ha..ha..don't need to wait until the property price increase...birth rate drop by itself liao...so stressful living here...
Well, you would probably think very differently if you are an existing HDB owner or bought a flat before 2007.
besides the rising cost of HDBs.....for guys...the extra burden to relinquish half assets and put aside divorce/ maintenance/ legal fees to pay ex-wife (thanks to the lopsided system)....
haiz....said so many times liao....STAY SINGLE, take good care of yourself/ family and fuggzz as many sluts u want
Originally posted by binZ:Well, you would probably think very differently if you are an existing HDB owner or bought a flat before 2007.
not really.
Originally posted by binZ:Well, you would probably think very differently if you are an existing HDB owner or bought a flat before 2007.
then what?
you have an "asset" which is worth an inflated price but you cannot sell... because if you do, you will have to pay the inflated price for an alternative place to live...
LPPL isn't it?
while in the meantime, people who need a place to live get squeezed out
Originally posted by the Bear:
then what?you have an "asset" which is worth an inflated price but you cannot sell... because if you do, you will have to pay the inflated price for an alternative place to live...
LPPL isn't it?
asset inflation is an easy option but not a sound solution.
Originally posted by Juzathought:HAs the Govt done anything to give a better life to normal, simple Singaporean? It's not about issues such as lift upgrades and building a nice garden nearby. It did help to beautify the environment, but does it benefit ALL people directly? Definitely to some like the older people, etc. But there are other issues that the Govt has not been focusing on. Like the working class or younger generation, people who do not earn huge amt of $ but still decent enough.
What the focus is, is on the current property price which has escalated soo crazily that it post alot of problem to alot of younger generation especially couples. Prices for a normal 4 Rm flat at decent locations such as Clementi, Commonwealth, Bishan, ,etc can cost up to more than half a million $!! People who wish to get marry and yet only started working for a couple years with combine income of $9k can't afford this kind of house at all! (It's not because of being picky about location, but sometimes work or family limit the choices) Especially for couples who do not have support from family, relatives or friends. Because to buy a simple house say at punggol or choa chu kang is around 300k to 400k... and you have to fork out cash of down payment maybe min $30k + depleting all your CPF $. Then you'll have to have more cash to renovate, buy all the furnitures and pay for utility. Subsequent years, you have to have even more cash because you want to have babies. Of cos there is this beautiful thing call 'Installment', which can turn out to be ugly if u're unlucky to have other commitments like medical, or some unpredictable situation. Not everyone will have this kind of cash on hand to start with. This kind of tight and rigid budget really turns off lotsa couples. And people will decide to work and save enough till everything is in an affordable-comfort level, which by then, everyone will have grown old and decides to have only one baby or none. Or maybe people will just migrate out to other countries. This is definitely contradicting with what the Govt's campaign of promoting marriage and birth rates. Is the Govt trying to attract the rich whether Singaprean or foriegner, and segregate them with the not so rich? They should do more on property prices than just auctioning more land for developers. Cos the developers can purchase the land, yet hold back the constructions and ultimately squeeze the housing supply (by building slower) and continue to push up the price of houses! And the taxation on 2nd home or rentals is only like a small itch, because people who are able to have house for rent or 2nd home are people who are damn rich! or speculating only. This people whether Singaporean or foreigners, can just step into the showroom and buy 1 or 2 house on the spot like buying cars. This is a big problem that somehow the Govt did not spot!
Is this why the Govt extend the retirement age of working classes?? On fear that people will default on their housing loan payment???
The Govt should do more to solve this financial cum social issue. If they can pull down the price like 10%-20% within a couple month's time, maintain it, maintain the normal income then it's bravo and claps for them... if not, it's just *sighs and maybe disappointment...
Stupid man, soon there is not going to be any more Singaporeans left, the whole island will be inhabited by rich foreigners from the middle east and PRC people. All the original inhabitants beh tahan, all leave to go to greenier pastures in the United States and Canada becuase nobody can afford to buy a house. House??? If I can afford a house, I damn rich lar.
Birth rates will fall because every average family will have one or two kids, as an apmt unit only have limited rooms.
PAP wants to turn Singapore into glitzy high price property area like NewYork Manhattan.
Originally posted by Juzathought:The income ceiling of $8k i believe is for buying first hand house.. for resale flats, income above $8k still can buy, you just go to the bank and borrow, payment by installment. The bank will suck your blood every year with their high interest rate after the 1st 2 years... Hopefully when u're preparing to retire, you still have something left to survive on, if not, U follow what the Govt says - extend your retirement plan.
Singapore interest rate actually quite low wor.....?
Although now resale is abit ex lar that I agree. But just wait abit for it cool lor.
Or if you are a couple.... 1 of you quit then apply for HDB and go back work after that is also a viable option.
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by the Bear:
then what?you have an "asset" which is worth an inflated price but you cannot sell... because if you do, you will have to pay the inflated price for an alternative place to live...
LPPL isn't it?
K lar this is a valid point. Which is what I believe alot would be angry over.
Basically worker ant drones working for 99 year lease ... I also agree garment should look into it.
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by longGe:Anyone facing the same dilemma as me?
Going to get married in 2 years time but do not have a roof over your head because
- BTO must wait 3-5years
- Resale flat f*uking expensive
I think many quah..... U shld be lucky U even got the BTO :)
I kenna BTO only to find out cannot take it haiz....
Kind Regards
Genie
I applied for Fernvale Foliage BTO, 5-rm flat.
Doesn't look that unaffordable.
Originally posted by the Bear:apart from what eagle has said, if they can afford the initial COV and the payment monthly, good.. because for new PRs, the probably won't have any CPF
and if they can do that, and they go for the "BTO" place, they are put to the end of the queue..
and mostly if they could afford the initial COV and payments in the first place, you think their collective income is less than $8k?
Actually the main problem with the rising price of property is the somewhat huge influx of PR's lor.... each family unit of cos need a place to stay mah.... so the house price keep increasing lor because of alot of foreigners needing a roof too.
Somemore supply bei gao.
Actually to buy from HDB direct is the way to go but for those income above ceiling de cialat lor... forced to buy resale... even if income below ceiling most also forced to buy 4 room 5 room.
Minister in charge (Mah Bow correct anot ar?) said he cannot do much actually is true lor since limited landspace and heavy influx of foreigners ( he cannot ctrl that mah)....but the garment can limit influx of foreigners .... however economy might suffer according to them.
Kind Regards
Originally posted by eagle:I applied for Fernvale Foliage BTO, 5-rm flat.
Doesn't look that unaffordable.
Good move sia :)
My opinion only ar.... if you get it buy it .... just the buying part alone already make $... and can earlier cash in your 1st home owners grant. I want also cannot le. You are lucky still can. eh... actually wait until you tio first ba lol. Then stay inside a few years cannot remember how many le (I think 5......I gib up on SG prop market. Especially HDB so many rules :P) sell already make $.
Kind Regards
Genie