ok, 1st things 1st, the lady of the above business is my very good friend. But i only posting this cos i feel her stall is under-rated cos of the ulu location. And their fried kway teow is damn shiok and sinful. If it is not nice i wun bother to post.
Just the right amount of wetness and fresh fat cockles. Actually the stall had been telecasted on t.v a few times.

pic of meng kee FKT above from ieatishootipost

(pic of Fried Kway teow from Meng Kee. Tempting ya? pic from iceyuwen)
If you go at lunchtime, the crowd is non-stop. Yet the cooking and service is fast thus no problems.
Behind Tiong bahru Plaza theres a community centre, further down you will see a small food centre. cross the carpark and you can see a small coffeeshop.
Typing this makes me crave for their Fried Kway teow.........................
Note: Morning they sell carrot cake only which is also damn yummy.
read the reviews: http://ieatishootipost.sg/2009/01/meng-kee-char-kway-teow-char-kway-teow.html
Meng Kee Char Kway Teow
Blk 22, Havelock Road
Beo Crescent
Mon to Sat 10.30am to 7pm
Sundays 10.30am to 4pm
----------------------------------------------------------------
another view courtesy of http://skinnierthantheoriginal.blogspot.com
arbo u bring me go there eat, I pay lar how lol.
got lard anot mah?
me oly wan eat if got lard.
ur frd is married to the egg seller ah?
go there eat got discount? or can say out ur name to get discount?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:got lard anot mah?
me oly wan eat if got lard.
ur frd is married to the egg seller ah?
haha no her husband is not egg seller. Used to be spectacles supplier. Now helping her at the stall
Must go ask her who is the egg seller hahaha
lard alot:
review from hungrygowhere
''
Originally posted by Franceso Totti:go there eat got discount? or can say out ur name to get discount?
already very worth it loh. most people order the $3 one. lunch time people ta pau many packets. Heh but i never pay before there
Originally posted by ButterCake:
already very worth it loh. must people order the $3 one. lunch time people ta pau many packets. Heh but i never pay before there
can u bring me to eat there please.
''deleted''
Originally posted by Franceso Totti:can u bring me to eat there please.
you organize an outing loh hehheh
dun want lar. me want u to bring me there eat nia. ask so many people for what, being a light bulb nia ![]()
shiok
review from stardust (ieatishootiblog)
you should also try their carrot cake in the morning. the white one.. oh my gawd. heavenly.
))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
review from insing.com
we were surprised by how addictive the fried kway teow here was. The kway teow was very moist and slick, and tasted slightly sweet and spicy. The most memorable part was the fresh and juicy cockles. The cockles were the FATTEST among the stalls reviewed.
Originally posted by Franceso Totti:dun want lar. me want u to bring me there eat nia. ask so many people for what, being a light bulb nia
oh i forgot to mention, i think their rest day on sundays. Will check with her tomorrow.
the home-made ice lemon tea at this coffee shop is power! pair it with the Fried kway teow for an unforgettable cheap meal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-H23QjsQhE&feature=related
''comment from video: it is nice because lard is generous''
oh i forgot to mention, i think their rest day on sundays. Will check with her tomorrow.
You have share in this kway tiao business?
Originally posted by Dondontan:You have share in this kway tiao business?
haha i wish but they are not interested in opening more stalls.
If you are my good friend and you open a cake stall and the cakes damn nice
i will also introduce your cakes to as many people as possible
Well, thats my character. I wan my friends to be happy and doing well
If that one has alot of lard, that means the one selling at my home kopitiam downstairs is lardless.![]()
fried kway tiao without lard is not fried kway tiao leh
got cockles or not?
Cooked in lard oil but no lard pieces?
Originally posted by ditzy:Cooked in lard oil but no lard pieces?
maybe you have to try for yourself to know? Can't 'magnify' the lard in the pics right? Maybe you can read the reviews and see what random people say but best its you try it yourself
I like fried kway tiao a bit watery and with pieces of lard (yes I know lard is not healthy but just cannot resist it leh).
Last time, I asked the fried kway tiao seller in the coffeeshop near my house to cook it a bit watery but the seller did not know how to cook it properly. Many sellers cook the dry, dry type of fried kway tiao.
Originally posted by Franceso Totti:got cockles or not?
yup, plentiful cockles, FAT, fresh and juicy. The selling point is their cockles.
You can refer the review about the cockles
Originally posted by Seowlah:I like fried kway tiao a bit watery and with pieces of lard (yes I know lard is not healthy but just cannot resist it leh).
Last time, I asked the fried kway tiao seller in the coffeeshop to cook it a bit watery but the seller did not know how to cook it properly. Many sellers cook the dry, dry type of fried kway tiao.
theirs is the wetter type (but not over wet, just nice) You can see the video to see what their customers say about this :) I myself do not like the dryer kind cos it feels like eating those morning beehoon mee.. I once lined up once at a highly popular stall at Serangoon for 30minutes and gosh it was...ordinary...