Ok hope more people can get to know this since eggs have being demonised for way way too long.
When people see you eating a bit too many eggs, what is the first thing they will say? You siao ah eat so many eggs, high cholesterol leh. For years people just accept this for the truth, but it is in fact a food that is demonised based on inaccurate researchs that are outdated.
But if you stop to think for awhile, why is the thing that lots of living things get their nutrients from while they are still in the womb of their mother be considered that unhealthy? It is like the first complete source of nutrient that most living thing get to enable them to develop and be born.It is nature's most complete source of nutrition.
For years it is demonised on the simple assumption that dietary cholesterol goes directly into the blood stream and clot up all the arteries but in reality it is not so.Dietary cholestrol has little effect on blood serum cholesterol in healthy individuals. Only in individuals whom already have big problem with their health will develop complication from too much dietary cIholesterol.
In fact it has being found that it is stuff like too refined carbohydrate like white flour, table sugar and unhealthy hydrogenated oil that contributes to all the unhealthy cholesterol deposits.To think that alot of people think they are eating healthly when in fact they are getting poisoned by their everyday convenience refine man made unnatural food source. Stuff like pasties,cakes,cookies basically anything that is made from refine flour are infact causing people to have cardiovascular disease more than ever.
Anyway back to the topic, there are so many recent researches that debunk this myth so next time if you see someone commenting that you should not eat the yolk cos it is high cholesterol,you should know better.
http://www.health.harvard.edu/press_releases/egg-nutrition.htm
http://www.aeb.org/Nutrition/images/PDF/Cracking_Egg-Cholesterol_Myth.pdf
http://www.patrickholford.com/content.asp?id_Content=1613
http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20070724/egg_cholesterol_070724?s_name=&no_ads=
http://www.cholesterol-and-health.com/Cholesterol-Myths.html
wait. summary.. i've always thought that eating egg white is ok, cuz it's protein. egg yolk is the bad one, but it contains all the vitamins.
so am i right?
egg yolk is never the bad one...
egg yolk is demonized cos of the cholesterol factor
but the cholesterol in food have neglible effect on blood cholesterol level so eating the yolk is ok. It is nature most nutritious food source complete with all the needed vitamins and stuff that is needed for complete growth.
Originally posted by GenX:egg yolk is never the bad one...
egg yolk is demonized cos of the cholesterol factor
but the cholesterol in food have neglible effect on blood cholesterol level so eating the yolk is ok. It is nature most nutritious food source complete with all the needed vitamins and stuff that is needed for complete growth.
lol. ok. i've been missing out then. so we can eat as many yolks we we want?
yes if you do not have any cardiovascular health problem in the first place.
Originally posted by GenX:yes if you do have any have cardiovascular health problem in the first place.
i don't get this sentence. so if we have heart problems, we should eat more eggs? just confirmng
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i don't get this sentence. so if we have heart problems, we should eat more eggs? just confirmng
grr typo. i mean if you do not have any heart problems, it is ok to eat the yolks
ah ok
so can we cook the eggs? i usually eat alot of eggs scrambled or omelette.
Originally posted by cApitaland:so can we cook the eggs? i usually eat alot of eggs scrambled or omelette.
Yes why not, infact it is recommended to cook the egg cos of danger from samonella from uncooked egg
one more link
Originally posted by eagle:one more link
yeah infact i know of someone who eat 20 full eggs everyday for years and is still perfectly healthy.
For me, i have gone like 6-8 full eggs per day for months and i still have healthy cholesterol levels.
dis has been a long-time controversy liao.
wateber it is, juz eat eberitin in moderation.