let him hentak kaki.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:let him hentak kaki.
let her .. . . . . ..
Originally posted by Clivebenss:let him hentak kaki.
Biarkan dia menghentak kaki,
Churah ayer di ata daon keladi .
(The 2nd rhyming verse is a Peranakan saying. If you understand the meaning.
)
Originally posted by BanguIzai:
Biarkan dia menghentak kaki,
Churah ayer di ata daon keladi .(The 2nd rhyming verse is a Peranakan saying. If you understand the meaning.
)
You are indeed a language expert.
Gd evening.
Not into peranakan except the makan.
i like nyonya kuehs
i wan popiah
i want kueh pie tee
am off. gute nacht
Originally posted by cassie:am off. gute nacht
good nite
Selamat Malam kepada Penghulu Clivebe, Pengawal Winso, Panglima Bussi, Puteri Cassi pulak. Selamat Malam kepada sumak para pendudok ( Pengarah Hitman, Pendekar Milo, Penasihat Acid, Pemudi Jiani, Pendudok BotaHead, Pendudok Fcukpap, Pendudok Jacky, Pendudok Missydiana, Pendudok Nikehudon, Pendudok SevenEleven dan seterusnya ) pun.
Originally posted by winsomeea:You are indeed a language expert.
Not really lah. I rate myself 2 out of 10 on my own language skills only. That's why I am happy if you call me Pelajar . ![]()
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Gd evening.
Not into peranakan except the makan.
Those who went to the army would most probably know that "hentak kaki" brings you to nowhere, even when one spends lots of energy, effort and time stomping the foot, but you move neither forward nor backwards, i.e. staying on the same spot but wasting energy.
"Churah ayer di ata daon keladi" - To pour water onto the keladi leaves - akin to "hentak kaki" - no matter how much water one pours onto the keladi leaves, no water gets to stay on the keladi leaves as it is too soft to collect any water, i.e. wasting energy
Thus both verses point to - ' futile effort ' .
Originally posted by winsomeea:let her .. . . . . ..
Pengawal, you mentioned "kh'ong kh'am" in another post, and today I was reading the same book as last time, and came across an article with "kh'ong kh'am" mentioned in it, and I have copied the article and share with you all :

Hi to Hokkien enthusiasts,
Today I got another old article to share with you all as well. I had it cut-out from LianHe WanBao between the years 1995-1997 (I can't remember already - for you to find out
).
It is about Hokkien being the Most Ancient Chinese language in China.
Article below:

Originally posted by BanguIzai:Pengawal, you mentioned "kh'ong kh'am" in another post, and today I was reading the same book as last time, and came across an article with "kh'ong kh'am" mentioned in it, and I have copied the article and share with you all :
Thanks. End part of it cut off. Sorry I don't understand the text. As for he attached newspaper article, I browsed it, and only understand that Hokkien existed before Han Dynasty. The rest is ? ? ? don't really understand.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Not really lah. I rate myself 2 out of 10 on my own language skills only. That's why I am happy if you call me Pelajar .
Guru, you are so humble. More humble than LKY. Oops , sorry, correction, LKY is not humble.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Those who went to the army would most probably know that "hentak kaki" brings you to nowhere, even when one spends lots of energy, effort and time stomping the foot, but you move neither forward nor backwards, i.e. staying on the same spot but wasting energy.
"Churah ayer di ata daon keladi" - To pour water onto the keladi leaves - akin to "hentak kaki" - no matter how much water one pours onto the keladi leaves, no water gets to stay on the keladi leaves as it is too soft to collect any water, i.e. wasting energy
Thus both verses point to - ' futile effort ' .
Gd morning.
Bang, that I learned from my kids when they went to the army.
Originally posted by winsomeea:Guru, you are so humble. More humble than LKY. Oops , sorry, correction, LKY is not humble.
Bang is much better than many, although he is a pelajar.
Learning is a life long process.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Bang is much better than many, although he is a pelajar.
Learning is a life long process.
I think he is doing well in learning and his knowledge of languages is much better than many. I cannot say much of myself, in the process of learning. There is no end to learning languages.
that i agree! unfortunately, my parents don't think so
Originally posted by cassie:that i agree! unfortunately, my parents don't think so
about ??
Sgf more and more like ghost town. Even during school holidays not that many people post here.
Wonder when is it closing. Hope Jason will be kind to let us know before it closes down.
Originally posted by winsomeea:
about ??
continuous learning
gd evening.