lunch.
Back but have to do some shopping later.
At least the most sianz day is over.
Originally posted by Kawac151:At least the most sianz day is over.
It's Tillsday.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:It's Tillsday.
Suesday...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
Suesday...
Tills ringing in.
whaa... just now I went to eat lunch...
The person infront of me wanted to order chicken chop... Chicken chop in chinese is "Ji Pa" but I dunno why nowadays youngster like to prononce the "Pa" as "pai"(aka pai gu de pai)... So he said loudly in chinese: "Ji Pai yi ge~"
U have no idea how much internal injury I took becoz I "am chio" (hidden laugh)...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:whaa... just now I went to eat lunch...
The person infront of me wanted to order chicken chop... Chicken chop in chinese is "Ji Pa" but I dunno why nowadays youngster like to prononce the "Pa" as "pai"(aka pai gu de pai)... So he said loudly in chinese: "Ji Pai yi ge~"
U have no idea how much internal injury I took becoz I "am chio" (hidden laugh)...
So that's where you enjoy am chio when you know dialects.
I just hope I didn't hear that when I'm swallowing; otherwise all will blurt out.
bye.
shopping time.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:So that's where you enjoy am chio when you know dialects.
I just hope I didn't hear that when I'm swallowing; otherwise all will blurt out.
wha liew... nowadays some youngster also cannot pronounce chinese properly...
Simi "Ji Pai" sia~ heng although the food seller is chinalady, she understand and didn't slap him with the ladle...
Ji Pai hen hao chi
Achy legs.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:I ate dinner with 5 Taiwanese girls aged 24-29 just now.
I took them on to compare our Hokkien and their Hokkien, some of the findings I got from just now (tones omitted)
Mandarin: "ä¸€å †æ�±è¥¿" - "a pile of things"
Hokkien:
Me - Tsit Tu Mih KiaN or Tsit Bu Mih KiaN
Girl A - Tsit Tui Mih KiaN
Girl B - Tsit Tsuai Mih KiaNGirl A has exactly the same word pronounced as in Mandarin, whereas Girl B told me even she has not heard any other district use "Tsuai". Both of them from different parts of Kaohsiung
Mandarin: "一串香蕉" - "a bunch of bananas"
Hokkien:
Me - Tsit Pi Kin Tsio
Girl A, Girl B - Tsit KuaN Kin TsioTo me "KuaN" is not acceptable as a classifier for bananas, the correct classifier should be "Pi". "KuaN" should be used only to refer to "a bunch of grapes". You know what? When I asked them, their "Pi" becomes to refer to "a piece of banana" !
Mandarin: "一樓" - "first floor"
Hokkien:
Me - It Lau
Girl A - It Lau
Girl C - Tsit LauGirl A is from Kaohsiung and Girl C is from Taichung. Apparently, Girl C has a corrupted form of Hokkien which does not differentiate between the 2 forms of "ONE" that exist in Hokkien - "It Lau" means "first floor" whereas "Tsit Lau" means "one floor"
Mandarin: "削鉛ç†" - "to sharpen pencil"
Hokkien:
Me - Khau Ian Pit
Girl A - Xiao Qian Bi
Girl B - Khau Ian PitGirl A told me, her family has lost the ability of how to say "sharpen pencil" in Hokkien already and they substitute the Mandarin phrase when they talk about it
Mandarin: "駕車" - "to drive car"
Hokkien:
Me - HuaN Tshia
Girl A - Khui TshiaGirl A told me, "Khui Tshia" is for "drive a car" whereas "Sai Tshia" is for "drive a train". She has never heard of "HuaN"
Mandarin: "�在" - "now"
Hokkien:
Me - Tsit Tsun
Girl A, Girl B - Tsip Mak (more commonly used) or Tsit TsunGirl B told me "Tsip Mak" (<assimilated from "Tsit Bak") is more commonly used although they also understand "Tsit Tsun"
Mandarin - "蓋布袋" - "cover with sack"
Hokkien:
Me - Kham PO Te
Girl A, Girl B - Khan PO Teinitially Girl B said "Khan" but after I asked "what's Khan?" and explained it's the word for "cover", I told her I say "Kham" and then Girl B realised it and Girl A says she understands it but she told put much emphasis to it nowadays
Mandarin - "�一樣" - "not same"
Hokkien:
Me - Bo Sio Siang or Bo Sio Sang
Girl A - Bo KangGirl A says she understands "Bo Sio Siang" but rarely do she speak that form
Mandarin - "�/是/我��的發�語" - "the emphasizer for agreement"
Me - Hannor, Hannor
Girl A - HeN Lor HeN Lor*****
Conclusion:
Both Taiwanese Hokkien and Singapore Hokkien have lost some usage from their Ancestral Hokkien and is in the process of dilution from external influences
a lot of spoken Hokkien are influence by north even in the old days.
ya I know.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:ya I know.
how much is left of the original, I don't know.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:how much is left of the original, I don't know.
in absolute terms, we don't know.
in comparative terms with other dialects especially in terms of phonology, it is like that:
Hokkien / Teochew / Hainanese / Leichow being the most archaic in terms of preservation of Initial Consonants
Cantonese / Hakka (some) being the most archaic in terms of preservation of Final Consonants
Originally posted by Clivebenss:how much is left of the original, I don't know.
there will come the time the root will be eroded. All in China speaking Mandarin.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:a lot of spoken Hokkien are influence by north even in the old days.
FRankly, Hokkien is not easily learnt. One character can have many different pronunciation.
Originally posted by hasene:
FRankly, Hokkien is not easily learnt. One character can have many different pronunciation.
Unless you have the environment with all the folks around speaking that language or dialects, learning it as an outsider is always harder.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Unless you have the environment with all the folks around speaking that language or dialects, learning it as an outsider is always harder.
Best is learn from the original place. The character "dragon" in hokkien has 3 ways of pronunciation. Oh gosh!
I have heard the original hokkien from a hokkien from China, beautiful. Very clear and understandable. He is expert in the hokkien and spoke of some mistakes people made
Best is learn from the original place. The character "dragon" in hokkien has 3 ways of pronunciation. Oh gosh!I have heard the original hokkien from a hokkien from China, beautiful. Very clear and understandable. He is expert in the hokkien and spoke of some mistakes people made
It all depends much on the northern influence as well as the variations from the different groups in Fujian.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:It all depends much on the northern influence as well as the variations from the different groups in Fujian.
There are different types of hokkien. ay merng, tung wa, nam wa, ang kuay, jiao wan (is this hokkien?), confusing.
there are more but varying slight from the few main groups (I think Bangulzai know more) like Amoy, Chiangchew, Chuanchew and Chiao An.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:there are more but varying slight from the few main groups (I think Bangulzai know more) like Amoy, Chiangchew, Chuanchew and Chiao An.
Do the chiangchew, Chuanchew and Chiao An speak different types of hokkien?
okie, i shall cc this post to Bangulzai.
cc: Bangulzai
Do the chiangchew, Chuanchew and Chiao An speak different types of hokkien?
The Penang Malaysians are Chiangchew type, Chuanchew more in Philippines and Chiao An less common but markly different in tones, harder to understand.