Not content with robbing Indonesia blind of its cultural heritage, it appears the goons in Malingsia have set their sights on us.
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/SE%2BAsia/Story/STIStory_431009.html?vgnmr=1
KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA will lay claim to its signature dishes like laksa and chicken rice which are being 'hijacked' by other countries, the tourism minister said according to a report on Thursday.
Those on the list include the fragrant coconut milk rice 'nasi lemak', spicy soup noodle 'laksa' and pork ribs herbal soup 'bak kut teh', Tourism Minister Ng Yen Yen said according to The Star newspaper.
'We cannot continue to let other countries hijack our food. Chili crab is Malaysian. Hainanese chicken rice is Malaysian. We have to lay claim to our food,' she was quoted as saying.
'In the next three months, we will identify certain key dishes (to declare as Malaysian). We have identified laksa... all types of laksa, nasi lemak and bak kut teh,' she added.
Ms Ng said her ministry will announce a strategy on how to brand the dishes as Malaysian.
'That is Part Two. We cannot reveal it yet, but we will let you know soon,' she reportedly said.
Ms Ng did not name which countries were hijacking the dishes, which are popular around the world and particularly in neighbouring Singapore and Indonesia.
Her comments came amid a diplomatic row with Indonesia, where protesters have accused Malaysia of stealing its cultural heritage.
The dispute erupted in Indonesia in August after erroneous reports emerged that Malaysia had screened tourism advertiseme nts featuring the traditional 'pendet' dance of Indonesia's Hindu-majority Bali island.
The ad was actually a promotion for a Discovery Channel programme, but despite an apology from the network, protesters vowing to 'crush Malaysia' have burned national flags and thrown rotten eggs at the embassy in Jakarta.
Malaysian Foreign Minister Anifah Aman will meet his Indonesian counterpart Hassan Wirajuda in Jakarta on Thursday in a bid to cool the tensions which Malaysia has described as a 'grave concern'.
Ties between the two countries are regularly punctuated by rows over cultural issues as well as the welfare of Indonesian labourers and maids working in Malaysia. -- AF
And what does your average Malaysian think of the matter? Does he acknowledge Singapore's equal claim to our shared heritage?
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090611011219AA2EPsY
dear mat indogsia,(typo there,seriusly)
it's really immature to claim arts that our ancestors shared as solely theirs.i mean,look at malaysia and singapore.singapore basically inherit every single traditional culture from malaysia and yet they claimed that it's originally comes from singapore-the best proof is a travelling program at Asian Food channel.It's clearly written at the signboard "ampang something2"(dont remember la,somekind of food),yet they dare to 'say only in singapore'.this is only one of the many things singapore claim to own when it's actually known to come from malaysia.
and did Malaysia call bad names to singapore?NO! it's such a waste of time.arts and cultures are universal,just because it comes from your land,that doesnt give us the least of right to enjoy it as well.
if you want to say that we stole your batik,then why not claim that to hawaii too?
and about addressing your country indon.indon doesnt even mean anything,so why would you get offended by that?and what makes you all mightier than thou to demand us adding 'n' to that?
no wonder you guys steal,rob,rape,kill,fight among yourselves and harassing our peace in here.
turns out that your definition of maling is 'to share arts and culture'.
oohh..patutlah
Are we going to take this lying down? Wake up, Singapore. Malaysians have and will always regard us as their inferiors. It is folly to think that this mentality is only in their government, and that the average Malaysian has any particular love for us, when in fact he despises us as kiasu, arrogant and expects us to give deference to him as the abang.
take la take la
who cares?
people still get robbed and their garmen is stil blatantly corrupt
own problems don't settle, go find trouble
just tell them the road to their Johore checkpoint is like F1 race track...
"hum" from Taiwan also claimed to be from Singapore.
Taiwan should quickly take back their insufferable "hums" from Singapore that pretend to be pathetic angels working behind bars.
yeah, singapore sling also malaysia's.
when one runs out of original ideas, one will make all kinds of dubious claims.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:take la take la
who cares?
people still get robbed and their garmen is stil blatantly corrupt
own problems don't settle, go find trouble
Originally posted by angel7030:just tell them the road to their Johore checkpoint is like F1 race track...
This type of passive, smug superiority gives Malaysians the idea that they can continue to push Singapore around. Our southern neighbors have already shown that they won't put up with this kind of nonsense from the scum up north. How long before we Singaporeans find our balls and put our foot down?
maybe after senile bastard lee is dead, singapore can merge back with malaysia to resolve this problem.
I hope it happens soon, before singapore turns to province of China in next decade.
Originally posted by Typhoon:How long before we Singaporeans find our balls and put our foot down?
you dare to kill senile bastard lee?
Malaysia too free lah always doing this type of stupid things
Originally posted by angel3070:maybe after senile bastard lee is dead, singapore can merge back with malaysia to resolve this problem.
