Originally posted by M the name:You want to eat local foods you can always go to Malaysia. Even Mediacorse always like to broadcast cusine programme on where in Malaysia you can eat good foods like the one host by Bryan Wang although there wouldn't be hygiene grading just like Singapore.
Also I thought that WDA had set up an training centre for future "hawkers" in July. So I didn't think local foods will become part of history unless response is poor...
Ya, I think in another 5 year's time, if you want to eat food that is as close as Singapore food 10 years ago, you need to go across to JB. ![]()
Cant really blame those china worker lah. They are only taught, cook this, add in this sauce, then pour them into the bowl then add a bit of that.
Cooking hawker food is depend on experience de. You will only know exactly how long you should cook the noodle to retain the Qness while also soft enough.
I dun really expect them to be taught, cook this for 20s, add in 10ml of this sauce, then add 20g of that.
I ordered soursop ice jelly in a Koufu outlet, the ah tiong bu added a yellow paste to the usual platter of soursop paste and ice, which I questioned a little too late. The yellow paste was durian(liu lian) paste.
I got her to replace me a hong mao liu lian bing bu yao the liu lian.... 红毛榴梿冰��榴梿. Felt like PM LEE's mee siam mai hum when I said that....
Originally posted by ditzy:You think that is finished? Nowadays chicken rice also slaughtered by them already. I think char kway teow, and hokkien mee also gone case. Check out the republic food court at nex basement.
As much as I like the breadtalk group of businesses, eg din tai fung, I think they might as well just hand the entire business group over to China.
I hardly ate at nex when I was working there.
the restaurants were mostly too generous with their msg,
the chicken/char siew/ roast pork rice taste weird and was cold.
when I could smell nothing with a blocked nose from flu, I could still smell the fish from my fish soup. it was like rotten fish in water. (soup hardly has any taste.)
when my customers asked me what's good, I usually look at them dead serious in the eye and
"Mac Donalds"
even KFC's crappy too, I only go to texas if I want chicken.
some of the less common stalls are still ok but if you're looking for something simple best to skip the food courts straight away. both of them
Let just be fair, the new foodcourt under Jurong East MRT which is beside Wendy fastfood, there is an snack stall that sell youtiao and "Butterfly" bun was run by Chinese FT and a malay lady where the snack was made manually and I can said it was 100% delicious and I always see a long queue during breakfast.
I feel that the worst case scenario is not "human" who didn't know the "old" recipe to cook better cos once they get the experience, they will improve and it could be an "happy" ending, but rather the local food industry like Old Chang Kee are running in factory production line, at least if an "human" be it local or FT who cook can still taste whether it salter or "sweet", but machine ? Worker just "dumped" whether ingredients inside the machine according to SOP, taste good or bad nobody know, not to forget to mention there are case where insect were found and it is difficult to check in production.
And imagine that gone are the day where you see people flying dough to make roti prata and in future,roti prata, lasi lemak, fishball noodle and Chee Chong Fun etc all make in factories and sent sent it to the hawker's trays - Uniquely Singapore ![]()
Originally posted by M the name:Let just be fair, the new foodcourt under Jurong East MRT which is beside Wendy fastfood, there is an snack stall that sell youtiao and "Butterfly" bun was run by Chinese FT and a malay lady where the snack was made manually and I can said it was 100% delicious and I always see a long queue during breakfast.
I feel that the worst case scenario is not "human" who didn't know the "old" recipe to cook better cos once they get the experience, they will improve and it could be an "happy" ending, but rather the local food industry like Old Chang Kee are running in factory production line, at least if an "human" be it local or FT who cook can still taste whether it salter or "sweet", but machine ? Worker just "dumped" whether ingredients inside the machine according to SOP, taste good or bad nobody know, not to forget to mention there are case where insect were found and it is difficult to check in production.
And imagine that gone are the day where you see people flying dough to make roti prata and in future,roti prata, lasi lemak, fishball noodle and Chee Chong Fun etc all make in factories and sent sent it to the hawker's trays - Uniquely Singapore
it's the attitude. as long as you put your heart to it, there can be long queue, no matter where the location.
Originally posted by M the name:
And imagine that gone are the day where you see people flying dough to make roti prata and in future,roti prata, lasi lemak, fishball noodle and Chee Chong Fun etc all make in factories and sent sent it to the hawker's trays - Uniquely Singapore
Why must be Uniquely Singapore.
Other countries are way ahead of Singapore in packaging their local food. Japan, India, US, Europe, all have already package their pastranomi, pizza, ramen, whatever yaki, and pratha, chapati.
So Singapore is actually behind time, when chicken rice, chilli crab etc gets packaged.
Originally posted by charlize:Ya, I think in another 5 year's time, if you want to eat food that is as close as Singapore food 10 years ago, you need to go across to JB.
i couldnt agree more.
Originally posted by Angjaydyn:it's the attitude. as long as you put your heart to it, there can be long queue, no matter where the location.
why don't you be a hawker? ![]()
Originally posted by Summer hill:why don't you be a hawker?
well, probably i should set up training company for how to be a dedicated hawker?
when our uncles and aunties retired from hawkers, we are in real trouble. we will see ah tiongs hawkers in our foodcourt and restaurants. its happening already.
pri sch kids write compo "我的志愿" u got see anyone write i want to be a char kuay tiao cooker?
Originally posted by FireIce:pri sch kids write compo "我的志愿" u got see anyone write i want to be a char kuay tiao cooker?
What if write, " I wan to be prime minister" ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:pri sch kids write compo "我的志愿" u got see anyone write i want to be a char kuay tiao cooker?
food in singapore seriously downgraded. It's expensive now and taste like ....
Originally posted by Keiraneylene:food in singapore seriously downgraded. It's expensive now and taste like ....
The fault partly lies on the customer, they don't know the food is lousy.
So the stalls can survive with the chin chye attitude.
You don't come, never mind, others will come.
they have the..... as long as edible can liao.... mindset...... (and i get my pay)
dont care taste good or authentic or not.......
Your want best quality foods might as well go to restaurant like Crystal Jade, Long Beach, Ajisen Ramen or Fish and co. Nowadays shopping centre are common and it is not difficult to choose.
Originally posted by M the name:Your want best quality foods might as well go to restaurant like Crystal Jade, Long Beach, Ajisen Ramen or Fish and co. Nowadays shopping centre are common and it is not difficult to choose.
I think TS grouse is that he not even getting minimum standard. Its like good old hawker food now don't even taste like hawker food. Last time you pay $3 to get qiu lian ban mee, but now you pay $3.50 to get fark up ban mee. Thats the point.
@ditzy
Thank for your understanding, and check this out about Singaporean willing to endure rain or discomfort just to eat good foods in a restaurant : http://sg.entertainment.yahoo.com/news/rains-run-085753886.html
Originally posted by M the name:Your want best quality foods might as well go to restaurant like Crystal Jade, Long Beach, Ajisen Ramen or Fish and co. Nowadays shopping centre are common and it is not difficult to choose.
r u sure these r quality food?

Can't really blame the FTs also, now almost all the foodcourts are franchised, Kopitiam, Banquet, Food Junction, etc.
They simple mass hired FTs give them a crash course on how to cook the food and ask them to work. Since they are paid by fixed salary they won't really care about making good food as compared to the past where hawker's income depend on the quality of their food.