Originally posted by Master -_-:Technically, this is a fondue fountain..
A fondue doesn't look like that...
Fondue is a Swiss communal dish shared at the table in an earthenware pot (caquelon) over a small burner (rechaud)
Read: Earthenware pot.
a chafing dish in which fondue is made..(from M-W)
Chafing Dish is kind of portable grate ("a dish of Coles") raised on a tripod, originally heated with charcoal in a brazier, and used for foods that required gentle cooking, away from the fierce heat of direct flames.
Therefore, the picture depicts nothing like a chafing dish for fondue...
All of them looks the same...
Finally some discussion-worthy post,
My stand is your definition or rather wiki's definition of fondue is not up to date. Look at the evolution of food/culture and apply the same theory on fondue. In the past, our grandparents' time, satay is called satay because it had 3 pieces of meat on a wooden stick. Today, it ain't the same anymore eh?
http://images.google.com.sg/imgres?imgurl=http://www.yorkhotel.com.sg/images/chocolate_fondue.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.yorkhotel.com.sg/promoFnB.html&usg=__4N2yxxcnd46ORbADLjMsY0uTv3A=&h=321&w=294&sz=31&hl=en&start=17&um=1&tbnid=SvmaXaB07rWfZM:&tbnh=118&tbnw=108&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dchocolate%2Bfondue%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26sa%3DN
That link is by a local hotel.. I believe they call your "Fondue fountain" or whatsnot.. fondue..
If u ask for fondue, automatically, they will serve cheese in it unless stated otherwise..But i asked for chocolate fountain before and they do understand what i wanted..So, u wanna omit the fondue or not, is by your own discretion, as long u get ur order across...
Originally posted by Detached:Finally some discussion-worthy post,
My stand is your definition or rather wiki's definition of fondue is not up to date. Look at the evolution of food/culture and apply the same theory on fondue. In the past, our grandparents' time, satay is called satay because it had 3 pieces of meat on a wooden stick. Today, it ain't the same anymore eh?
http://images.google.com.sg/imgres?imgurl=http://www.yorkhotel.com.sg/images/chocolate_fondue.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.yorkhotel.com.sg/promoFnB.html&usg=__4N2yxxcnd46ORbADLjMsY0uTv3A=&h=321&w=294&sz=31&hl=en&start=17&um=1&tbnid=SvmaXaB07rWfZM:&tbnh=118&tbnw=108&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dchocolate%2Bfondue%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26sa%3DN
That link is by a local hotel.. I believe they call your "Fondue fountain" or whatsnot.. fondue..
oh now it's about evolution? ![]()
I mean by having 1 hotel as the sampling size doesn't even substantiate that fondue can constitute chocolate..
I mean if u google images for "Chocolate Fountain" and "Chocolate Fondue", you will see that chocolate fountain garners 30% more results..but still, it doesn't mean i'm still right anyway
Originally posted by Master -_-:oh now it's about evolution?
I mean by having 1 hotel as the sampling size doesn't even substantiate that fondue can constitute chocolate..
I mean if u google images for "Chocolate Fountain" and "Chocolate Fondue", you will see that chocolate fountain garners 30% more results..but still, it doesn't mean i'm still right anyway
Of course not, I'm not saying I'm damn right either. Discussion should be very civil and tolerant of opposing views right? ![]()
Say, an Italian chef were to whip out some meatballs spaghetti with meat chunks in a tomato paste in a bowl, you wouldn't call it bak chor mee right? ![]()
likewise with hum in mee siam ![]()
i tot that you can find chocolate fountain in TANGS Vivocity...i remembered i've seen it there before
Originally posted by Master -_-:oh now it's about evolution?
And wait, I didn't say fondue consitute chocolate.
A fondue, in its strictest term, is most of the time cheese. Say at a dining place, there're both cheese and chocolate fondue on the menu, It'd be natural to say "chocolate fondue" if you want "chocolate fondue"
Originally posted by Detached:And wait, I didn't say fondue consitute chocolate.
A fondue, in its strictest term, is most of the time cheese. Say at a dining place, there're both cheese and chocolate fondue on the menu, It'd be natural to say "chocolate fondue" if you want "chocolate fondue"
but i would say chocolate fountain leh and i'm very sure they will understand..but it's all about how the restaurants construct their menu...
Originally posted by Master -_-:
but i would say chocolate fountain leh and i'm very sure they will understand..but it's all about how the restaurants construct their menu...
Again, a matter of perspective. My opinion of fondue is, directed quoted from wikipedia like you did, "Diners use forks to dip bits of food (most often bread) into the warm semi-liquid sauce"
Of course, I must agree that you raised a very good point - how restaurants construct their menu. :)
Oh my goodness, really I lost interest to read this thread liao. Sianz
Ok, i shall be nice a bit.
Haagen Dazs has nice chocolate fondue.
Originally posted by Detached:Again, a matter of perspective. My opinion of fondue is, directed quoted from wikipedia like you did, "Diners use forks to dip bits of food (most often bread) into the warm semi-liquid sauce"
Of course, I must agree that you raised a very good point - how restaurants construct their menu. :)
wah no need to explain until so detailed la.. be it fountain or fondue, as long as we understand, it doesn't matter right?
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:Ok, i shall be nice a bit.
Haagen Dazs has nice chocolate fondue.
HD very ex lah. Rolls Royce of ice cream leh! Their chocolate fondae is dark chocolate or not?
ask the pple at the shop to sjhow a sample
Originally posted by Fantagf:
HD very ex lah. Rolls Royce of ice cream leh! Their chocolate fondae is dark chocolate or not?
Saw this pic online. From Haagen Dazs, and it's for 2 persons serving - $24.90. I don't think it's really that ex.

Originally posted by Miss Tiny:Saw this pic online. From Haagen Dazs, and it's for 2 persons serving - $24.90. I don't think it's really that ex.
The price is reasonable considering that per scoop already cost that much. But if one does not eat fast, ice cream will melt soon. There is no dry ice.
There's already a thread for chocolate fondue, can go and see for more recommendations. http://movies.sgforums.com/forums/4/topics/226011
I think one of them mentioned swiss culture for their dark chocolate fondue.
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:There's already a thread for chocolate fondue, can go and see for more recommendations. http://movies.sgforums.com/forums/4/topics/226011
Thanks.
I have a brand new 3-tiered chocolate fountain for sale,
Selling at only $50, probably the best value for money chocolate fountain around. (Retail price is $79).
Sorry i think i posted the wrong link hehe.
Pls click here for more details!