Originally posted by Honeybunz:side track a bit, I suspect his Fengshui Master told him pink and red are his lucky colours. We all notice that he wears red/pink shirt or tie pretty often. Maybe his bazi lack fire or something.
CAO AQUA
Originally posted by Honeybunz:What has caused Desmond Choo to lose?
Apart from LTK's all time popularity in the constituency, Desmond's defeat was attributed by:
1) the harping on NCMP issue
As Dr Tan Cheng Bok has shared in his facebook "Desmond tried hard but his attempt was distracted and dampened by the NCMP issue."
2) mainstream media bias.
How often did they report on what Desmond Choo wanted to do, his policy etc, as compared to their day and night reporting of TCH's allegation?
As reported in Today, "While Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean has questioned the integrity of Mr Choo's opponent, Mr Png Eng Huat, Mr Choo reiterated that he is focused on his own campaign." But how many ppl paid attention to that? Can't blame the ppl cuz the mainstream media kept echoing what TCH alleged and reported on WP's response to the allegation. The whole media reporting in this episode made Desmond look like a calefare. As such, this has not been a good, clean fight that Desmond has wanted.
Somebody ought to stay at home today to do some soul searching and the person is not Desmond nor Png.
If they had not harped on the ncmp issue, i think the votes could have been 50-50.
But as usual, they decided to use the tactics that people hate to sabo thrmselves. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:If they had not harped on the ncmp issue, i think the votes could have been 50-50.
But as usual, they decided to use the tactics that people hate to sabo thrmselves.
Well it's hard when your supporting casts play outside your script.
perhaps when he goes back to office and summon an urgent meeting....he may yell...."Whose idea was it about personal integrity?"...next time think carefully before u propose up to me...
Overseas votes.... the most concern one for both WP and PAP...
Originally posted by Fcukpap:perhaps when he goes back to office and summon an urgent meeting....he may yell...."Whose idea was it about personal integrity?"...next time think carefully before u propose up to me...
The Old Man lah. You think he stayed out completely.
Originally posted by Fcukpap:perhaps when he goes back to office and summon an urgent meeting....he may yell...."Whose idea was it about personal integrity?"...next time think carefully before u propose up to me...
Will there be another Hilter video like the one they produced after GE2011?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMwTykxLEBw&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Originally posted by charlize:If they had not harped on the ncmp issue, i think the votes could have been 50-50.
But as usual, they decided to use the tactics that people hate to sabo thrmselves.
Some ppl think they very smart. Now backfire lor and the whole nation and all netizens are laughing at them. LTK, Png Ah Huat and all at WP are probably chuckling in their sleep.
They also hv the media to thank. Their blatant bias and eagerness to pls the govt party has swung some votes over to WP.
These players fail to understand that their audience and voters ate no illiterate kampung Kia. We hear, read, observe and research. One sided reporting probably worked in 3rd word country. Here we observe and we question. The mainstream media ought to find other ways to Por the govt, now that there tactic to Por has backfired on their god.
Only 1 word to them: Orbigood
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Some ppl think they very smart. Now backfire lor and the whole nation and all netizens are laughing at them. LTK, Png Ah Huat and all at WP are probably chuckling in their sleep.
They also hv the media to thank. Their blatant bias and eagerness to pls the govt party has swung some votes over to WP.
These players fail to understand that their audience and voters ate no illiterate kampung Kia. We hear, read, observe and research. One sided reporting probably worked in 3rd word country. Here we observe and we question. The mainstream media ought to find other ways to Por the govt, now that there tactic to Por has backfired on their god.
Only 1 word to them: Orbigood
You so smart. ![]()
Originally posted by Itedino:I hate PAP. WHy the NCMP ballot was leaked out> COS PAP Plant SPY inside Worker's Party. They are really very dirty. Do not deserve to wear White. Should wear Black. Khaw and Teo are making a lot of stupid noise. Be Gentleman. Annouce how u going to serve and what you want to do. Be genuine.
Singaporean Are not STUPID> ALl at least got ITE ceft. F PAP. 2016. Opposition rise.
Hating the party and hating the policies PAP drafted are two things.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Well it's hard when your supporting casts play outside your script.
Really u know...
Sometime they might have a better chance if the top dun comment things like simi "HDB upgrade go to own party", or "repent" blah blah blah... self sabo from the top~ ![]()
Of coz the "choosing a wife" sentence is a suicide for him... Really, they shld learn to stop using funny analogy ![]()
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
Really u know...Sometime they might have a better chance if the top dun comment things like simi "HDB upgrade go to own party", or "repent" blah blah blah... self sabo from the top~
Of coz the "choosing a wife" sentence is a suicide for him... Really, they shld learn to stop using funny analogy
I can imagine people going to someone's grave and shout "Repent" or worse.
Really u know...Sometime they might have a better chance if the top dun comment things like simi "HDB upgrade go to own party", or "repent" blah blah blah... self sabo from the top~
Of coz the "choosing a wife" sentence is a suicide for him... Really, they shld learn to stop using funny analogy
HOUGANG BY-ELECTION
WP wins 62.1%
Party chief low quick to challenge PM to show sincerity by approving upgrading
Lydia Lim
Deputy Political Editor
The Workers' Party won its sixth straight election in Hougang yesterday with 62.1 per cent of valid votes cast.
It was a strong showing by its candidate Png Eng Huat, whose winning margin was just three percentage points lower than the party's best of 64.8 per cent in last May's general election.
WP chief Low Thia Khiang went on the offensive after the results were announced at 10.30pm, challenging Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to show his sincerity in building an inclusive society by approving estate upgrading for Hougang.
