me leh me leh???Originally posted by M©+square:Kopi! Three more stalls we can visit!![]()
Lai lai lai....Originally posted by FireIce:me leh me leh???
ok, i sacrifice, i be the pillionOriginally posted by M©+square:Lai lai lai....
*but his bike only take one pillon leh.![]()
nb....Originally posted by FireIce:ok, i sacrifice, i be the pillion![]()
Hur? when have i ever posted any science theory?Originally posted by coffeeortea:YAY.. gotta try this when im back.. very good post mcsquare.. even better than einstein's theories..![]()
so? i still want to be pillionOriginally posted by tiggersgd:i want to go too!i have a car leh...

Hey dude serious boh?? Liddis i wan cheong tml liao wor.. =)Originally posted by snobbish:The best at Lavender food square!
Lavender square most food nice one,esp this and the prawn noodleOriginally posted by motoway:Hey dude serious boh?? Liddis i wan cheong tml liao wor.. =)
I go clementi say nice nice good good den i eat also no biggie lo.. Waste my transport fare sia.. Now adult price liao so a$spensive..
@#$*@#*^!*^#!@
Haha ok sollie.. I call everyone dude..Originally posted by snobbish:Lavender square most food nice one,esp this and the prawn noodle
*Btw, i am not a dude![]()
**follows motoway to Bar to kaypohOriginally posted by motoway:Haha ok sollie.. I call everyone dude..
Well, babe, i will go down soooon den.. =) Ty~~
*goes to bar of Sgforums to see xinyi! fighting wif other users*![]()
I ate tt one aso leh.. I ate beef noodles dry.. And the sauce wasn't as rich as expected.. But i <3 the giam chye too!! come try lot 1 de!! Nice nice!!Originally posted by TehJarVu:i just had niu rou, niu zha, niu jing noodles ($4.50) at parkway foodcourt yesterday..
quite nice; they put lots of giam chye, very good...
Xinyi! waging war on FI lo!! Steady sia.. Tt ger got the balls..Originally posted by snobbish:**follows motoway to Bar to kaypoh![]()
Xinyi on line meh???Originally posted by motoway:Xinyi! waging war on FI lo!! Steady sia.. Tt ger got the balls..
Whoops.. Irony..![]()
Haha.. I tink she left aft all the flaming liao.. Where can tahan liddis..Originally posted by snobbish:Xinyi on line meh???
**actually sleepy but awake suddenly
Ah u r making me hungry..i super big beef noodle fan..but kinda too used to the traditional foodcourt style..btw ask u ah..u been to the kiliney one b4?? i frequent that area but dont really know which building it is...dont remember a beef noodle there..Originally posted by M©+square:The Beef House
Hakka beef balls bounce back
LOVERS of beef noodles might initially find this version a let-down.
Instead of a bowl of rich, dark brown soup, this stall's version is clear, watery and bland.
But it hasn't stopped hordes of regulars from lapping it up at The Beef House, which is located inside a kopitiam in Syed Alwi Road.
The point, you see, is not the soup.
It's the beef balls.
Done Hakka-style, they are almost as big as ping pong balls, juicy and boast a rich, beefy flavour.
Owner Y. C. Chin, 35, started selling them 10 years ago when he realised that Hakka-style beef noodles had died out in Singapore.
'They were around in the 1950s but slowly, nobody made them anymore,' he says.
A decade ago, while on holiday in Dapu, a Hakka region in China's Guangdong province, he saw the dish whipped up at every street corner and decided to re-introduce it here.
He invited a Dapu beef ball maker to Singapore who, over a month, taught him how to select the beef, then cut, grind and cook it into beef balls.
His business has since grown into a successful four-outlet chain.
He still painstakingly makes by hand all the beef balls that are distributed to the outlets every day.
Claiming that his is the only authentic Hakka-style beef noodles chain in Singapore, he says other vendors shy away from it because 'it's very labour-intensive, nobody wants to do it'.
Made with lean thigh meat, the beef balls have to be ground at around 8pm because cooler temperatures ensure a better texture, he says.
But the most important factor is the quality of the meat, he adds.
Even with his 10 years' experience, he fails one out of every 10 attempts, especially when the meat supplied to him is not up to standard.
Customers can have the beef balls with super-smooth beef slices - a texture achieved by coating them with tapioca flour - and either beehoon or kway teow noodles. A bowl is priced from $3.
While the bald-tasting soup is true to the Hakka style, your tastebuds will be more than fired up with its fabulous chilli sauce, made with chilli padi, garlic and rice wine.
The Beef House
Four outlets, open between 8am and 6pm:
# Gar Lok Eating House, 217 Syed Alwi Road, closed on Fridays 97
# Joo Chiat Road, closed on Mondays
# 218 Killiney Road, opens daily
# Nanyang Technological University, Canteen 2, closed on Sundays
____
Kopi! Three more stalls we can visit!![]()