sebab hujung minggu ini, saya akan pergi melancong...tapi lokasi adalah rahsia buat masa ini
Selamat Malam kepada Putri
Lu mo pi lanchong pada ujong minggu ni bila tempu lu maseh saket pulak lah ("still nursing flu-like symptoms")? Ya, lu biah lah kasi tumpat kat mana simpan rusia baru orang tak ikot lu pi. Kitorang tak tau ada orang terbok krawang kat sini leh.
no choice...tix booked. hopefully the congestion clears up by tomorrow
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Selamat Malam kepada Pengawal pulak.
There are many Taiwanese Hokkien peculiar only to them. When I compiled the list, then I shall post here.
Ya, true. They have their own made up words not only in hokkien but in Mandarin.
It is ok, some of the words are kind of interesting, adds colour to their lifestyle, I guess! Hahahha ![]()
i probably won't be understand it...even the johor hokkien is so different from penang hokkien and so different from sg hokkien
Originally posted by cassie:i probably won't be understand it...even the johor hokkien is so different from penang hokkien and so different from sg hokkien
I do not have the chance to hear them speak Johore Hokkien. The Penang hokkien is a type of Hokkien in China, Bangu did mention before. Khaw boon wan who is from penang speaks it, I just don't know how to tell about the accent, very different.
gd evening.
Originally posted by cassie:no choice...tix booked. hopefully the congestion clears up by tomorrow
Selamat Tengamalam kepada Putri pulak.
Kalu lu mia idong maseh penoh-sesak lendir lu boleh chobak minom teh bunga kekwa.
Originally posted by winsomeea:Ya, true. They have their own made up words not only in hokkien but in Mandarin.
It is ok, some of the words are kind of interesting, adds colour to their lifestyle, I guess! Hahahha
According to the Hokkien linguist 周長楫 (pg 29 of "臺�閩�方言概述"), not all Taiwanese Hokkien are made-up words.
Quote:
下é�¢æ˜¯ã€Šè‡ºç�£é–©å�—語è¾å…¸ã€‹æ‰€æ”¶çš„臺ç�£é–©å�—方言特有的詞語。應該指出的是,在這些特殊詞語ä¸ï¼Œæœ‰äº›æ˜¯è‡ºç�£é–©å�—話產生的新詞,有些本來是來自ç¦�建閩å�—話,但今天在ç¦�建閩å�—話è£�已經少用或ä¸�用,而在臺ç�£é–©å�—話è£�還經常使用。
Means they originally came from China Fujian Hokkien words, turns out that the motherland lost it, and those ancestor who sailed across to Taiwan have helped to preserve some of those lost vocab.
Originally posted by winsomeea:Ya, true. They have their own made up words not only in hokkien but in Mandarin.
It is ok, some of the words are kind of interesting, adds colour to their lifestyle, I guess! Hahahha
Another source (pg 142 臺�特有閩�方言詞語舉例) that not all Taiwanese Hokkien are made-up words.
Quote:
臺ç�£é–©å�—è©±ä¸æœ‰ä¸€äº›è·Ÿç¦�建閩å�—話ä¸�å�Œçš„詞語。這些詞語,有的是早期æµ�行於ç¦�建閩å�—地å�€ï¼Œè€Œç�¾åœ¨åœ¨é–©å�—地å�€å·²ç¶“消失了或很少有人使用了,å�»ç”±æ—©æœŸç¦�建閩å�—地å�€ç§»æ°‘帶到臺ç�£å¾Œï¼Œä¸€ç›´ä¿�留在臺ç�£é–©å�—方言è£�。也有些是臺ç�£äººæ°‘在長期生活ä¸å‰µé€ 的。
Originally posted by cassie:i probably won't be understand it...even the johor hokkien is so different from penang hokkien and so different from sg hokkien
Johor Hokkien = Singapore Hokkien
Penang Hokkien ≠ Singapore Hokkien
Penang Hokkien = Medan Hokkien
Originally posted by winsomeea:I do not have the chance to hear them speak Johore Hokkien. The Penang hokkien is a type of Hokkien in China, Bangu did mention before. Khaw boon wan who is from penang speaks it, I just don't know how to tell about the accent, very different.
Selamat Tengamalam kepada Pengawal of Kampong Sgliad pulak.
Your memory so good ar, still remember, I think Penghulu and I mentioned got many times before:
Links from memory lane:
Hasene the Pengawal >
(you had mentioned Khaw Boon Wan in the past too)
http://sgforums.com/forums/3545/topics/399974?page=6#post_9808816
http://sgforums.com/forums/2297/topics/355579?page=13#post_9952088
http://sgforums.com/forums/3545/topics/399974?page=5#post_9808812
http://sgforums.com/forums/3545/topics/399974?page=6#post_9809343
Additional Penang Hokkien thread:
http://sgforums.com/forums/1853/topics/370013
Originally posted by Clivebenss:gd evening.
Selamat Tengamalam kepada Penghulu Kampong Sgliad.
gd morning.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Another source (pg 142 臺�特有閩�方言詞語舉例) that not all Taiwanese Hokkien are made-up words.