I hope it happens soon, before singapore turns to province of China in next decade.
Your attempts to turn this into a partisan issue are ineffectual. Singaporeans should come together regardless of politcal persuasion to defend our national identity.
Also, that you are willing to trade even the worst of Singaporean government for the communal apartheid of Malaysia speaks volumes.
Originally posted by Typhoon:This type of passive, smug superiority gives Malaysians the idea that they can continue to push Singapore around. Our southern neighbors have already shown that they won't put up with this kind of nonsense from the scum up north. How long before we Singaporeans find our balls and put our foot down?
When LKY stop misleading everyone that the Pledge is only an aspiration, and start acting on the OATH that he made with The PLEDGE on every 9 August -
When the Government stop feeling insecure and return to ALL Singaporeans - our Rights to assemble in Public Place and express ourselves in any form of non-violent expressions -
When this Government begin to trust in the collective Wisdom of 3.2 Million Citizens compared to the handful of his selected elitist talents -
When this Government practices what it expects from Singaporeans -
Perhaps Singaporeans will truly believe in all the hoooopla on every 9 August and make a strong stand for ourselves.
what they are trying to say is that Singapore is nothing but a part of malaysia.
singapore is malaysia; malaysia is singapore.
senile bastard lee maybe sees singapore as province of china, i not sure.
alancia, do you think senile bastard lee thinks singapore is part of china?
i tot y ng yen yen so noob
cannot call nonya kueh / dishes natl dish meh?
Originally posted by Typhoon:Your attempts to turn this into a partisan issue are ineffectual. Singaporeans should come together regardless of politcal persuasion to defend our national identity.
what national identity?
Originally posted by Typhoon:This type of passive, smug superiority gives Malaysians the idea that they can continue to push Singapore around. Our southern neighbors have already shown that they won't put up with this kind of nonsense from the scum up north. How long before we Singaporeans find our balls and put our foot down?
i don't give a shit about SG or m'sia
its not like the stupid country took care of me while i was working for them.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i don't give a shit about SG or m'sia
its not like the stupid country took care of me while i was working for them.
flood island with foreign aliens, locals second class citizens, suck all our money, power all in lee family, senile bastard lee in power for 50 years. kill off local culture.
wow, I must go defend the PAP.![]()
how come hainanese chicken rice become Malaysian? since when Malaysia become part of Hainan?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:how come hainanese chicken rice become Malaysian? since when Malaysia become part of Hainan?
The Malaysian descendants from Yunnan Province must now have accepted that the Hainanese roots of ex-PM Badawi will qualify them to the claim of Hainanese Chicken Rice.
Originally posted by angel3070:flood island with foreign aliens, locals second class citizens, suck all our money, power all in lee family, senile bastard lee in power for 50 years. kill off local culture.
wow, I must go defend the PAP.
madam, at night when U walk home from work, are you happy that you are not ambushed by parang-wielding robbers?? maybe, if U shout, "I am anita", you feel safer?? when U drink ur beer/drinks, and not worry about being caned?? when U want to go somewhere, U raised ur hand, and take a taxi that brings u to your destination and not to a rubber planatation?
U look around, and U see the ugliness in everything SG, Perchance, are you still living in SG?No offense meant.
iceFatboy, you walk around on the streets of Singapore, you see entire fucking island surrounded with foreign aliens, what is your view?
You only see the PAP propaganda shit.
You must learn to see through PAP propaganda, otherwise you will be brainwashed and dumbed down by them.
Originally posted by iceFatboy:are you happy that you are not ambushed by parang-wielding robbers?? maybe, if U shout, "I am anita"
That is PAP fucking propaganda to brainwash you. beware.
I will teach you about propaganda. don't teach you, you become fucking brainwashed by pap fucking propaganda.
Originally posted by angel3070:iceFatboy, you walk around on the streets of Singapore, you see entire fucking island surrounded with foreign aliens, what is your view?
You only see the PAP propaganda shit.
You must learn to see through PAP propaganda, otherwise you will be brainwashed and dumbed down by them.
Oh Hi Ah Chia
huh! Mr Chia??? where is the 100millions?
Originally posted by Atobe:
The Malaysian descendants from Yunnan Province must now have accepted that the Hainanese roots of ex-PM Badawi will qualify them to the claim of Hainanese Chicken Rice.
is Ng Yen Yen descendents from Yunnan? ex-PM Aquino also have Chinese roots and I wonder what the Philippinos would be qualified to claim from China.
for that matter, all Chinese in Malaysia, Thailand, ....who came from China , or whose roots are traced to China, can also make a claim, at anything.
I guess it doesn't cost anything to make a claim, but when you lose it to the original owner, you lose your face. The Hainanese from Hainan haven't spoken yet.
Malaysian never learn.