Originally posted by Clivebenss:The Penang Malaysians are Chiangchew type, Chuanchew more in Philippines and Chiao An less common but markly different in tones, harder to understand.
Now I know what is Chiangchew\ hokkien. Khaw boon wan speaks that.
Originally posted by hasene:
Now I know what is Chiangchew\ hokkien. Khaw boon wan speaks that.
the lian he pang Hokkien.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:the lian he pang Hokkien.
What is this?
Frankly, I sometimes cannot stand the type of hokkien Taiwanese speak. I find the accent of ang kuay, nam wa, jiao wa rather not very nice.
Some hokkiens especially the Taiwanese and the nam wa called one day : zit kang. OMG! I cannot accept it, somemore with that kind of accent.
What is this?Frankly, I sometimes cannot stand the type of hokkien Taiwanese speak. I find the accent of ang kuay, nam wa, jiao wa rather not very nice.
Some hokkiens especially the Taiwanese and the nam wa called one day : zit kang. OMG! I cannot accept it, somemore with that kind of accent.
"lian he pang" = Malaysia.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:"lian he pang" = Malaysia.
The Taiwanese says "choot cay" for making mistake. May be it is just colloquial.
In singapore, we say "zho salah" "zho cho"
Best is learn from the original place. The character "dragon" in hokkien has 3 ways of pronunciation. Oh gosh!I have heard the original hokkien from a hokkien from China, beautiful. Very clear and understandable. He is expert in the hokkien and spoke of some mistakes people made
hi hasene
� in Hokkien has only 2 ways of pronunciation:
The vernacular: liŋ24 or liəŋ24 or leŋ24
The literary: liɔŋ24
The 3 types under "the vernacular" are regional variations that's all, so is considered one type
Originally posted by BanguIzai:hi hasene
� in Hokkien has only 2 ways of pronunciation:
The vernacular: liŋ24 or liəŋ24 or leŋ24
The literary: liɔŋ24
The 3 types under "the vernacular" are regional variations that's all, so is considered one type
VERy chim, I don't understand. I know the 3 pronunciation: long, leong , leng.
Thanks for your explanation
VERy chim, I don't understand. I know the 3 pronunciation: long, leong , leng.Thanks for your explanation
No worries. To be as accurate as possible, I chose to represent the sounds of Hokkien in the International Phonetic Alphabet.
There isn't a long pronunciation. If there is as you heard, it should be a corruption or influence from external sources and should not be treated as authentic Hokkien.
Do the chiangchew, Chuanchew and Chiao An speak different types of hokkien?okie, i shall cc this post to Bangulzai.
cc: Bangulzai
hi hasene
Clivebenss has already answer your question, and i just take off from there to elaborate that's all
Amoy Variety: 廈門,�安
ChiangChew Variety: 漳州,�海,�巖,長泰,�安,��,平和,漳浦,雲霄,�山
ChuanChew Variety: 泉州,晉江,石ç�…,å�—å®‰ï¼Œå®‰æºªï¼Œæƒ å®‰ï¼Œæ°¸æ˜¥ï¼Œå¾·åŒ–ï¼Œé‡‘é–€
ChiaoAn Variety: 詔安
Originally posted by BanguIzai:No worries. To be as accurate as possible, I chose to represent the sounds of Hokkien in the International Phonetic Alphabet.
There isn't a long pronunciation. If there is as you heard, it should be a corruption or influence from external sources and should not be treated as authentic Hokkien.
That is the problem we have in Singapore. In Singapore, Hokkien is mixed with other language like Malay and other dialects/Mandarin. I suppose the "long" is Mandarin.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:The Penang Malaysians are Chiangchew type, Chuanchew more in Philippines and Chiao An less common but markly different in tones, harder to understand.
Yes, Clivebenss, you are spot on, great experience that you have!
Penang Malaysians overlooking Medan on the other shore, together speaks the ChiangChew type
For Philippines Hokkien, I will list out the tones for your purview, as its tones sounds pretty much ChuanChew (more specifically ChinKang) variety
陰平 33 陽平 24 陰上 55 陽上 (not tested by me yet)
陰去 41 陽去 41 陰入 5 陽入 24
Why do I say more specifically it's similar to the ChinKang type of ChuanChew Hokkien is because of the absence of "ə" and "ɯ" vowels in Philippines Hokkien whereas those are commonly found in other ChuanChew variety of Hokkien
Singapore Hokkien is a hybrid of Amoy and ChuanChew varieties, with Amoy contributing to the tonal contours and tonal variety while ChuanChew contributing to the rime inventory
Taiwanese Hokkien was originally the Amoy variety in the 60's-70's into the ChiangChew variety after the 80's due to the original Amoy city dwelling inhabitants staying in Taipei giving up their Hokkien in favour of Mandarin and the prevalence of countryside ChiangChew speakers in South-Central Taiwan to the extent of influencing the mixed ChiangChew & ChuanChew areas in the South, becoming the current variety of Taiwanese Hokkien
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Yes, Clivebenss, you are spot on, great experience that you have!
