Please sgf don't any post in my name when I did not post anything about Malaysia.
Ok. Ignore me then. Ignorance is bliss.
Originally posted by nfshp253:No, that's not what I meant. I'm not a rich snob or something! Don't get me wrong. I'm just questioning why the opposition parties are only focusing on bread-and-butter issues which aren't really there because no one is as poor as they'd imagine. No one will live on the streets or die or hunger. They are blowing up the issues! The issues are not with FTs replacing us in the workplace, it is why we are being replaced! The solution is not to stop them from coming, because they are cheap and efficient; the solution is how to make Singaporeans more employable. What the opposition parties are campaigning for is like what Malaysia is doing. A Malaysia for Malays. It's like Singapore only for Singaporeans. This doesn't work well because not every one has the capability and if we insist on hiring Singaporeans, some quality jobs will never be filled and the economy does not progress. I know people are concerned about real incomes not growing with GDP, but that's just a minority issue. Everything's been blown out of proportions to gun down PAP! How unfair.
Yes. One of the foreign talent ang moh from Australia who I know and congratulated him on his luck can't find a job in Australia while I can secure one in his country. My sister's income in Singapore put her at a low percentile. She wanted to go back to Singapore because she loves it there. Like that foreign talent, her type of qualification is average but she had MORE experience. She doesn't get the pay packet of the FT guy ...my only guess is that she doesn't hold a foreign passport.
Of course, elite can always say 'get out of my elite uncaring face' to the common person. A person who never suffered will not understand what it is like to be at the bottom rung of society. Very much like how Marie Antoinette who was surprised at hunger in France and said 'let them eat cake' .....in the end, she got guillotined.
Madness. Now become an online fight between PAP supporters and OPP supporters... can we stop the angst for now or not? Don't make your vote one out of anger, it won't help you or any one.
Btw, to answer TS-
I'm voting for PAP. AMK GRC here.
Reason:
No complaints with the way they are running this area. Not sick, eat medicine for what? And also to be frank, I am not comfortable with letting a 23 year old financial advisor (1 year younger than me, and that at this age we have no life experience at all or ability to understand what people want or need at this level) or the rest in the contesting team say what's best for amk and the next 5 years of my life or for my family. No way.
That is your choice. Went to amk flat, think no clean, urine smell, don't look clean.
It is healthy discussion of argument, no worry, it will not lead to world war three. No comments and feedback PAP will not improve.
Originally posted by shanfan:That is your choice. Went to amk flat, think no clean, urine smell, don't look clean.
It is healthy discussion of argument, no worry, it will not lead to world war three. No comments and feedback PAP will not improve.
I'm not worried. I am not even going to bother arguing with you. lol. No point. Not going to change my mind and vote for opp just because you tell me about the hygiene level of a flat that you saw in amk. Like as if all flats in amk are dirty.
Originally posted by killtheink:I'm not worried. I am not even going to bother arguing with you. lol. No point. Not going to change my mind and vote for opp just because you tell me about the hygiene level of a flat that you saw in amk. Like as if all flats in amk are dirty.
Didn't I tell you it is your choice in my last post? I merely stated what I saw there.
I know PAP supporters are all getting nervous and very worried now. They are now posting in forums to talk positively about PAP and some even ask forumers to vote for them. Like you, we have our choice to make.
Will vote for whoever that is for the good of the country and people. If PAP is I will vote for them.
Originally posted by killtheink:Madness. Now become an online fight between PAP supporters and OPP supporters... can we stop the angst for now or not? Don't make your vote one out of anger, it won't help you or any one.
Btw, to answer TS-
I'm voting for PAP. AMK GRC here.
Reason:
No complaints with the way they are running this area. Not sick, eat medicine for what? And also to be frank, I am not comfortable with letting a 23 year old financial advisor (1 year younger than me, and that at this age we have no life experience at all or ability to understand what people want or need at this level) or the rest in the contesting team say what's best for amk and the next 5 years of my life or for my family. No way.
