HAs the Govt done anything to give a better life to normal, simple Singaporean? It's not about issues such as lift upgrades and building a nice garden nearby. It did help to beautify the environment, but does it benefit ALL people directly? Definitely to some like the older people, etc. But there are other issues that the Govt has not been focusing on. Like the working class or younger generation, people who do not earn huge amt of $ but still decent enough.
What the focus is, is on the current property price which has escalated soo crazily that it post alot of problem to alot of younger generation especially couples. Prices for a normal 4 Rm flat at decent locations such as Clementi, Commonwealth, Bishan, ,etc can cost up to more than half a million $!! People who wish to get marry and yet only started working for a couple years with combine income of $9k can't afford this kind of house at all! (It's not because of being picky about location, but sometimes work or family limit the choices) Especially for couples who do not have support from family, relatives or friends. Because to buy a simple house say at punggol or choa chu kang is around 300k to 400k... and you have to fork out cash of down payment maybe min $30k + depleting all your CPF $. Then you'll have to have more cash to renovate, buy all the furnitures and pay for utility. Subsequent years, you have to have even more cash because you want to have babies. Of cos there is this beautiful thing call 'Installment', which can turn out to be ugly if u're unlucky to have other commitments like medical, or some unpredictable situation. Not everyone will have this kind of cash on hand to start with. This kind of tight and rigid budget really turns off lotsa couples. And people will decide to work and save enough till everything is in an affordable-comfort level, which by then, everyone will have grown old and decides to have only one baby or none. Or maybe people will just migrate out to other countries. This is definitely contradicting with what the Govt's campaign of promoting marriage and birth rates. Is the Govt trying to attract the rich whether Singaprean or foriegner, and segregate them with the not so rich? They should do more on property prices than just auctioning more land for developers. Cos the developers can purchase the land, yet hold back the constructions and ultimately squeeze the housing supply (by building slower) and continue to push up the price of houses! And the taxation on 2nd home or rentals is only like a small itch, because people who are able to have house for rent or 2nd home are people who are damn rich! or speculating only. This people whether Singaporean or foreigners, can just step into the showroom and buy 1 or 2 house on the spot like buying cars. This is a big problem that somehow the Govt did not spot!
Is this why the Govt extend the retirement age of working classes?? On fear that people will default on their housing loan payment???
The Govt should do more to solve this financial cum social issue. If they can pull down the price like 10%-20% within a couple month's time, maintain it, maintain the normal income then it's bravo and claps for them... if not, it's just *sighs and maybe disappointment...
Originally posted by Juzathought:People who wish to get marry and yet only started working for a couple years with combine income of $9k can't afford this kind of house at all!
halo peng yew, combine income of $9K can't afford??!!!
You buying 5-room condo in Orchard area ah??
there are ppl whom combine income last than 2.5k hor.....
U're definitely out of the market.. go do your research before you commend.. 5 rm condo in Orchard? u'r underestimating the developers!
sorry, is *comment... anyway, the whole point is about the property price and how high it is now.
wait later angel 7030 come in, then you know
what would the price of BTO, resale flats be, when we have a population of 6 - 6.5 million - i cannot imagine the price at that time
this explain why we have a low birth rate - high cost of living not high std of living
my case - i cannot even used my own mediasave to pay dental (gum treatment)
left untreated few years down the road it develop into heart disease only then can i used my mediasave
wow lah mediasave is it for show
http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/402800
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:halo peng yew, combine income of $9K can't afford??!!!
You buying 5-room condo in Orchard area ah??
there are ppl whom combine income last than 2.5k hor.....
hello peng yew...
i went to see a 4-room flat at Clementi...
the price with COV included was $640k
i am not kidding...
combined income of around $9k
can afford provided we wipe out our bank accounts to pay for the COV.. and then we wipe out our CPF and pay them from there for the next 15 years...
then we need to renovate the place too.. because it wasn't that good, the plaster on the wall is cracking and the windows don't look that stable anymore...
then we need to buy furniture...
after the COV, where to get from?
btw.. COV being asked was $80k
and this is a 4-room flat hor... not some big 5-room flat...