Quote:
I still prefer our own local (Amoy) Hokkien than Penang (Chiangchew) or Taiwan (ChiaoAn) Hokkien.
morning everyone
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Johor Hokkien = Singapore Hokkien
Penang Hokkien ≠ Singapore Hokkien
Penang Hokkien = Medan Hokkien
Johor Hokkien is Eng Choon.
gd evening.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:I still prefer our own local (Amoy) Hokkien than Penang (Chiangchew) or Taiwan (ChiaoAn) Hokkien.
Me too. Our local Hokkien is only roughly 100% Amoy in Vocabulary (exclude assimilated Teochew usage and Malay vocab) but not 100% Amoy in Pronunciation, it is more of a 70% Amoy : 25% Chuanchew : 5% Chiangchew mix in Pronunciation.
Amoy, Chuanchew, & Chiangchew variety includes the below prefectures:
http://sgforums.com/forums/3545/topics/399974?page=6#post_9809311
Re-quote:
Amoy Variety: 廈門,�安
ChiangChew Variety: 漳州,�海,�巖,長泰,�安,��,平和,漳浦,雲霄,�山
ChuanChew Variety: 泉州,晉江,石ç�…,å�—å®‰ï¼Œå®‰æºªï¼Œæƒ å®‰ï¼Œæ°¸æ˜¥ï¼Œå¾·åŒ–ï¼Œé‡‘é–€
ChiaoAn Variety: 詔安
As seen above, ChiaoAn is separated from the rest of the clustered varieties (Amoy, ChiangChew, ChuanChew) and classified as a standalone variety. Why? Because ChiaoAn is the most distinctive Hokkien dialect among all the accepted Hokkien varieties. It is the most Teochewized Hokkien dialect.
Taiwan is not ChiaoAn and cannot be ChiaoAn (even hardly can be considered to be a variation of ChiaoAn), because:
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Johor Hokkien is Eng Choon.
Johor Hokkien is everything from the Chuanchew variety (as shown above, i.e. includes Ankhway, Chinkang, LamWah etc.), not only Eng Choon ba. Cos Johor Hokkien people told me they came from all these variety of places, I heard from those from TangWa, Quemoy too. Why u mention only Eng Choon?
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Johor Hokkien is everything from the Chuanchew variety (as shown above, i.e. includes Ankhway, Chinkang, LamWah etc.), not only Eng Choon ba. Cos Johor Hokkien people told me they came from all these variety of places, I heard from those from TangWa, Quemoy too. Why u mention only Eng Choon?
Most of the Hokkien people from Southern Malaya, Johor, Pahang, Negri S speak the Eng Choon Hokkien lor.
Singapore sua theng lang speaks Ankway lor.
gd morning.
morning everyone. think i'm due for a mid morning snack aka second brekkie soon. getting hungry.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Most of the Hokkien people from Southern Malaya, Johor, Pahang, Negri S speak the Eng Choon Hokkien lor.
Singapore sua theng lang speaks Ankway lor.
Selamat Petang kepada Penghulu.
I understand you what you mean. It is like now Singaporean Hokkiens of whatever descent speaks common Singaporean Hokkien of Amoy cluster with only sprinkling of traces of original dialectal variation. That means, Southern Malaya Hokkiens of whatever descent now speaks common Southern Malaysian Hokkien of Eng Choon variety of the Chuanchew cluster, I take it to mean that.
I myself was just commented by someone (about 15 minutes ago) that I do not speak Quemoy Hokkien. She said I speak Hokkien like everyone else (Amoy-type). I acknowledge that. My Quemoy influences are minimal. I elaborate another time.
Originally posted by cassie:morning everyone. think i'm due for a mid morning snack aka second brekkie soon. getting hungry.
Selamat Petang kepada Putri. Lu blom pi lanchong? Ato lu sua kat negriluah?
Originally posted by BanguIzai:
Selamat Petang kepada Penghulu.I understand you what you mean. It is like now Singaporean Hokkiens of whatever descent speaks common Singaporean Hokkien of Amoy cluster with only sprinkling of traces of original dialectal variation. That means, Southern Malaya Hokkiens of whatever descent now speaks common Southern Malaysian Hokkien of Eng Choon variety of the Chuanchew cluster, I take it to mean that.
I myself was just commented by someone (about 15 minutes ago) that I do not speak Quemoy Hokkien. She said I speak Hokkien like everyone else (Amoy-type). I acknowledge that. My Quemoy influences are minimal. I elaborate another time.
Selamat petang, Guru Bangul.
You get what I mean. Basically most of the southern states (from southern Perak and Trengganu down) speaks the Eng Choon variety with the Quemoy cluster in Kelang area. Even that the Quemoy in Kelang is high infused with Eng Choon. The Northern state of Kelantan, Kedah, Penang still strongly retain their Chiangchew.
Now even the so call Angkway is fading away as there is no longer a sua teng in Sg. Amoy is the predominant one now (although it is dying from national Mandarin campaign). The Amoy dialect is near extinction in PRC and Taiwan. After another generation in Sg, by then the Amoy dialect it will be history. May be if it can survive, likely in Manila or Cebu if ever.
Ok another word huai lang li lor tik is Amoy equivalent to huai ka li ke in Quemoy.