And some child prodigies can produce the best music the world ever heard. Not to mention derive mathematical proofs which can be applied to science.
Is youth a disadvantage or is being old a disadvantage?
Originally posted by shanfan:
Didn't I tell you it is your choice in my last post? I merely stated what I saw there.I know PAP supporters are all getting nervous and very worried now. They are now posting in forums to talk positively about PAP and some even ask forumers to vote for them. Like you, we have our choice to make.
Will vote for whoever that is for the good of the country and people. If PAP is I will vote for them.
Ohyeah. I know they are worried and nervous, they should be, given how intimidating opp supporters are. No one's going to know the result until polling day. If people wanna vote for opp, it's totally fine. Then if the opp screw something up, or don't do a good job, vote PAP back in again in 5 years time lorrrr.
Originally posted by nfshp253:I'll vote for PAP when I'm of age to do so. What I'm seeing is opposition parties are trying to gain only voters from the low-income group. They are the ones who are concerned about this rising cost of living and lost of employment opportunities. I'm sorry, if you are low-skilled and lowly-paid, you will forever be trapped in that vicious cycle unless you go for skills upgrading. No company would be willing to pay more to hire locals because foreigners are cheaper and of the same quality. Accept that fact. The argument on rising prices of HDB flats is unfounded since the usual people complaining about high prices are young couples. Are you expecting to afford a house before 35? Are you insane? And the reason why not many HDB flats have been constructed in the last 10 years is because many new condos and BTO flats have sprung up. See where the demand has shifted to? To be honest, I don't see a problem with the rising inflation costs. Don't people have money they should have saved for rainy days to pay for that incremental increase? The worst thing is SDP's robin hood style of distributing wealth. Are we communist? I'm not going to pay $2000 every month in taxes to help some lazy ass who only has primary school education. I'm sorry, people should fend for themselves. Time waits for no man and so does society.
I don't know just WTF is wrong with everyone? I have benefitted most of PAP's policies and I don't see why you haven't. Stop complaining about nothing and instead consider the many things the current government has done for you. Ask yourself, are you voting for the opposition because you trust that they will do a better job than PAP, or out of curiosity or just to get some random opposition party member into Parliament to sprout nonsense like killing the manufacturing industry that contributes around one quarter of our GDP?
The rich Singaporean is the worse.
You pay GST 7% for anything you buy, more income tax, COE, road tax, property tax, ERP, company tax and more.Seriously, how much money do you pay to the governement per annum.
Then...
Buy a BMW and ferrari, but can get stucked on the road, crawl like snail everyday. Can they just build another PIE?
No bus to the private housing estate and have walk kilometres to the nearest busstop or mrt.
Do they upgrade the private housing estate with upgrading program?
Thomson road and Bukit Timah is still flooded.
Buy a car with high COE, but no place to park at the house.
Share & grow?
Actually the goverment take them most of the rich but give back less. I salute the rich for providing for us poor people.
I voting opp party.
I dun like what I am about to do to my vote but I suppose my 1 vote is insignificant.
Voting for the oppositions to secure places in parliament seems decent as our voices should echo in the palace of the PAP. But voting incompetent oppositions into parliament is unprincipled.
Heroes are shaped on elements of contingency and the change has been long due. I sincerely hope that my 1 vote for the opposition would encourage more capable and ethical oppositions to come forward to lead us in time to come.
My thanks to those men and women who have put themselves selflessly into making Singapore a better place for the sake of our children and a place that we can truly so call HOME.
I will vote for change. There are just way too many foreigners and newly converted PR in singapore. They threaten our livelihood. I got one friend who worked at her company for 5 years.
She suddenly was asked to go because her immediate superior is from china and her superior went to hire all chinese from china!!!
Originally posted by FirePig:She suddenly was asked to go because her immediate superior is from china and her superior went to hire all chinese from china!!!
