Por Lor Bao(BoLuoBao) and Egg Tarts are sold at those Cha Chan Tang(Cha Can Ting), those famous ones will have long queue. ppl there like to buy at the moment they have just been taken out from the oven.Originally posted by dragg:try the 'put chai gou' and 'por lor bao'
the food there is fantastic.
avoid occupying big tables unless you are with a big group. their sitting culture is different from ours.
go see a concert too.
Wow u sure know hk.Originally posted by mochou:Por Lor Bao(BoLuoBao) and Egg Tarts are sold at those Cha Chan Tang(Cha Can Ting), those famous ones will have long queue. ppl there like to buy at the moment they have just been taken out from the oven.
For street stalls(used to be trolleys,but govt catch them until they rent shops, mostly found in MongKok area), Curry fish ball, got normal/spicy, for singaporeans may prefer the spicy type. Many others stuffs but personally i like curry fishball most.
Someone mentioned goose, the best goose is in Sum Cheung(Shen Jin,"deep well"), a place quite far from the city tough.
For Roast pigeon, the best is in Long hua hotel(it's call JiuDian but not really a hotel)in Shatin, also far from city area.
One more type of birds, it's call Wor Fa Cheuk(HeHuaQue), it's a very small bird, very crispy, one bite can eat the whole bird.
For Moon cakes/LaoPoBing, most famous is (Hang Heung)HengXiang, which in YeungLeong, evem further from city than Shatin. But dun worry, they got small shops in MongKok area nowdays, cos the HQ in YeungLeong is really too far.
If u happen to go to see big Budda in Lantau Island, there's a small shop near the busstop. Try the Tofu hua there.
many many more.... lazy to mention all.....
I had been there for years and i don really know anything new in there. If u were to ask a local, they will say it's not worth it.(ticket's ex, food's lousy etc.)Originally posted by jules_yan:okiez! tt's a lot of food u hav recommended liao. thanx thanx!
how do ya know so much abt hk ah?
anyway, ocean park worth going or not?
I had been there for years and i don really know anything new in there. If u were to ask a local, they will say it's not worth it.(ticket's ex, food's lousy etc.)hee... been asked lots of times abt tt. but frankly, juz not v interested in e disneyland. thinking tt if i wait til disneyland opens there, tix prices will prob soar n things will become more expensive too cos of the hype on disneyland.
But a friend of mine (from sg also) who had just went there enjoy 1 full day there.
y don u wait till the opening of the new disneyland in sep?
read my profile and u understand why, i was born there, came to sg at age of 14, went to cambodia for half yr when 25, then to china, still in china now. every yr CNY i go back sg to company parents and sister. When not CNY i go HK visit frens, once every yr.Originally posted by Rocker128:Wow u sure know hk.
U can buy LaoPo Bing in hk island as well. They hav setup a small branch in the basement (forgot which level) of SOGO in Causeway Bay.![]()
WOW! you know hk so well! haha. i love that place, the language and their food! and i love hang heung!Originally posted by mochou:Por Lor Bao(BoLuoBao) and Egg Tarts are sold at those Cha Chan Tang(Cha Can Ting), those famous ones will have long queue. ppl there like to buy at the moment they have just been taken out from the oven.
For street stalls(used to be trolleys,but govt catch them until they rent shops, mostly found in MongKok area), Curry fish ball, got normal/spicy, for singaporeans may prefer the spicy type. Many others stuffs but personally i like curry fishball most.
Someone mentioned goose, the best goose is in Sum Cheung(Shen Jin,"deep well"), a place quite far from the city tough.
For Roast pigeon, the best is in Long hua hotel(it's call JiuDian but not really a hotel)in Shatin, also far from city area.
One more type of birds, it's call Wor Fa Cheuk(HeHuaQue), it's a very small bird, very crispy, one bite can eat the whole bird.
For Moon cakes/LaoPoBing, most famous is (Hang Heung)HengXiang, which in YeungLeong, evem further from city than Shatin. But dun worry, they got small shops in MongKok area nowdays, cos the HQ in YeungLeong is really too far.
If u happen to go to see big Budda in Lantau Island, there's a small shop near the busstop. Try the Tofu hua there.
many many more.... lazy to mention all.....
1st time go HK the ocean park is worth the visit......Originally posted by jules_yan:okiez! tt's a lot of food u hav recommended liao. thanx thanx!
how do ya know so much abt hk ah?
anyway, ocean park worth going or not?
ya and i am going there for the 3rd time on 13th aug... zzzzzzzzzzzOriginally posted by tarutaru:1st time go HK the ocean park is worth the visit......