Visited Shokudo with a friend. The place is really big, really comfy tables and chairs...got a nice "jap feel" to it. Its like marche where you get a card and go in and swipe and swipe and pay when you exit. 100 dollars penalty for losing the card of course.
Good:
Super huge range of food( teppanyaki, jap hot pot, meat skewers, udon, donburi, curry rice, fried rice, jap "yong fau foo", jap dumplings, dessert, soup, salad)...about 230 items in total according to the sunday life article ytd(the article caught my eye and made me go)
price is reasonable or maybe some would consider a bit steep. For me the price is ok because I shared lots of dishes with my gf.
ambience
decor
Bad:
have to queue for about 30 minutes(new and popular mah)
some of the popular choices were sold out and THEY DID NOT put "sold out" signs...the chefs left the counter without telling me who was waiting in front of him
quality of food(personally I was satisfied with the quality of food but many of my friends who went after me claim that it was below-par, however I can safely tell you guys not to order the vege paper hotpot cos its' tasteless)
The waffle is really great...my GF asked for the butter and honey waffle but changed her mind half way so there was butter, honey and ice cream on our waffle in the end(haha beautiful mistake)...it was crazy omg. but i forgot whether the price is 5.80 or 8.50(ulps).
ok seriously where is the edit button
click the cog to the left of time of post
no have location?
how is the price range like?
Around marche?
Originally posted by FireIce:no have location?
SHOKUDO JAPANESE FOOD BAZAAR
Raffles City Shopping Centre
B1-44E
Tel: 6837-3793
Open 11.30am - 10 pm daily
get many frds to go.
swipe oly one card.
den lose dat card.
is this ur blog?
http://singapuradailyphoto.blogspot.com/2008/02/shokudo-japanese-food-bazaar-raffles.html
how's the pricing like? example.. a plate of sushi, a bowl of don or ramien..
ala carte? buffet?
$100 penalty for a lost card makes it seem like a high-end restaurant.
last time marche oso charge $100 for lost card
Originally posted by FireIce:last time marche oso charge $100 for lost card
is it? 2 person eat might not even cost that much.
imagine u go in a group of 10
all order via one card
Then someone decide to shred it up and swallow it
declare lost card, pay $100 nia....
boh la.. Marche also not toot..
That time i saw a grp of ah lian and ah bengs who went in den they also "decide to lose the card accidently"
Den obviously they eat alot alot den lose the card la..
When they were going out they were asked to pay 300/400+ for their food + the lost card which they refused. den manager threaten to call police lor.. DEn they lao lan haf to pay..
My fren says that wen ur card hits around 70 bucks the workers their will start taking down the things u order by hand liao..
Originally posted by FireIce:imagine u go in a group of 10
all order via one card
Then someone decide to shred it up and swallow it
declare lost card, pay $100 nia....
can meh?
i tot everyone muz have a card...
SIM also like that ar..
and erm...
i got craving for waffle from V'illage.. so i went Heeren today.. and to my disappointment, it closed down already..
heard the one near Far East Square also closed down...
sigh..
i know currently Marche is still available at Vivocity.. where else?
Normal mah... go eat the most expensive stuffs and lose that card lor... ![]()
But I think that they can set up a computerised system to prevent such thing from happening one lor...![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Normal mah... go eat the most expensive stuffs and lose that card lor...
But I think that they can set up a computerised system to prevent such thing from happening one lor...
u got try b4 meh? dun cock leh dun work one la..
Originally posted by browniebaobao:
that's the one and only one now
can meh?
i tot everyone muz have a card...
SIM also like that ar..
and erm...
i got craving for waffle from V'illage.. so i went Heeren today.. and to my disappointment, it closed down already..
heard the one near Far East Square also closed down...
sigh..
V'illage is gooood...heard from my friend that they are closed for renovation? Hmmm hopefully they will be back..
somehow i thinkn village> marche leh
Originally posted by crimson soldier:
V'illage is gooood...heard from my friend that they are closed for renovation? Hmmm hopefully they will be back..
somehow i thinkn village> marche leh
dun think it's renovation..
looks more like ceased operation.
anyway, i tried shokudo liao..
not much difference from marche/village..
juz that they got more jap food..
still can find rosti, waffles, crepes etc..
food is nice, but many ple, v long queue de..
the layered egg omelette is nice.. pasta is nice.. but frens say citylink also got one shokudo pasta & grill restaurant..
wanted to try their waffles but v long queue..
probably will not visit the second time in the near future.
dun think it's renovation..
looks more like ceased operation.
anyway, i tried shokudo liao..
not much difference from marche/village..
juz that they got more jap food..
still can find rosti, waffles, crepes etc..
food is nice, but many ple, v long queue de..
the layered egg omelette is nice.. pasta is nice.. but frens say citylink also got one shokudo pasta & grill restaurant..
wanted to try their waffles but v long queue..
probably will not visit the second time in the near future.
the layered egg omelette is nice! you just reminded me! :D
I probably will not visit a 2nd time in the near future unless its with a large group of friends....then shokudo will be fun. otherwise not worth it lah
i find that place v cramped..
unlike marche.. got lots of spaces.. quiet, easier for talking..
shokudo is really cramped.. the table beside u is really juz beside, less than one chair apart kind..
Browniebaobao...ohhhh myyy
I thought marche was the cramped one!!! small table and little space to move around!! can't even talk nicely cos the other tables just beside me
for shokudo I felt so much more comfortable :)
for marche the aisles' are pretty cramped too
food there is so so only. edible but nothing to boast about.
terriyaki was salty n had so much sauce on them they only taste of the sauce
grilled saba was only half a fish. something they did not state on the order board
waffles w ice cream had soggy and limp waffles before the ice cream melted. eeewww
tempura soft shell crabs had anorexic crabs
sashimi wasnt fresh.
my rating - 5/10
only go when u r very hungry, other places r full. n u have money to waste.
i know SIM de cafe oso use tht kind of system. but how many ple can share one card?
yes.. nv try sharing before..
but it doesn't matter if u return a card unused..
if u lose that card, i think penalty is $20.
Originally posted by crimson soldier:Browniebaobao...ohhhh myyy
I thought marche was the cramped one!!! small table and little space to move around!! can't even talk nicely cos the other tables just beside me
for shokudo I felt so much more comfortable :)
for marche the aisles' are pretty cramped too
Marche where got cramp?
if u mean the one at vivo, yes it's a big small..
but previously at HMV and later changed to V'illage.. it was v spacious..