The Aljunied-Hougang Town Council had put up Hougang town for the Neighbourhood Renewal Programme and Home Improvement Programme, he said, and the National Development Ministry had yet to give its decision.An opposition ward for 21 years, the single-member constituency has been at the end of the upgrading queue.
In a statement last night, the Prime Minister said the People's Action Party had offered Hougang voters a chance for a fresh start and he was disappointed that its man, Mr Desmond Choo, did not win.
Adding that he respected the voters' choice, he said the PAP would continue to be present in Hougang, and he was confident it would win back the ward in future.
Hougang voters' loyalty to the WP was on show at several coffeeshops, where supporters gathered to await the result over food and drinks.
Hundreds thronged the coffeeshop at Block 322, Hougang AvenueS, and filled the air with chants of "Huat ah (prosper) Low Thia Khiang and WP".
The by-election was called because Mr Low's handpicked successor, Mr Yaw Shin Leong, lost his seat in Parliament and left Singapore after being expelled by the party amid allegations of infidelity.
Though he won the backing of Hougang voters yesterday, Mr Low was clearly angry at aspects of the campaign. He accused the PAP of resuming election tactics it had employed in decades past, such as "character assassinations" and "distractions".
He also accused the mainstream media of once again becoming a "political tool of the PAP" in the by-election.
Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean responded to Mr Low's comments, which were televised live from the WP headquarters in Syed Alwi Road. He said he was surprised that Mr Low spoke about character assassination.
"If there was any of that, I think it came from contradictions within his own party. And if there is anything that Mr Low wants to take up, he is free to take it up further, through legal action , even, if he feels that it's necessary," Mr Teo said.
During the campaign, Mr Teo raised questions about Mr Png's integrity after the latter gave conflicting accounts of whether his name was on the ballot when the WP selected a Non-Constituency MP.
Mr Teo also responded to Mr Low's charge that the Government had denied upgrading programmes to wards like Hougang that supported the opposition.
"The upgrading project is going ahead, and we have always said that Hougang residents will get their upgrading, and I think that they will," said Mr Teo.
Political observers yesterday had mixed reactions to the WP's winning margin in its stronghold.
Assistant Professor Reuben Wong of the National University of Singapore said he had expected the gap to be narrower. He said that Mr Desmond Choo started out as an underdog but interventions by PAP leaders led to the WP taking back the "underdog mantle".
Dr Derek da Cunha said the result showed that "it is extremely difficult to shift the vote significantly in any direction, especially when it comes to a contest between the PAP and what is perceived to be a Workers' Party that is moderate and, therefore, considered a very worthy opponent by the electorate".
The Results
2012 2011
WP 13,447 (62.1%) 14,833 (64.8%)
PAP 8,210 (37.9%) 8,053 (35.2%)
Spoilt votes 294 261
Total votes 21,951 23,147
The Sunday Times, May 27 2012
He side stepped wrong and the rest of the cast went further off the stage.
But it looks like TCH and DC attacked very hard, and LTK and PEH defending all the time.
And still win like a walk over.
Originally posted by mancha:But it looks like TCH and DC attacked very hard, and LTK and PEH defending all the time.
And still win like a walk over.
Upgrade= need the GR Advisor to approve it....see always need PAP to approve then can do...so what for?
see always need PAP to approve then can do...so what for?
Only the end of PAP rule can solve the problem.
The present talent went into the house without any fight.
They dunno how to fight a election so can only use fear and threat to win.
If not, use the past mistakes of the other candidates to cast doubt on the voters.
The Opp are safe cos if there is any wrongdoing of their MPs, they do not hestiate to sack.
As for the talents, they better watch their back.
The Opp need to recruit more candidates and start exposing them all around Singapore for 2016.
I think time for strategy talk again for GE 2016.
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:I think time for strategy talk again for GE 2016.
Skali PAP gerrymander again 2016.
WP will work with PAP to better Singapore: Low
By ANDREA ONG
DAY after emerging victorious in the Hougang by-election, the Workers' Party said it wants to move on and work with the People's Action Party to tackle important national issues.
WP chief Low Thia Khiang said he noted Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's call to Singaporeans late on Saturday to refocus on longer term issues and "work together as one people to achieve the best for Singapore".
Speaking to reporters yesterday morning, Mr Low said: "The WP will move on from this election and work together with the ruling party for the betterment of Singapore."
It was the opposition leader's way of explaining why he would not be taking up points raised by Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean during the by-election campaign, which Mr Low described on Saturday night as "character assassinations".
Mr Teo had questioned Mr Png Eng Huat's differing accounts of whether his name had been in the running when the WP picked a Non-Constituency MP last year.
On Saturday night, after the by-election results were announced, Mr Low and Mr Teo had an exchange through the media. It culminated in Mr Teo saying Mr Low was "free to take it up further, through legal action".
Last night, Mr Teo said at a community event that he hoped Mr Low would "move away from the combative tone that he took during the by-election and work in a constructive way with the Government".
In another sign the WP chief did not want to "let the by-election topics continue to trouble us", he said yesterday there would be no witch-hunt to find the party member who had feaked internal documents to the media.
Instead, he highlighted several national issues that the WP would be keeping an eye on.
These include the high cost of living, in particular, the prices of electricity and certificates of entitlement, the productivity drive and its effectiveness in raising pay for low-wage workers, and adjustments to foreign worker inflows and their impact on small and medium-sized enterprises and wages at the bottom.
In Hougang, Mr Low said the WP's priority is to improve the estate for residents as that was one of Mr Png's election promises.
The National Solidarity Party and a group led by former civil servant Benjamin Pwee congratulated the WP on its victory.
The Straits Times, May 28,2012