Hi, does anyone here know where i can get cream cheese? Aside from the really expensive ones that cold storage that cost about 12 bucks per packet. I'm trying to make cheesecake but the price of the cheese in cold storage puts me off. Thanks
i used to buy philadelphia cream cheese from supermarkets
not bery ex mah
Originally posted by FireIce:i used to buy philadelphia cream cheese from supermarkets
not bery ex mah
Are'nt those like 12 bucks per packet?
i buy in tub. like those margarine one
i think oni $5 or $6?
if u hiam expensive then just make butter cake lah.
Ok, thanks alot.
I thought Philidephia (anyone knows the right spelling?) has cream cheese. I bought it before. Taste so so only.
i love it when ppl straight away hit REPLY after reading topic sentence (dun even know got read first post or not)
me normally read 1st post nia.
I usually use this for cheese cakes. Each block is 250g and I usually get a packet of 2 x 250g which cost about A$7-A$8. Even with the conversion rate, I wouldn't think you need to pay $12 for it.

Philadelphia cheese is the one to use for American-style cheese cakes.
i got make b4 leh.
Cheese cakes are yum yum...
Cream Cheese bagel with salmon. BEST! he he
My saliva's dripping...
Cheaper cream cheese can be bought at Phoon Huat. There's different brands... most of them quite suitable for cheesecake. What matters the most is the recipe that you are using. W/o a good recipe a better brand of creamcheese is pointless... Have fun baking!
Thanks, any of you guys know aq good recipe?
Originally posted by Chris88110:Thanks, any of you guys know aq good recipe?
I usually make oreo cheesecake. I can't remember where I get the recipe from. The recipe is pretty simple to follow. Oh yea, you can just get any brand of sour cream for this recipe actually, don't need to follow the recipe exactly.
Oreo cheesecake
1 pkg. (1 lb. 2 oz.) OREO Cookies, divided
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter or margarine, melted
4 pkg. (8 oz. each) Philadelphia Cream Cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup Breakstone's or Knudsen Sour Cream
4 eggs
PREHEAT oven to 325°F. Line 13x9-inch baking pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides of pan. Place 30 of the cookies in food processor; cover. Process 30 to 45 sec. or until finely ground. Add butter; mix well. Press firmly onto bottom of prepared pan.
BEAT cream cheese, sugar and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended. Add sour cream; mix well. Add eggs, one at a time, beating just until blended after each addition. Chop remaining cookies. Gently stir 1-1/2 cups of the chopped cookies into cream cheese batter. Pour over crust; sprinkle with the remaining chopped cookies.
BAKE 45 min. or until center is almost set. Cool. Refrigerate 4 hours or overnight. Lift cheesecake from pan, using foil handles. Cut into 16 pieces to serve. Store leftover cheesecake in refrigerator.
Have fun baking! ![]()
i prefer the cranberry bagel, topped with cream cheese, sundried tomatoes & cripy bacon strips.
And if you are doing cheesecake, do consider trying out the tofu cheese cake recipe.
Cheese cake is nice!