Hullo!
I am considering to cater for my CNY reunion. I wonder if anyone has any good recommendations of caterers for TRADITIONAL Chinese food? (or even steamboat?)
Any ideas if they will cater even on CNY eve?
yes, caterers will have CNY packages out soon (after they are finished with Xmas)
u have to pay a hefty surcharge for catering for CNY
and u have to meet their min. pax
some restaurants do take-out
u go collect yourself on CNY eve
for steamboat, the liao and soup will be pre-packed
im not sure if they provide the pot and gas... this shd be no biggy to get it yourself
u mean the restaurants will settle the liao for steamboat? do u know which ones?
my grandma's hand is injured so don't want her to cook for CNY eve but she insists to have it in her home... so I think must cater...Thanks :)
how many pax?
Err 15? 20?
hmm... too little... u may have to pay a higher price per pax
for catering to be wu hua, need at least 30
here are some u can check out
www.qzin.com.sg (highly recommended)
www.neogarden.com.sg (highly recommended)
www.elsiekitchen.com.sg
www.ylscatering.com.sg
thanksss thanks :)
I will go check them out....
book a restaurant and eat there?
probably cost less than catering
no need to clear up, even better
Originally posted by FireIce:book a restaurant and eat there?
probably cost less than catering
no need to clear up, even better
that's what we prefer.. but my grandma is a very formidable old lady ....
last year we had huge argument about her being too old to cook, why not just eat outside... but she INSIST and of course she wins :|
This year... she injured her hand.. so we have more ammunition...
Menu:
1) 鸿�三文鱼鱼生
Fortune Yu Sheng
2) 如�海鲜�并�化芒��
Fortune Seafood Roll Combination
3) 花雕焗�
Fried Oyster With Chinese Wine
4) 至尊豆�
Supreme Tofu
5) 酱蒸石ç�
Steamed Grouper With Spicy Sauce
6) 蒙�猪扒
Mongolian Pork Chop
7) 当红炸å�鸡
Roasted Chicken
8 ) �竹羊腩煲
Braised Lamb Brisket In Claypot
9) 太å�ç‚’é¥
Fragrant Fish Roe Fried Rice
10) çƒæ��ä»�éœ²åŠ é“¶æ��æžœ
Hot Almond Paste With Gingko Nut
bbq? i know there are places with bbq delivered de =D
otherwiseif you dun mind steamboat then just buy the meat and stuff? soup very easy de just add the seasoning can get le
it's the old people's way of showing love and feeling useful mah .....
instead of not letting her do the cooking, how about helping her out instead ?
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:
that's what we prefer.. but my grandma is a very formidable old lady ....last year we had huge argument about her being too old to cook, why not just eat outside... but she INSIST and of course she wins :|
This year... she injured her hand.. so we have more ammunition...
you have my respect for being so filial. Good grandson/granddaughter.
Originally posted by Fatum:it's the old people's way of showing love and feeling useful mah .....
instead of not letting her do the cooking, how about helping her out instead ?
I know that... but u know.. CNY reunion is not about getting everyone tired out from preparing the loads of food she prepares...
She not only prepares a HUGEEEEE feast for steamboat but also....
fried noodles, fried beehoon
chicken curry
pig intestine soup
dessert
steam chicken
braised duck
Oh I forgot.. 'LOR' as well.. stewed pork....
And we take forever to finish the leftovers....even though her cooking is really really nice and yummy... and as long as she continues cooking.. with or without our help.. this massive feast is what she 'expects'. And now that quite a few of my cousins have gotten married, they don't even eat a proper dinner . they just come, eat a few bites and leave for their in laws. Can't blame them.
So...*gasp* ...yeah. we gotta cater or something......
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:I know that... but u know.. CNY reunion is not about getting everyone tired out from preparing the loads of food she prepares...
She not only prepares a HUGEEEEE feast for steamboat but also....
fried noodles, fried beehoon
chicken curry
pig intestine soup
dessert
steam chicken
braised duckOh I forgot.. 'LOR' as well.. stewed pork....
And we take forever to finish the leftovers....even though her cooking is really really nice and yummy... and as long as she continues cooking.. with or without our help.. this massive feast is what she 'expects'. And now that quite a few of my cousins have gotten married, they don't even eat a proper dinner . they just come, eat a few bites and leave for their in laws. Can't blame them.So...*gasp* ...yeah. we gotta cater or something......
I think it not too difficult to cook nowsaday. Instant soup, prepack steam boat stuff, roast duck/chicken from the stall, prepared cut "sang yu", fresh prawns....vola a steamboat dinner!
Well, we old ppl believe must have leftover so that accounts for the more than enough (excessive amout) of food.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:
I think it not too difficult to cook nowsaday. Instant soup, prepack steam boat stuff, roast duck/chicken from the stall, prepared cut "sang yu", fresh prawns....vola a steamboat dinner!
Well, we old ppl believe must have leftover so that accounts for the more than enough (excessive amout) of food.
but ah ma will not be 'satisfied' with that....... :(
Instant soup? I can imagine her scolding me liao for even suggesting it. Worse she will think it is because I don't like her cooking!!
A bit of leftovers is okay... the leftovers for CNY... I deep freeze everything.. and...sometimes can last me 3 months since I am at the bottom of the food chain... I get everything...
KFC cannot de?
KFC? Variety not there leh...
Actually this caterer is not bad.. www.jiale.com.sg, they have reunion dinner menu
NEO Garden is not bad be it food or service.... Ordered before...