If everything in Singapore is controlled by PRCs, then what is left for Singaporeans in Singapore?
PAP is the cause of all this trouble.![]()
Originally posted by killtheink:Ohyeah. I know they are worried and nervous, they should be, given how intimidating opp supporters are. No one's going to know the result until polling day. If people wanna vote for opp, it's totally fine. Then if the opp screw something up, or don't do a good job, vote PAP back in again in 5 years time lorrrr.
OK, if that is the way you are thinking. From what some people and I see is that as long as PAP exists they will base on their agenda of moneymaking as top priority to squeeze cents and dollars out of us.
Originally posted by Wild Ice:I dun like what I am about to do to my 1 vote but I suppose my vote is insignificant.
Voting for the oppositions to secure places in parliament seems decent as our voices should echo in the palace of the PAP.
But voting a sleazy opposition into parliament is unprincipled and against my conscious.
I truly hope that my 1 vote for that sleazy opposition would encourage more capable and ethical people to come forward to lead us in time to come.
My thanks to those men and women who have put themselves selflessly into making Singapore a better place for the sake of our children and a place that we can truly call HOME.
PS this post was banned 4 times with my account
Not surprised you post was banned 4 times. My post was changed to other message and my nick still remains. Think this sgf is scary and is very pro PAP.
The demographics of Singapore has changed radically in the last few years due to the PAP’s open-door policy to immigration. All of sudden, the floodgates were flung opened to foreigners from all over the world without any discrimination or quality control, making some Singaporeans feel like strangers in their own country.
The mainstream media is full of reports of construction workers, cleaners, masseurs, nursery teachers and even freelance prostitutes being given Singapore PR and citizenship.
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong used the examples of a PRC bus driver and chambermaid in his recent National Day Rally to highlight the “contributions” of these newcomers.
A Wall Street Journal editorial in January reported that the relentless influx of foreigners has depressed the wages of ordinary Singaporeans, increased the cost of living and led to an overall decline in the standard of living.
Foreigners provide a ready source of cheap labor which reduce labor costs thereby inflating GDP growth artificially in the process. A certain percentage of the PAP ministers’ multi-million dollar salary package is pegged to GDP growth – the higher the figures, the more money they bring home.
They also provide more votes for the PAP regime as immigrants tend to vote for the incumbent, a fact not lost about the PAP regime as it has been actively recruiting PRs and new citizens into its Youth Wing and grassroots organizations.
The next general election may be the last window of opportunity for native Singaporeans to reclaim ownership of their country after which they will surely be overwhelmed by the hordes of foreigners the PAP regime is mass importing to replace them.
Voting opposition will ensure the future of Sinkapore remains intact, voting PAP will destroy this country, it will become a race to be the utimate rich.
It would be useless to be rich, it have to be super rich.
Not condos, but landed houses,
Not cars but a fleet of Bentley,
Not resturants but hired chef with a team of kitchen staff,
Not an owner of a company but owner of MNCs,
Not just hobnobbing with political figures but influencing poltical figures' thoughts to ensure own companies advantages.
Not just money but obscene amount of money.
Greed is for the super rich.
Survival for the rich
Death for the poor.
i want some WP memebers to be in parliament. that's why i hope aljunies with be a bloody fight. as for AMK really the hippos are not trying - or cannot even try i guess. ![]()
http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/2011/05/property-values-and-your-choice-of.html#links
This is one of the best write ups I have read so far for this election.
Read it. ![]()
wow!
i wonder if there is a pro-pap version of that...
Vote for the opposition. There must be some checks and balances in the parliament.
You dont want to end up in the situation where the no of foreigners outnumber the number of singaporeans in the future.
Vote for change!
If disatisfied with opposition, you can always vote back pap in 5 yrs' time.
thats y one needs to be critical of the opposition as well
Speaking to reporters during a visit to Tampines on Friday night, MM Lee said, "If Aljunied decides to go that way, well Aljunied has five years to live and repent."