Originally posted by FireIce:anyone rber the wear rolex and fry hokkien mee tt uncle?
last time in AMK one, then now at eunos
And they don't know how to use the opeh leaf properly.Originally posted by FireIce:now it's become a franchise.....sadly.........
Ya ya ya ya......(Greedy Face!)Originally posted by FireIce:geylang lor 29
use charcoal to char one
does it serve any purpose?Originally posted by Kuali Baba:And they don't know how to use the opeh leaf properly.![]()
It's suppose to make the fried hokkien mee more aromatic.Originally posted by FireIce:does it serve any purpose?
or just for presentation sake?
Originally posted by FireIce:does it serve any purpose?
or just for presentation sake?
Exactly, and they put it on the side instead of wrapping the noodles in it.Originally posted by maurizio13:It's suppose to make the fried hokkien mee more aromatic.
Stall #11 Che Jian fried Hokkien Mee at Chomp Chomp, Serangoon Garden. This one is my current favourite. Even 3 dollars take away is wrapped in Opei leaf. The wetness is just right. Taste is very well balanced. And the beehoon is thin, not the fat one.Originally posted by spike_jose:where do u find good hokkien mee in singapore?
list me the address and stall name. thnks.
say aroung the south western part of sg.
if there is the black sauce type, can note it, and tell me too.
is it the one next to wanton mee? i order from that stall, is thin bee hoon. i like it.. prefer thin bee hoon then fat one.Originally posted by chiabaliao:Stall #11 Che Jian fried Hokkien Mee at Chomp Chomp, Serangoon Garden. This one is my current favourite. Even 3 dollars take away is wrapped in Opei leaf. The wetness is just right. Taste is very well balanced. And the beehoon is thin, not the fat one.
The old airport store is Nan Sing (Hougang). Do get a namecard fromthem when you are there. They accept phone ordering.Originally posted by mystee:is it the one next to wanton mee? i order from that stall, is thin bee hoon. i like it.. prefer thin bee hoon then fat one.
another hokkien mee that use thin bee hoon is at kovan, the coffeeshop where the famous nasi lemak located.
& at old airport road, there is another one, but they dun open at night, only to say 4pm?
my preference among the 3, is the one from old airport.. but i forgot the name of the store.. (there are a few selling hokkien mee)
yeah! surprised that u knew this too.. haha.. it was my childhood fav, till recent years that i found out that it has moved over to old airport road. it was the 1st hokkien mee that i knew used red cut chilli instead of those normal type.Originally posted by geboz:The old airport store is Nan Sing (Hougang). Do get a namecard fromthem when you are there. They accept phone ordering.
This store was from the torn down market opp Kovan Mall, now you can only see aplot of emty land with a big tree.
During those good old days, the mee was fried over charcoal stove, and they even have an electirc blower to intensifed the charcoal fire at the point when the wok is covered for the noodle to cook.
That's Ah Huat, no more great because the old man retired, and the young guy just boh hui. The new stall Che Jian at #11 is much better. One of the best. Even 3 dollars take away is wrapped in Opei leaf.Originally posted by maddylu:Serangoon Gardens chomp chomp ain't that great anymore....some young guy took over the old man.....the markets is waaaayyyy better
The nasi lemak you are referring to is probably Punggol nasi lemak. Inside this food centre is a stall called "original" fried hokkien mee.Originally posted by mystee:is it the one next to wanton mee? i order from that stall, is thin bee hoon. i like it.. prefer thin bee hoon then fat one.
another hokkien mee that use thin bee hoon is at kovan, the coffeeshop where the famous nasi lemak located.
& at old airport road, there is another one, but they dun open at night, only to say 4pm?
my preference among the 3, is the one from old airport.. but i forgot the name of the store.. (there are a few selling hokkien mee)
heard a lot about this stall but i never tried beforeOriginally posted by chiabaliao:The nasi lemak you are referring to is probably Punggol nasi lemak. Inside this food centre is a stall called "original" fried hokkien mee.