Originally posted by Disman:
What has spore gov done for me?
http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/402800
If you are leaving Singapore, where will you go?!
you can stop looking at the extreme idiots like the hitman for inspiration.. look to the median.. it's already bad enough and gives you more credibility
Originally posted by the Bear:
hello peng yew...i went to see a 4-room flat at Clementi...
the price with COV included was $640k
i am not kidding...
combined income of around $9k
can afford provided we wipe out our bank accounts to pay for the COV.. and then we wipe out our CPF and pay them from there for the next 15 years...
then we need to renovate the place too.. because it wasn't that good, the plaster on the wall is cracking and the windows don't look that stable anymore...
then we need to buy furniture...
after the COV, where to get from?
btw.. COV being asked was $80k
and this is a 4-room flat hor... not some big 5-room flat...
how many yrs
These days, if you wanna live it up, the minimum is $15k combined couple's income. $10k would be comfortable. $5k would be a stinge here and there. $2.5k would be eat yourself when you retire.
TS
I like your subject header maybe you can tell MBT he needs to cut his salary.....
I think this is what singaporean are saying all along......
If you increase price of HDB to the point of eating into family budget how on Earth are they going to have babies
Hey guys, TS said earning a combine income of 9k got problems buying house, regardless 4 Room or 5 Room, have you guys consider combined income of less than 2.5k or not? These ppl buy lan jiao ah?
Frankly speaking, i'm one of these ppl.....
hdb ceiling for combine income should be sing 8k
i can tell you in another forum
if you never earn 5 figure monthly salary at a certain - you are damn loser to that group of people
hope recession like 1997 happen again - only then those group of people would wake up their fucking ideas
some even mention without a degree you forever a loser cannot earn a lot of money
this world is really full of these type pf people
some mention you must be thankful that there is a roof (hdb flat) for you to stay
those fuckers forgot here everything you had to pay and pay and pay unless you are damn rich - different story
the fuckers there thought here everything is foc
here, one's status is gauge by the amt of money that you are able to earn
no wonder 4500 singaporean migrate to NZ
no wonder
The income ceiling of $8k i believe is for buying first hand house.. for resale flats, income above $8k still can buy, you just go to the bank and borrow, payment by installment. The bank will suck your blood every year with their high interest rate after the 1st 2 years... Hopefully when u're preparing to retire, you still have something left to survive on, if not, U follow what the Govt says - extend your retirement plan.
rich can shake leg
ok ok work until you drop dead
Actually I think the income ceiling of 8k is too low
Like those people who bought the Boon Keng Flats?
I wonder how are they going to service their loan especially I think the 5 rooms were like 700k plus
HDB flats are just over-priced these days (though it doesn't affect me but still ... -_-")
I'm in a similar situation now.. really frustrated with the government.. not gonna vote for them in the coming elections.
singaporeans generally can earn enough to live a normal life. UNLESS YOU HAVE KIDS .
one kid now costs $1m to rear until university. and the costs will only go up in the near future
even as singapore pulls out of recession i think the birth rates will continue to be dismal.
too much workplace instability still lingering from the recession. chinese are a thrifty race. and this newer generation are not so into the confucious family stuff anymore
thats the price the government paid for its success. in the 80s and 90s they were punishing parents who had more than 2 children.
no wonder singaporeans not having kids now. except a certain race ahem... haha
some people single income more 8 k or 9 k sing salary per month
some 5 figure
new citizen, pr, etc are the who push up the prices of hdb flats
a long time ago... exec flat will only cost 400k+
knn with hdb prizes like that now, limpeh dowan marry liao la
some one said it's affordable
Originally posted by Disman:hdb ceiling for combine income should be sing 8k
i can tell you in another forum
if you never earn 5 figure monthly salary at a certain - you are damn loser to that group of people
hope recession like 1997 happen again - only then those group of people would wake up their fucking ideas
some even mention without a degree you forever a loser cannot earn a lot of money
this world is really full of these type pf people
some mention you must be thankful that there is a roof (hdb flat) for you to stay
those fuckers forgot here everything you had to pay and pay and pay unless you are damn rich - different story
the fuckers there thought here everything is foc
don't worry the debt crisi isn't over it is moving around and will come to asia....how asia withstand currency sell off is yet to be tested. Pls continue to buy high price and choked up huge debt i like to see how things work out in 2011.
just read saturday paper so many property agent......there are probably more property agent in singapore than avilable flat to sell...........
i already see pocket of empty private apartment here and there.
And not to say that there are older apartment that was built in early 2000 that still need to rent out....for desperate reason they rent out to foreign workers.
How to let the Govt know the concerns and worries building up? We can discuss at ends, but nothing will happen...