Originally posted by ditzy:Good, fresh shrimp doesn't need anything added to it other than itself.
WOW......who do i see here? :) ltns leh.
thanks. i now know. i'll keep it simple and bbq as is. ;-)
Originally posted by Fatum:it's pluto we're talking about ..... "fresh" is a very relative term ....
hee hee..............hanor.......no hab fresh, unless i live in vancouver. got pacific ocean! :)
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Japanese style of BBQing scallops are sinple:
BUtter and salt or mirin and shoyu.
thanks! :) hmm....butter. i'll try it next time. but what is shoyu?
add 5 spices and a bit of rice wine, makes a world of difference
Originally posted by Chris1988:initially when i read this topic i thought LS is inviting the forumnites over to her house this weekend for bbq
*gib chris1988 "A+" for IMAGINATIONS* lol
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u wan go oso can.
LOL.............but airtix will likely cost him S$2.6k?
Originally posted by littlestream:thanks, FI.......yah.....i'll leave it as it next time 'cos my guests gently complained "too salty".
sprinkle a bit over them will do
or have u been rubbing the prawns in 3 layes of salt like u do with salt-baked chicken? ![]()
wah never teach mi how to make satay.... sad.. i also wan to eat...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i hope im invited
LOL..........sure, why not? to further entice you, here's my satay pork.

Originally posted by vvclub:add 5 spices and a bit of rice wine, makes a world of difference
oh, thanks for the tip. i'll give it a thought but then, 5 spice with seafood ah? i tot 5 spice with meat? hmm....interesting. definitely will give it a thought. thanks.
Originally posted by littlestream:LOL..........sure, why not? to further entice you, here's my satay pork.
wah.. power leh.. very real looking leh... u got any good and fast way to stick the meat????? that's the most time wasting part right?
Originally posted by FireIce:sprinkle a bit over them will do
or have u been rubbing the prawns in 3 layes of salt like u do with salt-baked chicken?
hahahaha~~~~ no lah.....i no rub salt ah. i used fish sauce as per fatum's suggestions. but okay, yours sounds good. i'm gonna give it a shot on my next bbq. like what fatum said also, keep it simple. no need fa li fa luk. i kiasu go marinade and turned out too salty. hee hee........
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):wah never teach mi how to make satay.... sad.. i also wan to eat...
i can gib u recipe. anyways, maybe u got the cookbook. it's a no-fail recipe. sure sedap one. my friends raved about my satay all the time. the cookbook is "singapore cooking" by mrs leong.
5 spice powder rub on chicken wings not bad
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
wah.. power leh.. very real looking leh... u got any good and fast way to stick the meat????? that's the most time wasting part right?
xie xie......no shortcut leh. hanor.....very tiring. stick liao, need body massage. kekekeke~~~~
some more i slice very thinly leh. lagi difficult to stick it. what i do is i freeze the sam jam bak first. makes it easier to slice. i slice it like bacon leh. but if u slice about 2mm hor? easier to stick but not so tasty ah. too bak liao. lol and oh, i marinade it on wednesday, stick it on friday and bbq on saturday. so very jiak bee, the pork.
Originally posted by FireIce:5 spice powder rub on chicken wings not bad
oh izzit? i neber tried before. hmm....but sounds interesting also. thanks, FI. i'll record it for later. ;-)
Originally posted by littlestream:xie xie......no shortcut leh. hanor.....very tiring. stick liao, need body massage. kekekeke~~~~
some more i slice very thinly leh. lagi difficult to stick it. what i do is i freeze the sam jam bak first. makes it easier to slice. i slice it like bacon leh. but if u slice about 2mm hor? easier to stick but not so tasty ah. too bak liao. lol and oh, i marinade it on wednesday, stick it on friday and bbq on saturday. so very jiak bee, the pork.
actually i also dunno which is meat part the best.... most ppl tell mi sam jam bak also.. but those i saw in market usually too fat or too thin lor.... not like those that my auntie used to buy when she make last time...... ya lor... it's the must sian part to stick it lor.. so always thinking if got easier way... even dun mind to buy a small machine to stick it if there's any in the market hahaha..... scan the receipe leh hahaha... or just pm mi the receipe lor thanks.. what about the peanut sauce.. for make also? ......
hee hee.......this one become my bbq thread liao. pai seh. here's my grilled salmon....or what is left of it. only rem to take pick after digging in. :) and my fried beehoon. don't know camera crappy or photographer lousy. looks like in aquarium liddat.

Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
actually i also dunno which is meat part the best.... most ppl tell mi sam jam bak also.. but those i saw in market usually too fat or too thin lor.... not like those that my auntie used to buy when she make last time...... ya lor... it's the must sian part to stick it lor.. so always thinking if got easier way... even dun mind to buy a small machine to stick it if there's any in the market hahaha..... scan the receipe leh hahaha... or just pm mi the receipe lor thanks.. what about the peanut sauce.. for make also? ......
sam jam bak is the best 'cos got bak yew. nah boh, jiak too much bak also kia kia. so, got bak, got pui, and plus bbq puibak hor, beri pang. it's just that beri difficult to stick pui bak. or hor, u know i grind the rempah hor, then marinade with chicken thighs, so become chicken satay chops. hee hee........
oh, u really wan the recipe? okay, tmr k? 'cos today i am in the orpid. no hab recipe book here.
alamak...peanut sauce ah? my friend from penang made me the sauce. my friends said very good. i used the yeo's peanut sauce which honestly, good enough for me. but i tink i may have the peanut sauce recipe but i don't know good or not leh. i can gib u too. patient first k. i'll pm u.
Originally posted by littlestream:sam jam bak is the best 'cos got bak yew. nah boh, jiak too much bak also kia kia. so, got bak, got pui, and plus bbq puibak hor, beri pang. it's just that beri difficult to stick pui bak. or hor, u know i grind the rempah hor, then marinade with chicken thighs, so become chicken satay chops. hee hee........
oh, u really wan the recipe? okay, tmr k? 'cos today i am in the orpid. no hab recipe book here.
alamak...peanut sauce ah? my friend from penang made me the sauce. my friends said very good. i used the yeo's peanut sauce which honestly, good enough for me. but i tink i may have the peanut sauce recipe but i don't know good or not leh. i can gib u too. patient first k. i'll pm u.
hard to find yeo peanut sauce here in hk leh.. only lee kum kee one only.. but not very good i think....i got some receipe for the sauce.. but all very complicated lor.. sianz 1/2 sighz.. but ur satay really look like real one leh... haha power...ok i wait lor
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):hard to find yeo peanut sauce here in hk leh.. only lee kum kee one only.. but not very good i think....i got some receipe for the sauce.. but all very complicated lor.. sianz 1/2 sighz.. but ur satay really look like real one leh... haha power...ok i wait lor
oh yah? hmm......don't buy lkk. buay siang. hanor, the tot of sticking it also sian jip puah liao.
anyways, finally found a pathetic pic of the bbq prawns. i mean, what good is a bbq prawns thread minus the pic of the end product, right? and yes, if u tink the prawns are overcooked? they were! :(

but even overcooked puan jiak ga choon jit ki. heh heh.......
For prawns usually I just dump a heap of Garlic over them and then squeeze lime over
Looking at the pics, littlestream you must have a sumptous meal, drooling now.
Originally posted by elindra:For prawns usually I just dump a heap of Garlic over them and then squeeze lime over
thanks, elindra. it sounds really good. i'm going to try it on my next bbq gathering! :)
Originally posted by Dondontan:Looking at the pics, littlestream you must have a sumptous meal, drooling now.
aww....thank u kindly but usually, my friends get to eat them. the chef usually can't eat by the time she cooks. :P