Hey all....I'm looking for Custard mooncakes instead of the traditional with lotus paste de. Does anyone know where to buy?
Recently my uncle bought us durian mooncakes very nice...fill with durian...yummy.
Any other mooncake you think nice?
the traditional kind
those fancy fancy one with champagne, chocolate, green tea and watsoever shd not be called mooncakes at all
btw, prefer to have yolk ;)
traditional de also have white lotus and red lotus paste.
With 2 yolk will be better.
wahahaha...
my gosh! where got custard mooncakes? I also want!
that day I tried goodwood park hotel's mooncakes.. not bad.. the snowskin..
i never eat mooncake b4!
I tried 2 years le. Last year friend bought me from one of the hotel but I can't remember where le...shit!! JB have it too but I no chance to go there leh.
Originally posted by cuddles:my gosh! where got custard mooncakes? I also want!
that day I tried goodwood park hotel's mooncakes.. not bad.. the snowskin..
you sure or not?
someone gave us the things yesterday.. bought yesterday too..
the durian snowskin mooncakes smelt like (in the words of my colleagues) �
and frankly, they're spot on...
they stank...
p.s. the goodwood park ones that is..
Originally posted by the Bear:you sure or not?
someone gave us the things yesterday.. bought yesterday too..
the durian snowskin mooncakes smelt like (in the words of my colleagues) �
and frankly, they're spot on...
they stank...
p.s. the goodwood park ones that is..
not the durian one.. mariott durian not bad..
the other flavors one
btw I just searched online.. they say custard mooncakes could be found in TAKA fair.. :)
Hongkong Peninsular Brand or something..
Now they even have curry mooncakes!
yah.. actually, the original mooncakes had meat and stuff like that in them...
i still stick to the lard-laden teochew traditional stuff.. a lump.. no eggs, no bullshit.. ![]()
my uncle bought the mariott durian lah...but he said must put in freezer compartment.
Normal compartment cannot meh? frozen le so hard to cut.
Originally posted by rainee:Now they even have curry mooncakes!
Got Chap Chai Mooncakes? Goes well with rice too.
Originally posted by cuddles:not the durian one.. mariott durian not bad..
the other flavors one
btw I just searched online.. they say custard mooncakes could be found in TAKA fair.. :)
Hongkong Peninsular Brand or something..
If get a chance, will try the Marriot's durian mooncake. The popular Goodwood Park durian mooncake tastes nothing but more sugar. The sweetness overwhelms the aroma of durian. Very sweet, sweetness over the extreme.
Marriot's durian cake not bad. They used real durian not those artificial taste. I find it too sweet le maybe cos of the snow skin.
I LOOKING FOR CUSTARD MOONCAKE!!!! ehheheeeee...............
I got tried the marriot Durian leh.. :) at the Raffles City there got moon cake promo..
yeah.. the snowskin thingy they say must be kept frozen within 1 hour of purchase.. if not will melt or something..
Ya must keep frozen but if u want to eat how? So hard like stone. I eat till no mood.
Sian half... FYI must finish it within one week.
Introducing Halal Mooncakes
SINGAPORE: The Muslim fasting month of Ramadan gets a unique twist in Singapore.
As it coincides with preparations for the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival which falls on September 14, one community organisation has come up with a novel idea of a halal mooncake.
Like vegetarian mooncakes, the pastry is made from vegetable oil, instead of lard, which some traditional recipes call for.
The halal version uses traditional lotus paste filling mixed with chopped dates, which are traditionally eaten by Muslims when they break fast at sundown.
800 of these halal mooncakes will be given out to some 700 participants at a community event this Sunday.
Lending the organisers a hand, Dr Amy Khor, Mayor of South West District, and 30 non-Muslim students from Nan Hua High School made a batch of 250 mooncakes on Wednesday.
Besides trying their hand at mooncake making, the students also attended a briefing on Islamic culture and a guided tour of a mosque.
The rest of the mooncakes will be made by cooked food cooperative, NTUC Foodfare. - CNA/vm 
Normal Mooncakes is already vegeterian should be able to be consume by muslim friends right? Bak Chang Halad i heard lor...but not mooncakes.![]()
I order from Szechuan Garden Rum and Raisin with Chocolate Truffle mooncake...
Originally posted by deathwish:I order from Szechuan Garden Rum and Raisin with Chocolate Truffle mooncake...
YOu make me wanna eat it. How much? Have you tasted the sample?
Marriot's Hotel Wild Strawberry Yoghurt Mooncakes is good. But quite exp, $8 for a tiny piece ><
it would be really cool if there are mooncakes with toppings on top like donuts.
Originally posted by �白:it would be really cool if there are mooncakes with toppings on top like donuts.
ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
office teabreak eating pure durian mookcake, shiok ![]()