Restaurant food tastes mediocre at best with unduly marked up prices.
Given the obscene food quality (and quantity) to price ratio, it's arguable that no customer service or ambience, however good, can make dining out a pleasant experience.
Even then, customer service is plain shit nowadays. Everyone still pays a 10% service charge to be treated like shit.
Last week, I had a traumatic experience (which I won't describe in detail) at Asian Kitchen involving a rude waiter who was basically bitter about everyone getting ahead of him in life while he had to work a dead-end, shitty job with no prospects whatsoever for slave wage on a Sunday afternoon just to pay for his next installment of handphone bill, comic book rental fees and game arcade escapades because he was too obtuse and thus unmotivated to improve himself.
Yesterday, I had a plate of nasi padang with fish fillet and potatoes at the NUS canteen for a grand total of $1.80.
Guess which meal spoilt my mood for the rest of the week, gave me diarrhoea and made me feel almost as stupid as said waiter inherently is.
the waiter is not stupid, it is you who is retarded
God condemns eating out but encourage eating at friends' or relatives' houses.I personally feels this way can save a lot of money.
you can try 2 good restaurants (that also have great service) @ mohamed sultan rd / near river valley rd. walkable from douby god mrt. average price per person $100.
The Tavern. Rated 8.4/10 average, 8 reviews. suggested meal: lobster bisque ($18) or oysters, pan fried foie gras ($27), roasted rack of baby lamb ($40) , cherry jubilee ($26). they have nice cocktails like kamikaze ($18) too. The grilled Wagyu beef has a nice smokey taste but $90 for 200grams.
The 2nd place nearby is called Sage. Rated 8/10, 57 reviews. suggested meal: ... set lunches. quite a lot of choices. we had tomato and crab claw salad, cappuccino of wild mushroom, foie gras on crumble, cod, duck confit.

White miso marinated black cod with roasted chicken jus, pomme boulangere and nasu salad - St Pierre
Roasted fillet of cod topped with prawn and cognac butter on gratin of salt cod brandade with sun dried tomatoes and russet potatoes, basil pesto emulsion and lemon confit - Sage

Sautéed duck foie gras with fig compote on apple, pecan and raisin crumble, emulsion of verjus and beurre noisette - Sage
foie gras - the tavern
roasted rack of baby lamb - the tavern
To TS, imo customer service in sg restaurants is still very good, i cant remember any close to 'plain shit' experiences. asian kitchen is a cafe not restaurant though. most restaurants all wait staff are always polite, courteous and professional, places like st pierre will brush bread crumbs off your table into a silver platter too
Singaporean eat like there is no value in money.
Originally posted by Stomp661:God condemns eating out but encourage eating at friends' or relatives' houses.I personally feels this way can save a lot of money.
where does God condemn eating out..?
i think he said something like eat drink and be merry after your labour, but in moderation
ok, just remember to practice what you preach.
only God and priests preach
Originally posted by RETARDED_MORON:Restaurant food tastes mediocre at best with unduly marked up prices.
Given the obscene food quality (and quantity) to price ratio, it's arguable that no customer service or ambience, however good, can make dining out a pleasant experience.
Even then, customer service is plain shit nowadays. Everyone still pays a 10% service charge to be treated like shit.
Last week, I had a traumatic experience (which I won't describe in detail) at Asian Kitchen involving a rude waiter who was basically bitter about everyone getting ahead of him in life while he had to work a dead-end, shitty job with no prospects whatsoever for slave wage on a Sunday afternoon just to pay for his next installment of handphone bill, comic book rental fees and game arcade escapades because he was too obtuse and thus unmotivated to improve himself.
Yesterday, I had a plate of nasi padang with fish fillet and potatoes at the NUS canteen for a grand total of $1.80.
Guess which meal spoilt my mood for the rest of the week, gave me diarrhoea and made me feel almost as stupid as said waiter inherently is.
Obviously your choice of restaurants suck and you are no food connoisseur (though I'm not either lol).
As for your preferred choice of "restaurants" to eat out at,
I think if you were to consider "Asian Kitchen" worthy as a "restaurant", you were simply stupid. Get over it.
As for the proper restaurants,
all of which are considered to be "fine dining", as opposed to something as pathetic as "Jack's Place", which counts as one of the lousiest restaurants in Singapore from all that I have seen,
all of which most definitely do not have waiters like you have just complained about; such service is simply unheard of,
and all of which have simply ridiculously high prices,
so obviously, the only reason people "eat out" at proper restaurants that are completely unlike what you described, is for the status, flaunting their wealth and perhaps their strange taste for certain kinds of foods.
As for me,
I eat out simply to enjoy some time with family or friends, regardless of how crappy the service is, regardless of how outrageous the prices are and regardless of obscene food quality.
Though if you are actually going to a proper "restaurant", you wouldn't be facing any of the three problems stated above.
Then again, who the hell has time and money for a proper "restaurant", moreover one that we can't even pronounce its name properly?
Settle for something like what GOF mentioned above, or maybe simple meal @ The Astons? Asian Kitchen doesn't count as a restaurant already imho.
Originally posted by {}==[GOD OF FUCK:::;;::>:only God and priests preach
no, my papa also preach...once a while, i told him..papa, dun preach, I'm in love.
for me, a nice instant noodle will do...
Originally posted by Dejomel:Obviously your choice of restaurants suck and you are no food connoisseur (though I'm not either lol).
I think if you were to consider "Asian Kitchen" worthy as a "restaurant", you were simply stupid. Get over it.