Penang Malaysians overlooking Medan on the other shore, together speaks the ChiangChew type
For Philippines Hokkien, I will list out the tones for your purview, as its tones sounds pretty much ChuanChew (more specifically ChinKang) variety
陰平 33 陽平 24 陰上 55 陽上 (not tested by me yet)
陰去 41 陽去 41 陰入 5 陽入 24Why do I say more specifically it's similar to the ChinKang type of ChuanChew Hokkien is because of the absence of "ə" and "ɯ" vowels in Philippines Hokkien whereas those are commonly found in other ChuanChew variety of Hokkien
Singapore Hokkien is a hybrid of Amoy and ChuanChew varieties, with Amoy contributing to the tonal contours and tonal variety while ChuanChew contributing to the rime inventory
Taiwanese Hokkien was originally the Amoy variety in the 60's-70's into the ChiangChew variety after the 80's due to the original Amoy city dwelling inhabitants staying in Taipei giving up their Hokkien in favour of Mandarin and the prevalence of countryside ChiangChew speakers in South-Central Taiwan to the extent of influencing the mixed ChiangChew & ChuanChew areas in the South, becoming the current variety of Taiwanese Hokkien
Yes, I notice the dilution of Amoy Hokkien in Taipei from my younger relatives. They hardly can speak good Amoy like their parents.
In Indonesia, Hokkien almost extinct except in Medan and some of the Riau which is now almost speak like Teochew mixed in apart from Bahasa.
What is this?Frankly, I sometimes cannot stand the type of hokkien Taiwanese speak. I find the accent of ang kuay, nam wa, jiao wa rather not very nice.
hi hasene
For your information, "One Day" which is called "Tsit Kang" in Hokkien and the other languages related to Hokkien, is a common phenomenon.
Why do I say so?
In those divergent dialects in Fujian province you can find "蜀工" all over the place:
In Jian'Ou Dialect 建甌方言 there are proverbs using "xx工":
新開屎�三工興 seiŋ khyɛ si khaŋ saŋ kɔŋ xeiŋ
三工:三天白露秋分,一工凊似一工 pa su tshiu xɔŋ, tsi kɔŋ tsheiŋ su tsi kɔŋ
ä¸€å·¥ï¼šä¸€å¤©ç«‹æ˜¥ä¸ƒå·¥æ¨¹ç™¼èŠ½ï¼Œé©šèŸ„ä¸ƒå·¥æ¨¹ç®¬æ“ li tshœyÅ‹ tshi kɔŋ tshiu puÉ› Å‹a, keiÅ‹ ti tshi kɔŋ tshiu niÉ” tsa
七工:七天雨水�響雷,四��工天晴 xy sy tshiŋ xiɔŋ so, si si kiu kɔŋ thiŋ tsaŋ
四��工:四��天
In Fuzhou Dictionary �州方言詞典:
ã€�工】køyÅ‹ 一æ™�夜二å��å››å°�時的時間,有時專指白天:▲我去兩工會轉來 ▲工工都食肉,故講無è�œé£Ÿ
In Hokkien Dictionary 普通話閩�方言常用詞典:
ã€�工】kaÅ‹ 一個工人一個勞動日的工作:▲å�³é …工程需è¦�三å��å·¥
閩�方言大詞典:
�工】kaŋ 一整天的時間,多數�指白天:▲一月日�幾工? ▲伊一個月�25工。
ã€�工】kaÅ‹ é‡�詞,通常表示一個工作日:▲å�šä¸€å·¥æ‡å…©å·¥ã€‚
Even in Teochew you can find "蜀工" meaning One Day:
http://www.ispeakmin.com/bbs/viewthread.php?tid=5412
��】蜀工
�读音】che�k-kang
��义】一旦
ã€�近义è¯�】有工(Å-kang)
�例�】
CheÌ�k-kang lâi tsÅ khiă-khí ke --lân-kúi-jît li.
蜀工æ�¥å°±ä¼�èµ·åŠ é›¶å‡ æ—¥è€Œã€‚| 既然æ�¥äº†å°±å¤šä½�å‡ å¤©ã€‚
闽��闽东(�安)似乎都有把一天�一工的说法。
刘尧咨《说潮州è¯�》ä¸è®°è½½çš„府城è¯�说法有:
一工:一天。
个工:一个劳动力或劳动日。(按æ¤è¯´æ³•æ�阳亦有,但似乎å��å�‘于指劳动力)
é€�工(tâk-kang):æ¯�天,æ¯�个劳动日。如“é€�å·¥é€�æ�¥”。刘注明是“借闽”,æ„�为æ�¥è‡ªé—½å�—è¯ã€‚
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Yes, I notice the dilution of Amoy Hokkien in Taipei from my younger relatives. They hardly can speak good Amoy like their parents.
In Indonesia, Hokkien almost extinct except in Medan and some of the Riau which is now almost speak like Teochew mixed in apart from Bahasa.
Ya, I met before one Chinese Hokkien from Makassar, oso dunno Hokkien. Teochew is much better preserved, 2 Teochew from Batam and 1 Teochew from Pontianak, all can speak Teochew well. The Hakka from Aceh and another Hakka from Jakarta, all oso dunno Hakka. Oni used to know one Hakka from Jakarta who understands and speaks some Hakka.
gd morning.
Hi, peeps
usual morning lag....
speak english!
Originally posted by Hitman Terminator:speak english!
??
Originally posted by Clivebenss:??
what do you prefer to speak?
Originally posted by Clivebenss:??
Just ignore him.
Originally posted by Kawac151:Just ignore him.
cool
Today weather hot. Surely sian one.
Originally posted by Kawac151:Today weather hot. Surely sian one.
yup