wow, Chew Bakar, you are food historian.![]()
Our high and mighty fucking elites can't even tell laska from mee siam, but you know a lot about food history.![]()
Originally posted by angel3070:wow, Chew Bakar, you are food historian.
Our high and mighty fucking elites can't even tell laska from mee siam, but you know a lot about food history.
Not really just bakut teh is a favourite since young. ![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:The first bakut teh was back in 1940 just before WWII in Club Street. I only know his nick as "Or Ku".
Post -war another stall at Cheang Hong Lim Street by his friend Ong Seh, both men came from Hokkien, Chuanchiu, the origin of bakut teh.
The bakut teh craze in Klang started in the late 1950s.
Niether we or Malaysia can lay claim to the origin of bakut teh.
then teochew bak kut teh come from where??
make teh and drink first...listen to ah pek sian
Our high and mighty fucking elites can't even tell laska from mee siam, but you know a lot about food history.
elites are creative ok...the original of food come from a mixture of stuff,..and then suddenly...a mee siam with hum...authentically and uniquely SINGAPORE
bakut teh is hokkien dish.![]()
must go and learn how to make bakut teh.![]()
Originally posted by angel7030:
then teochew bak kut teh come from where??
make teh and drink first...listen to ah pek sian
First Teochew bakut teh was one stall in North Canal Road start circa 1968 and later Ng Mui Song in a coffeeshop along River Valley Road in 1970.
You're right, make tea and talk cock first.![]()
Originally posted by angel3070:bakut teh is hokkien dish.
must go and learn how to make bakut teh.
learn what?? pour teh into bak kut and drink can liao mah..so stoopid one
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:First Teochew bakut teh was one stall in North Canal Road start circa 1968 and later Ng Mui Song in a coffeeshop along River Valley Road in 1970.
You're right, make tea and talk cock first.
Teochew bak kut teh the soup is clear and peppering ya,..hokkien is dark with you tiao, pig skin, tao kee,...etc etc,..anyhow hantam one,..last time i eat in Geyland Lor 17 not bad, now move to beach road liao.
There is one more at Jurong west or east, near the sport stadium..the teochew bak kut teh not bad too...
Teochew bak kut teh the soup is clear and peppering ya,..hokkien is dark with you tiao, pig skin, tao kee,...etc etc,..anyhow hantam one,..last time i eat in Geyland Lor 17 not bad, now move to beach road liao.
There is one more at Jurong west or east, near the sport stadium..the teochew bak kut teh not bad too...
Your Hokkien refer's to Klang style with all the trimmings.
Original Hokkien bakut teh is dark with mild spice and herbs. Only pork ribs, or special order of liver or kidney. Serve with you tiao.
In old days served together with fried Hokkien noodles with crab meat and kong bah pau.![]()
i prefer hokkien bakut teh with you tiao, dip the you tiao with bakut te.
Actually they can carry on barking like a mad dog on what is theirs
It's the years of association that count not because they say so
But it's so like them to find trouble with us after their run-in with Indonesia
Originally posted by elindra:But it's so like them to find trouble with us after their run-in with Indonesia
lose face with bigger indonesia, then come and pick on us.
Originally posted by angel3070:maybe after senile bastard lee is dead, singapore can merge back with malaysia to resolve this problem.
I hope it happens soon, before singapore turns to province of China in next decade.
who you refering to?
Dont play play ar Mr Chew is a survivivor of WWII OK!
While you were born after they demolished satay club
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Not really just bakut teh is a favourite since young.
Speaking of Bah Ku Teh have you ever tried the one in Jakarta before? I will get the address for you cuz the way they cooked it will surely bring you back to nostalgic times
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Speaking of Bah Ku Teh have you ever tried the one in Jakarta before? I will get the address for you cuz the way they cooked it will surely bring you back to nostalgic times
The one in Grogol?
Go to eat at the hawker center behind Chinatown point ,there are two stalls with two different style of bah kut teh.
Yes, the one in grogol where singaporeans come all the way to patronize.The soup with the Kiam Chye and the pork has a little stinky smell but who cares anyway because that is how bah kut teh is cooked in the old days
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Go to eat at the hawker center behind Chinatown point ,there are two stalls with two different style of bah kut teh.
Both a bit on the sweet side. Timing is critical for the two stalls.
Best during 11.30 -2.00. Before the soup not matured, after they add water and too dilute.![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Yes, the one in grogol where singaporeans come all the way to patronize.The soup with the Kiam Chye and the pork has a little stinky smell but who cares anyway because that is how bah kut teh is cooked in the old days
Yup, tried that before.![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Go to eat at the hawker center behind Chinatown point ,there are two stalls with two different style of bah kut teh.
i wanted to,..but before i walk there, many ah pek and guys asked me "how much?, phone nos? and all those nonsense...haiz!
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Both a bit on the sweet side. Timing is critical for the two stalls.
Best during 11.30 -2.00. Before the soup not matured, after they add water and too dilute.
Hahaha you also know about timing? I eat there at 11.30am usually on the first morning of every Singapore trip.Once met a man (born in Indonesia)who talked about WWII maybe that was you>LOL
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Yes, the one in grogol where singaporeans come all the way to patronize.The soup with the Kiam Chye and the pork has a little stinky smell but who cares anyway because that is how bah kut teh is cooked in the old days
wha, go up to jakarta to take bak kut teh...
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Hahaha you also know about timing? I eat there at 11.30am usually on the first morning of every Singapore trip.Once met a man (born in Indonesia)who talked about WWII maybe that was you>LOL
Sorry I'm not born in Indon.![]()
Wrong person.![]()
i wanted to,..but before i walk there, many ah pek and guys asked me "how much?, phone nos? and all those nonsense...haiz!
My first time there was almost my last time when the lady insultingly said to me 'The soup got pork leh' maybe she thought I was a malay due to my exotic features