Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in a televised forum in Mandarin that the country can accommodate “6 million or so” people. Any more than that would require careful thinking, he added.
PM Lee gave a similar answer to a question posed by Singapolitics readers.
This is how the exchange went:
Q: PM, the next question is, what is the limit of population size? What is optimal for Singapore?
The population is now 5.31 million. If it grows at 2.5 per cent a year, as it did from June last year to June this year, it will cross the 6 million mark by 2017.
According to Institute of Policy Studies projections, Singapore is likely to cross the 7 million mark before 2040 only if it allows in many more foreigners and lets their share of the population rise from the current one-quarter to one-third.
The Straits Times spoke to six experts about Singapore's population and the likely impact in the areas they know best.
I suppose he will not stop at 7 million.
I take it it is going to be 7 million and more to come.
fattt! MIW!
Target population getting higher and higher.
Unlimited now.
Property agents huat ah.
property agents and MIW will laugh themselves to the bank.
Fatt! Huat !
6 million ?
20 million also can.
Just build mega cities similar to the Shimizu Mega cities for Japan.
Singapore no need to worry about natural disasters like Earthquakes/Tsunamis/Hurrican/Typhoon... etc etc....
We are in the prime location.. with plenty of water space around us...
It can be done... but will it be done ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:6 million ?
20 million also can.
Just build mega cities similar to the Shimizu Mega cities for Japan.
Singapore no need to worry about natural disasters like Earthquakes/Tsunamis/Hurrican/Typhoon... etc etc....
We are in the prime location.. with plenty of water space around us...
It can be done... but will it be done ?
Next time, you either live above ground 100 storeys high or under ground 100 storeys below.
there's always room for more.
it just depends on how u wanna stack it.
vertically or horizontally up.
Originally posted by charlize:Next time, you either live above ground 100 storeys high or under ground 100 storeys below.
No need to wait for next time... It is already happening.
This is a Earthscraper...65 story underground building.
There's already an Ancient Underground city more than 11 levels deep in Derinkuyu, Turkey.
No, there is not enough room, we don't want to become another New Delhi. I think today will ask all my friends vote for Workers Party already. Last time say 5 million, then say 6 million, now going for 7 million, do you think they will stop at 7 million? I tell you, they will squeeze every dime out of you guys. For a cheap car in Singapore, you can get a porsche in another country, are you guys idiots? Don't you see you're all running in a cage like rats going nowhere?
Originally posted by jojobeach:No need to wait for next time... It is already happening.
This is a Earthscraper...65 story underground building.
There's already an Ancient Underground city more than 11 levels deep in Derinkuyu, Turkey.
All these are talk only lah... when they manage to build all these, then talk to me again. As of now, I tell you the cold hard facts, the cold hard facts are... MRT breakdowns... cold hard facts are... HDB pricing go above 1 million dollars... cold hard facts are... You sometimes need to miss a few carriages before the MRT has the space for you to go in... cold hard facts are... Taxi fares keep rising because not enough supply for the overpopulated country... cold hard facts are... Your HDB flat don't belong to you, you only rent it for 99 years and you have to give back to government... cold hard facts are... they say gambling is bad, suddenly 2 casinos pop out in Singapore, causing more suicides... everything they say, you believe? they say gambling is bad, suddenly they say casinos benefits the country, haha, so everything they say, despite opposite directions, you also believe? Singaporeans say North Koreans brainwashed, sometimes only if you are wise enough to look from the outside, I would say some Singaporeans also brainwashed.
All these traffic and human jams.. are merely results of POOR civil planning.
If they build offices underneath housing units... and allot houses according to where you work... there will be no need to COMMUTE back and forth..
All the traffic problems are due to rush hours... if we can eliminate rush hours.. we can eliminate the traffic jams.
Telecommuting should be heavily implemented... if there is no need to leave your own home.. you really shouldn't be stepping out that door.
Think outside the cage !!
Originally posted by jojobeach:All these traffic and human jams.. are merely results of POOR civil planning.
Assuming what you say is right, then what makes you think suddenly out of nowhere, PAP suddenly become genius at civil planning? If someone sucks at Maths during primary school, and flunk their Maths during secondary school, will you place your money on them getting As for their Maths subjects on their JC/Poly? If the answer is no, then it still doesn't make sense to trust them.
Originally posted by SG.AdultsCircle.com:
All these are talk only lah... when they manage to build all these, then talk to me again. As of now, I tell you the cold hard facts, the cold hard facts are... MRT breakdowns... cold hard facts are... HDB pricing go above 1 million dollars... cold hard facts are... You sometimes need to miss a few carriages before the MRT has the space for you to go in... cold hard facts are... Taxi fares keep rising because not enough supply for the overpopulated country... cold hard facts are... Your HDB flat don't belong to you, you only rent it for 99 years and you have to give back to government... cold hard facts are... they say gambling is bad, suddenly 2 casinos pop out in Singapore, causing more suicides... everything they say, you believe? they say gambling is bad, suddenly they say casinos benefits the country, haha, so everything they say, despite opposite directions, you also believe? Singaporeans say North Koreans brainwashed, sometimes only if you are wise enough to look from the outside, I would say some Singaporeans also brainwashed.
Dont blame science and technology.
Blame: FAILED government policies and their disjointed efforts to run our country among their own party.
If demand vs supply is balanced.. there will not be so many problems..
but I believe we need to pay them ministers MORE... in order for them to achieve such miracle.
Maybe we should pay each of them 10 millions. You get what you paid for, no ?
There's still some empty space in my cupboard with nobody living in it...we've got plently more room!!
Come on foriegners....cram into Singapore!!
Originally posted by Summer hill:There's still some empty space in my cupboard with nobody living in it...we've got plently more room!!
Come on foriegners....cram into Singapore!!
ok, tomorrow i go your house, i go pack my stuff now.
its more political than economic
new citizen tends to vote for them
a very dirty political move
haiz
Originally posted by lce:its more political than economic
new citizen tends to vote for them
a very dirty political move
o rly ?
Or really about the moolah?
need somany people for what? chapalang bastards.
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:need somany people for what? chapalang bastards.
huh, you dunno why more people means good for government? more people = more income tax + more consumers spending money (COE money + GST + HDB profits + many many many other things lah) + more "cows" to squeeze milk from = government staff can collect more salary! more bonus! million dollars salary ministers! woo hoo!
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:need somany people for what? chapalang bastards.
you really think the government care about you? lol. MRT breakdown, overpopulation, aiyah nothing lah, they don't take MRT, why would they care?