around the south bridge road/maxwell rd/cross street/chinatown area??
i'll have to go to that area quite a bit. so i want to find places to eat at etc...
Maxwell Food Centre's famous chicken rice store. It has the longest queue during lunch time, so its hard to miss it.
Chinatown's "Great Wall" claypot frog legs. Served in dark soya sauce and spring onion. Goes really well with the porridge served there.
hong lim fc upstairs vegetarian food
Lots of nice food there.
Maxwell Food Centre - Ngoh Hiang by the ponytail man (stall started by father, existed very long already). - the fun xu dan (ondeh ondeh by chinese lady, hot fav, finish up very fast). - Zen Zen porridge, yummy. The fish slice beehoon nice
Chinatown Food Centre - Dessert nice, jap food not bad, homemade dimsum nice and cheap, chee cheong fun nice, nice claypot rice
Cross Street - Tan Hock Seng traditional shop selling piah - ma di su nice, tau sar piah nice (old shop, existing for very long already)
Hong Lim Food Centre - the fish soup stall ground floor facing shop (nice) but minimum $4 onward. - wanton mee next to this stall nice - crayfish noodles ok only - the bak chor mee Tai Hwa at level 2 superb, nice soup (same taste as the stall formerly in marina food centre before renovation). - Prawn noodles, level 2 is nice
Go try these, and tell us which u like best.
udon back from pluto?
udon, u going to these places by trishaw????
maxwell the chkn rice not nice one loh.
shld try the stall diagonally opposite.
ondeh muz go buy 1st ting in the mrng.
the porridge stall, me luv the raw fish.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:maxwell the chkn rice not nice one loh.
shld try the stall diagonally opposite.
ondeh muz go buy 1st ting in the mrng.
the porridge stall, me luv the raw fish.
the tian tian chicken rice nice leh. but some said standard drop, i long time no eat now dunno their standard.
ondeh ondeh very fast snapped up. I like both the porridge and raw fish from Zen Zen. U go try the ngoh hiang, really nice, chilli nice
me tried both de chkn rice.
tian tian loses out by alot leh.
the ngoh hiang me last time got eat.
bt aft they spilt, me duno which stall liao.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:me tried both de chkn rice.
tian tian loses out by alot leh.
the ngoh hiang me last time got eat.
bt aft they spilt, me duno which stall liao.
the stall with the ponytail man easy to spot lah. see ponytail man at ngoh hiang stall means is the stall liao lor. but someone told me the other stall nicer. this i dunno i hv not eaten from the other stall
thks for the heads up!
u r welcome
People's Park Food Centre - oyster oil chicken wings from the soup stall, niang dou fu, fried kway teow.
Chinatown Food Centre - Hongkong Street Dim Sum - prawn chee cheong fun, char siew pao, prawn "harkou", fish ball noodle (facing the lift), fried bee hoon and noddle with traditional ketchup.
Maxwell Food Centre - Zen Zen porridge, fried fish noodle but I like only the fried fish only, always order only fried fish with soup no noodle
HongLim Food Centre - same as Fantagf's choices, the Outram fried kway Teow is also nice.
Chinatown food centre 2nd most popular claypot chicken rice, so well hidden, you can't find it.![]()
From hong lim, I only like ah hui hokkien prawn noodles, 2nd floor, next to the wu xiang stall. I always order soup, then add a ton of chilli powder.
Of all the hokkien prawn noodles I've eaten in singapore, this is the best one without the need to queue. I would say dorset road one is the best in the universe, but you have to queue like no tomorrow![]()
Maxwell food centre also got good claypot chicken rice, but pity its waiting time, honestly the world would end before your order arrived.![]()
lian he ben ji claypot rice?
my fav.....
Originally posted by ditzy:Chinatown food centre 2nd most popular claypot chicken rice, so well hidden, you can't find it.
From hong lim, I only like ah hui hokkien prawn noodles, 2nd floor, next to the wu xiang stall. I always order soup, then add a ton of chilli powder.
Of all the hokkien prawn noodles I've eaten in singapore, this is the best one without the need to queue. I would say dorset road one is the best in the universe, but you have to queue like no tomorrow
What dorset road hokkien prawn noodles? I went the place before nothing to eat. All flats there. Food centre is across the road. U recommend right place or not?
Maxwell food centre the mee goreng with sunshine egg ![]()
the last stall right at the back
Originally posted by Fantagf:
What dorset road hokkien prawn noodles? I went the place before nothing to eat. All flats there. Food centre is across the road. U recommend right place or not?
Yah lar yah lar that one lar.
I call it dorset road coz thats where I lived when I was a kid, and the prawn noodles have been there ever since. Those days, maggie mee was sold with the tik tik tok tok things.![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:Yah lar yah lar that one lar.
I call it dorset road coz thats where I lived when I was a kid, and the prawn noodles have been there ever since. Those days, maggie mee was sold with the tik tik tok tok things.
That day went there, there are 2 prawn noodle stalls, which one?
In fact, I ate from both stalls. I like the stall with the china wife, $2 - the soup is great, nice, tasty so yummy, has prawn taste. The fried shallots taste real delicious. The other one with the fat wife minimum $3, the taste of soup so so only, when I ate the soup was full of garlic smell, no prawn taste,don't like it.
That day went there, there are 2 prawn noodle stalls, which one?In fact, I ate from both stalls. I like the stall with the china wife, $2 - the soup is great, nice, tasty so yummy, has prawn taste. The fried shallots taste real delicious. The other one with the fat wife minimum $3, the taste of soup so so only, when I ate the soup was full of garlic smell, no prawn taste,don't like it.
Which one served its prawns with the heads still on?![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:Which one served its prawns with the heads still on?
I am not sure though. Because sometimes u gotta order the more expensive prawn noodle to know it. but when i eat the stall that i said not nice they did not completely peel off the shells of the prawns.
Did you have to queue up extremely long time for it? coz if you didn't you are at the wrong place.![]()
Ok, I checked for you, the name of the stall is wah kee big prawn noodles, at Cambridge Road Market & Cooked Food, also known as pek kio market and food centre.
Originally posted by ditzy:Did you have to queue up extremely long time for it? coz if you didn't you are at the wrong place.
The 2 stalls also dun require queuing. I recommend u go taste the prawn noodles from the stall with the china wife. REal good value for money!
You're at the wrong place.![]()