Where can find good yam paste with ginkgo nuts? So far i tried at Xian Qi Restaurant not bad.
is it called orh ni?
Yup.
yup
real yam paste does not have gingko nuts...
it's yam paste.. and when served, shallots fried in lard is poured over the paste, mixed in and eaten...
sometimes, if desired, there's also some pumpkin paste added with the yam paste..
the shallots and lard is added just the same...
the ones served now with gingko and coconut milk are pretty horrific..
Originally posted by the Bear:real yam paste does not have gingko nuts...
it's yam paste.. and when served, shallots fried in lard is poured over the paste, mixed in and eaten...
sometimes, if desired, there's also some pumpkin paste added with the yam paste..
the shallots and lard is added just the same...
the ones served now with gingko and coconut milk are pretty horrific..
Any idea where that can be ordered?
Originally posted by lianamaster:Any idea where that can be ordered?
at those traditional teochew restaurant...
Originally posted by tare:
at those traditional teochew restaurant...
ok....
but i only want to eat the paste without the yellow nuts thingys.where can i find?
Originally posted by brainerror:but i only want to eat the paste without the yellow nuts thingys.where can i find?
It's not a lot, u just dun eat it lor....
the original teochew reciepe is pumkin yam paste. It is very good
are u referring to the teochew favourite - ou nee ?
Originally posted by Fantagf:are u referring to the teochew favourite - ou nee ?
ou nee or orh ni... it's the same. ![]()
i dont know.i just dont want the yellow yellow nut thingy.
Yucks, that is the most disgusting dessert in the entire galaxy.![]()
si ditzy!![]()
Originally posted by brainerror:i dont know.i just dont want the yellow yellow nut thingy.
Ginkgo nuts are good stuff leh...
Originally posted by brainerror:si ditzy!
Its my honest opinion, you will never catch me dead eating that crap.![]()
Originally posted by lianamaster:Ginkgo nuts are good stuff leh...
cos it taste like vomit...
No its not. Crap, crap, and crap, with crap, is still crap.![]()
i dont like it just make me waste half a bowl of yam paste when i take it out.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
cos it taste like vomit...
Agree! The yam paste to be exact!
Gingko nuts is a bonus, at making it worse.![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:Agree! The yam paste to be exact!
Gingko nuts is a bonus, at making it worse.
Wrong, gingko nuts has a acid that tastes like vomit. Yam paste is still quite palatable.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Wrong, gingko nuts has a acid that tastes like vomit. Yam paste is still quite palatable.
They both taste the same to me, like crap, just that one is crappier than the other.![]()
so where to find?