I REFER to Mr Murali Sharma's Forum Online letter, "Firms should take cue from Han's" (May 6), and would like to give my take from the hiring experience of my brother-in-law's F&B business.
My brother-in-law is able to operate his two foodcourts daily without much manpower disruption because he has a few foreign workers who are willing to do menial jobs.
Most local workers hired to do such jobs are not likely to possess the same positive working attitudes.
The public's disquiet over employers preferring to hire foreigners over Singaporeans because the former are cheaper is a misplaced conception. This is because there are hidden costs such as worker's levy, food and lodging, medical and insurance fees which employers will have to bear. When such hidden costs are added up, the total can be close or equivalent to the salary of a local worker.
Foreign workers keep our estates clean, tend to our sick, get us around in our public transport system, build our HDB flats, and do the dirty jobs in our shipyards, docks, container ports and so on. If we did not have them to take up jobs in these sectors, how would we be able to achieve world-class status for our health and transport systems, public housing, hospitals and port?
Finally, unskilled or low-skilled foreign workers do not take jobs away from Singaporeans. How can the jobs be snatched away when they are jobs that Singaporeans have shunned in the first place?
Priscilla Poh (Ms)
Wow, i'm surprised we still have ignorant idiots in modern, well connected singapore. Who says we have gripes abt the menial job foreign workers? Haha, ask an unemployed PMET and you may get a very good answer.
elitist approach?
how can locals shunned banking, accounting, finance, call centre jobs leh? foreigners were hired because their wages are much lower as compared to the locals. is it a case of locals shunning jobs in these industries?
if a bank hire a local to staff their call centre at $2,000. If they can hire a foreigner at a salary of $1200, that is $800 cost savings for them.
brainless bugger that talk cock and sings only
it is the f****** low pay that made people shun the job
ya la, wrong to blame foreigners lah. Blame goes to the govt for encouraging them here. Govt does not care about the ricebowl of the nation and to meet their own agenda they allow and invite all these foreigners to work here.
Evil.
You pay me 3K per month I also want to be road sweeper.
The letter tells that Prisicilla did not find out facts before writing a stupid letter that reflects her stupidity and unkindness to the nation.
Very stupid for her to say that foreigners keep our estates clean. She seems retarded to know that we have singaporean cleaners who also keep the estates clean. Those jobs she said foreigners are working as have Singaporeans doing them.
Stupid Priscilla is simply much ado about nothing.
Originally posted by hasene:Very stupid for her to say that foreigners keep our estates clean. She seems retarded to know that we have singaporean cleaners who also keep the estates clean. Those jobs she said foreigners are working as have Singaporeans doing them.
I thought these foreigners are the ones who DIRTIED Singapore in the first place?
And seriously, their cleaning skills is not so good. How would you expect someone from a dirty country with no sense of cleanliness ensuring your place is clean?
Originally posted by kench-an:
I thought these foreigners are the ones who DIRTIED Singapore in the first place?And seriously, their cleaning skills is not so good. How would you expect someone from a dirty country with no sense of cleanliness ensuring your place is clean?
Yes, they are bad in their cleaning skill. Instead of cleaning the outside of the HDB flat, they dirtied it by staining the glass with brown stains. Sickening!
The problem with no being able to hire Singaporean workers is the wages too low, that's why no Singaporeans want to work. ![]()
If the hawker cannot afford to pay higher wages for Singaporean workers, perhaps the PAP government can step in to subsidize the Singaporean workers instead of importing cheap substitutes from 3rd world countries. ![]()
What's the point of having a stuffed up royal coffer while your citizens are having problems making ends meet? ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:
The problem with no being able to hire Singaporean workers is the wages too low, that's why no Singaporeans want to work.
If the hawker cannot afford to pay higher wages for Singaporean workers, perhaps the PAP government can step in to subsidize the Singaporean workers instead of importing cheap substitutes from 3rd world countries.
What's the point of having a stuffed up royal coffer while your citizens are having problems making ends meet?
They are practising "you die your business" while taking so much money for their salary.
When i read articles such as this i like to find out who is Ms Priscilla Poh.....how old is Ms..Priscilla Poh? Is she married...Does she drives a Benz and have branded hand bags....: )
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Wow, i'm surprised we still have ignorant idiots in modern, well connected singapore. Who says we have gripes abt the menial job foreign workers? Haha, ask an unemployed PMET and you may get a very good answer.
You know what is frightening......alot of foreigners are calling into Singapore headhunter to look for jobs.
They range from the Netherland, Canada, the UK, Germany...New York....India, they all want to work in Singapore.
Actually job market is still pretty bad........the false picture the media paint to the world is that our economy has recovered and things are looking up.....
Alot of companies have opening position and kept it open for more than 6 months....they are holding off hiring....but in actual facts nobody know if this recovery is substainable.....
Bigger companies are still holding on to CASH...............
CASH....... is....... KING.
originally we were supposed to have a double dip recession but because interest rate remain to be extremely low and that push off the double dip recession. With the European bail up.....i do not see Asia could stand on its own.
sometimes, it is just written by some fathom writers
This Priscilla Poh disgraced the name Poh.
I thought Pohs were supposed to oppose PAP, like Chia Thye Poh?
they never steal our jobs lah, where got.
They robbed our jobs!
this priscilla poh must be a china bitch here to seduce singapore guys