Originally posted by Rooney9:Can we complain and ask for mediation from the world body like UN?
forest fires caused a lot of harm to the ecosystem and to both environment and people's health, esp those with asthma and breathing problems....
UN only interested if UN building in shroudded in haze.
Every year like that.
Burning of forest, year in year out.
Nothing is being solve by their govt.
Their govt should be blame for that.
thei governent officials also suffering from it..........they live so close to the forest fires even.......probably this logging companies paid so much money to the politicians, thats why they are getting away with murder for so long.
korupt govt?
They don't care, the govt is in Jakarta and the wind is blowing northward.
strangely, we punish our local smokers for contaminating the environment....even use yellow boxes as a pride to show great moral, social and health consciousness....
but we shy ourselves before a bigger country who threw smoke at us....and with lots of political politeness and sensitivity to smoulderers abroad...
what the feck.........
we just a small dot, how to wage war on others lol.........
hey....you punish me so harshly for that little smoke from me....blah haha
no more input on psi on NEA website? Have we hit another new high?
Originally posted by Clivebenss:no more input on psi on NEA website? Have we hit another new high?
The sensor of the NEA's air sampler machine kena overloaded...
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:The sensor of the NEA's air sampler machine kena overloaded...
probably the haze is so bad that the staff can't get reading from the equipment.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:probably the haze is so bad that the staff can't get reading from the equipment.
Yes the haze is bad now...1.30am...
Singapore gahmen should escalate to UN. our neighboring country what? malaysia only singapore worse hit. the iondon their own people they don;t give a ddaman also. tthey don;t give a daman even if their own people are killing their own people. i think we should really do something, get some support. the recent US overstay now US screaming no d=canning. so no canning for him lor. anywya his crimes not that bad, and this type of foreign talents only competes job with the upper class so yet. w can do somethign about it. we most scalate, every year like that. denying a person clean air is a crime. denying a population clean air is genocide. people next time indons got problem please don;t donte. they are slefish people. our red cross aslo must take note. although its about saving a life, but the money people donate can be used to buy lots of fcae mask for poorrer singaporeans in sgpore in times likethis.
welcome the rain~
psi now is 83.
PSI is bull. they ever consolidate all the air oer the island and take an average readin against land area? the number may be worse! somke areas are really affected. we may be a small country but sometimes we must make a stand. if the indons don;t knwo how to control their land and people i think its time to ask for tsunami
I am having running nose for the past few days liao.
Not sure whether due to haze?
Originally posted by bic_cherry:Please lah, these are either poor tribal peoples/ companies that clear land for agri.
The first practices slash n burn as part of their culture, the second does the same to clear land for agri cheaply (illegally).
Whilst the 2nd might be guilty of illicit profiteering, I believe one significant problem is with educating the former. Pls note that these village folk have no access to municipal electricity not water supply and less so internet not formal education.
Slash and burn agri. is in their culture despite its unsustainability and polutiveness.
These are poor tribal people with an ingrained culture, but for for lack of proper facilities and education, their habits remain unlikely to change.
Given that 'One Singapore resident's ecological footprint equals that of 33 Africans' , Singaporeans should be patient and supportive of Indonesia's efforts at reducing forest fires. Perhaps the best and most sustainable way of protecting our environment is to bring development in the form of education, better sanitation and living conditions to the Indonesian tribal people. SG must quickly develop and spread the message of conservation as well as the virtues of reduce, reuse and recycle. Organic (sustainable) farming methods and an overall improved quality of life (QOL) would go miles both in environmental conservation as well as in terrorism control.
Make the Indonesian tribesman happy and he will cooperate and listen.
Hating 'em and their govt will do little if nothing to solve this ugly situation.
Ref;
- 'One Singapore resident's ecological footprint equals that of 33 Africans': [TDY 14Oct2010]
Please lah, then tell me why these farkin indons burn specifically at September / October. I bet they must have seen the wind direction and burn only when it blow the smoke to elsewhere than Indonesia. Fuck their fucking tribes and culture. They should go through a "Cultural Revolution" to become more educated.
1300 hr: PSI @ 77
singaporeans wake up. thos eindons chinese and malays around you, your friends putting on a smiling face, so gracious and courteous, lokk what their people can do to you. globalization andpulling down your poants and getting anal is two differnt things. we should wake up and stop donating to their cuase in future. now or poor need facce mask. you or i going to donate money? a death penlaty if the indon gahmen knows the consiquences wil definitely better than fine to stop arson. yes its arson by our country's law. and the act is genocid.e GENOCIDE!
7pm psi up at 81
Nike City run will go on unless PSI hits 200
11pm psi at 82.
1pm psi at 78.