As for the proper restaurants,all of which are considered to be "fine dining", as opposed to something as pathetic as "Jack's Place", which counts as one of the lousiest restaurants in Singapore from all that I have seen,
all of which most definitely do not have waiters like you have just complained about; such service is simply unheard of,and all of which have simply ridiculously high prices,
so obviously, the only reason people "eat out" at proper restaurants that are completely unlike what you described, is for the status, flaunting their wealth and perhaps their strange taste for certain kinds of foods.
As for me,
I eat out simply to enjoy some time with family or friends, regardless of how crappy the service is, regardless of how outrageous the prices are and regardless of obscene food quality.
Though if you are actually going to a proper "restaurant", you wouldn't be facing any of the three problems stated above.
Then again, who the hell has time and money for a proper "restaurant", moreover one that we can't even pronounce its name properly?
Settle for something like what GOF mentioned above, or maybe simple meal @ The Astons? Asian Kitchen doesn't count as a restaurant already imho.
I concur.
Originally posted by ditzy:I concur.
I object.
Originally posted by Dejomel:Obviously your choice of restaurants suck and you are no food connoisseur (though I'm not either lol).
As for the proper restaurants,all of which are considered to be "fine dining", as opposed to something as pathetic as "Jack's Place", which counts as one of the lousiest restaurants in Singapore from all that I have seen,
all of which most definitely do not have waiters like you have just complained about; such service is simply unheard of,and all of which have simply ridiculously high prices,
As for me,
Asian kitchen is not a restaurant.
I have a friend who applied for a waiter job at Asian Kitchen.
The working hours is 6 days a week 48 hours and the salary is only 1k.
The GM of the restaurant is simply a cooky old fool. He is a O level graduate who managed to become a GM after slowly getting promoted from waiter all the way to GM thus he has dog eyes that looks down on people and like to eat them by giving them low wages and working long hours.
Rubbish GM giving lousy wages to the staff who in turns gives you lousy service.
The good restaurants will pay their waiter at least 1.2k or 1.3k for a 6 days, 48 hours work week job
it's cheaper and much more convenient to eat out in Singapore. I could spend as little as $12 for 2 people at the local food court or probably less than $10 at the local food centers.
I'd spent at least $30 everytime i make a meal for 2 people. Given $30, I could easily spend it on steamboat buffet for 2 people although all but not as delicious as what I could get for $12.
Food is cheap in Singapore. A meal for 2 in the country that i come from could amount to $50.
Originally posted by automator:
Asian kitchen is not a restaurant.
I have a friend who applied for a waiter job at Asian Kitchen.
The working hours is 6 days a week 48 hours and the salary is only 1k.
The GM of the restaurant is simply a cooky old fool. He is a O level graduate who managed to become a GM after slowly getting promoted from waiter all the way to GM thus he has dog eyes that looks down on people and like to eat them by giving them low wages and working long hours.
Rubbish GM giving lousy wages to the staff who in turns gives you lousy service.
The good restaurants will pay their waiter at least 1.2k or 1.3k for a 6 days, 48 hours work week job
Generally, I'll quote just a certain clause but this is really too much... 1.3k for 6 days, 48 hours a week.. I really wonder how is one able to survive with 1.3k a month.
Originally posted by dangerboi:Generally, I'll quote just a certain clause but this is really too much... 1.3k for 6 days, 48 hours a week.. I really wonder how is one able to survive with 1.3k a month.
No housing and car loan, no wife, kids and parents to support so can survive with 1.3k a month lor
my problem is not with TS's choice of "restaurant"
but his condescending ways towards people and towards the waiter in particular
he obviously regards himself as an uncaring elite
i think he is just a scum
so what if he is an asean scholar or does well in school
we are human beings foremost
if one does not have the basic respect for fellow human beings
then one absolutely fails as a person period
Well, that itself does not deter me from eating out. Haha...
Wawawa.....like this huh....
Well....mi is think, it is your own particular bad experience, but you cannot generalize like that.....
Anyways I have some good experiences eating in small restaurants.....such as those in Upper Bukit Timah areas near the Coronation stretch there....lots of small restaurants....Tanjong Pagar area.....and also West Coast area.....especially the Japanese restaurants, home-cooked style......I think it's also weird now I remember it....coz they have comic books/ manga there......
But dont ask me the names coz I forgot....those were when I was young....
But mi is think cooking is good also....
I can buy beef, chicken, vegetables, and cook....and I think good thing about cooking is that you can determine and control the outcome as you like...more freedom and more choices.....
And my skills are good.....
But of course the bad thing is that it takes a lot of time.......
I love cooking too, minus the cleaning up part. ![]()
dun worry, cook instant noodle in a cup, dun need the washing part
Originally posted by lianamaster:I love cooking too, minus the cleaning up part.
x2!
i enjoy cooking!
but IMO, its cheaper to eat outside
Originally posted by angel7030:dun worry, cook instant noodle in a cup, dun need the washing part
I thought you always eat shit and noodles in a cup which is good for your health but no good for normal human beings.
Actually, frankly speaking, unless if you cook everday or twice a day, then maybe you will save more than eating outside, cos the ingredients and some foods you buy can be stored up and use often. But if you only cook during a weekend day, surely you will have to spend more than outside, u may not have the ingredients and have to buy a lot or packet of it but use only a tespoon, that will be a waste, better eat outside.
But having said that, eating at home can be healthier and it is good to have some fun in cooking, especially the shopping part.
Hmmm,..me so long never been to wet market liao