Where to get?
I cant seem to find them in supermarkets!
heck, if bread papa or something can have grind up vanilla in their breads, I dont see why I cant buy them from supermarkets!
Which supermarkets did you go to? I always see them in the Cold Storage outlets I go to, with the herbs.
Really, thanks, will check it out. Which Cold sotrage?
Parkway Parade? They also have saffron threads and potted herbs......
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Where to get?
I cant seem to find them in supermarkets!
heck, if bread papa or something can have grind up vanilla in their breads, I dont see why I cant buy them from supermarkets!
Real Vanilla Pods are quite expensive & high in cost of coz not as expensive as White/BlackTruffle. Most confectionaries are using Vanilla Essence rather than grinded Vanilla Pod. Specialised Organic/Gourmet stores & Selected Supermarkets would have. Try certain gourmet Cold Storage outlets, like Jason's Market Place, Organic Stores like Brown Rice Paradise & SuperNature or Gourmet Store like Culina.
Vanilla pod - the second most expensive spice in the world after saffron.
Sorry to correct OCEANOS. Truffles are less expensive than vanilla pods since a pound of white truffle cost up to US$2000 and a pound of grade AA vanilla pod cost up to US$4000.
Cant seemed to find quality vanilla pods unless ordering in quantity from Culina. But can get them from Phoon huat co. Think it cost $5 plus for one or 2 short pods.
Originally posted by PtePinkY:Vanilla pod - the second most expensive spice in the world after saffron.
Sorry to correct OCEANOS. Truffles are less expensive than vanilla pods since a pound of white truffle cost up to US$2000 and a pound of grade AA vanilla pod cost up to US$4000.
Cant seemed to find quality vanilla pods unless ordering in quantity from Culina. But can get them from Phoon huat co. Think it cost $5 plus for one or 2 short pods.
Well grading is applicable to almost everything not only culinary spice or ingredients like saffron, truffles, vanilla pod, bird's nest, sharkfins, foie gras etc. Pricing can be affected by availability & demand so it varies, fluctuates & is subjective. Spending power of the people who wants them also play a part. Many may think Saffron is the most expensive but in this era, in reality it may not be so, its just a misconception.
For your info in 2007, the average cost of White Truffles from Italy cost about USD$40,000 - $50,000 per kilo which is about USD$18,120 - $22,650 per pound.
A simple analogy, some people are willing to buy a Hermes Birkin that cost about USD$16,000 or more, not many are willing or can afford, many would rather buy a brandless bag that cost alot lesser about USD$10 or more, it is still a bag. The moment people see a Louis Vuitton, Many tend to think or feel that Louis Vuitton is more expensive compared to other labels but in reality it may not be so, other labels similar apparels can cost as much or even more than Louis Vuitton, its just a misconception.
Quality & Fineness in life comes with a price, if you are willing or can afford to, you can have the best. You can have the Best ingredient couriered to your doorstep from the direct production source & place. Even with the fineness of ingredient, you need to have superb culinary skill to produce the best cuisine.
totally agree about having the finest ingredient needs a superb culinary skill to produce the best.
but truffles should not be classified as a spice which i believe to be classified as exotic spore thou there was a debate on CW asia several issues back. Mentioning about spice, theres is no argument about the most valuable would be saffron(to my most un-updated info since one of the top priced items like the glass eel(obviously not a spice))
back to vanilla pods, the quality is very straight forward. Like the most sought after Madagascan vanilla pod. Even my clueless girlfriend could tell me that its the best vanilla she ever had. Serving it in the best way i personally think, Panna cotta
. Got it from the uk at like just below 50 bucks for almost a dozen.
When vanilla is not avaliable for everyday use(which i usually keep them in a sugar jar), i would use a vanilla seed paste from japan(which i bought a whole lot of them in FHA 08) and mix them with vanilla oil before using. They smell pretty identical to Mexican beans.
The worst vanilla pods are from Hainan island, china. Retails at RMB30 and smelt like trash. Got them when i was there for a back to kampung holiday. Would replace chinese pods for vanilla essence. On appearance, there were very few white spots, 16 to 18 cm, moist and gives little gloss. Looks like a grade b. $6 seemed to be reasonable to get since it comes in a vacum pack of 2.
Throw the 2 packets away and there goes the chinese reputation again.
BTW, i am 100% singaporean not PRC
Yep, real vanilla pod is indeed very expensive. Think it costs about $10 for just a tiny amount.
I recently bought a bottle of vanilla paste and I am yet to try it out on cakes and desserts I am going to make.
wah lau panna cotta...damn bloody nice..had it at Le Cinq once...wah shiok
Originally posted by Master -_-:wah lau panna cotta...damn bloody nice..had it at Le Cinq once...wah shiok
Well just now i had a lousy Panna Cotta & Caramel Cheesecake for dessert. The Panna Cotta taste so bland & rubbery, cheesecake hard as rock...
Originally posted by PtePinkY:totally agree about having the finest ingredient needs a superb culinary skill to produce the best.
but truffles should not be classified as a spice which i believe to be classified as exotic spore thou there was a debate on CW asia several issues back. Mentioning about spice, theres is no argument about the most valuable would be saffron(to my most un-updated info since one of the top priced items like the glass eel(obviously not a spice))
back to vanilla pods, the quality is very straight forward. Like the most sought after Madagascan vanilla pod. Even my clueless girlfriend could tell me that its the best vanilla she ever had. Serving it in the best way i personally think, Panna cotta
. Got it from the uk at like just below 50 bucks for almost a dozen.
When vanilla is not avaliable for everyday use(which i usually keep them in a sugar jar), i would use a vanilla seed paste from japan(which i bought a whole lot of them in FHA 08) and mix them with vanilla oil before using. They smell pretty identical to Mexican beans.
The worst vanilla pods are from Hainan island, china. Retails at RMB30 and smelt like trash. Got them when i was there for a back to kampung holiday. Would replace chinese pods for vanilla essence. On appearance, there were very few white spots, 16 to 18 cm, moist and gives little gloss. Looks like a grade b. $6 seemed to be reasonable to get since it comes in a vacum pack of 2.
Throw the 2 packets away and there goes the chinese reputation again.
BTW, i am 100% singaporean not PRC
Well what you pay is what you get, you pay peanut you get monkey. There is nothing wrong with "Made In China" products. Majority of consumer products globally are "Made In China" or have raw material/component produced in China. Its not about Chinese Reputation but the integrity of the traders & foreign investors who set up their production line in China, some may not necessary be Chinese National, so its subjective, its best to keep an open mind & heart.