, dun tell me you pay your power supply bills and taxis rental with no GST??
You are taxed, this is call silence taxation, a taxation that goes on without even you knowing, let say for example $7 Gst for a cab per day, 360days x$7=??, so dun tell me taxi driver dun pay tax hor