China wine with a Christian Japanese geisha
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bM-p__5cou8
seriously, can't stop laughing now!!
Originally posted by BroInChrist:What does CHC teach concerning priority of giving? Church first, or family first?
good question BIC
BroInChrist, is it so hard to understand that CHC is my family?
"City Harvest Church: Our Church - Our Family - Our Life"
CHC and Pastor Kong care for us like a father who looks after his children. In case of James friend, even a biological father can not protect the adult child from not managing finances well.Pastor Kong oso can not protect against stupidity. All Pastor Kong can do is provide good example.
This will help you stop laughing:
See how many people love Pastor Kong - our hero
http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&feature=endscreen&v=P_uc1tAlqRc
And take some time to see how we worship.
Praise the Lord
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:BroInChrist, is it so hard to understand that CHC is my family?
CHC and Pastor Kong care for us like a father who looks after his children. In case of James friend, even a biological father can not protect the adult child from not managing finances well.Pastor Kong oso can not protect against stupidity. All Pastor Kong can do is provide good example.
i thought it was very clear in james post that part of the problem lies with his alligence to CHC. Yet now fellow CHC followers are claiming that this person, cannot manage finance and is stupid. How nice of it to be in the name of "our family our life".
why 19 steps ?????
just pay 10% tax on your monthly salary can already what.......................
or sell your house and give all your money to the scheming crooked pastor can liao mah !
yes, it was a divine urge for me to tell you that ur stupid.
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:BroInChrist, is it so hard to understand that CHC is my family?
You are replying on an irrelevant point.
In Matthew 15:5 Jesus said that a man is being hypocritical and NOT honoring his parents if he says to them that whatever they could have received from him was set aside as a gift to God. This in effect nullifies the Word of God (i.e. the command to honor our parents) for the sake of one's tradition (or church's lopsided teaching on giving)
In 1 Timothy 5:8 Paul says that if anyman does not provide for his relatives, especially his own immediate family (biological family) he is worse than an unbeliever (infidel).
Please explain the above two passages in light of your apparent belief that giving to "God" aka "CHC" takes priority over one's immediate biological family.
Originally posted by BroInChrist:You are replying on an irrelevant point.
In Matthew 15:5 Jesus said that a man is being hypocritical and NOT honoring his parents if he says to them that whatever they could have received from him was set aside as a gift to God. This in effect nullifies the Word of God (i.e. the command to honor our parents) for the sake of one's tradition (or church's lopsided teaching on giving)
In 1 Timothy 5:8 Paul says that if anyman does not provide for his relatives, especially his own immediate family (biological family) he is worse than an unbeliever (infidel).
Please explain the above two passages in light of your apparent belief that giving to "God" aka "CHC" takes priority over one's immediate biological family.
i think for them, they would rather talk about the pastor rather than the teachings.
U blur or what? My CHC brothers and sisters are also my relatives. You added the word "biological" to the verse. That is your (mis)-interpretation. The bible does not say that "relatives" is limited to "biological" now does it?
With your interpretation, should an adopted baby NOT honor it's parents only because there is no biological bond? Pastor Kong has adopted all of us as his children. Pastor Kong is our (spiritual) father.
Added to this. Pastor Kong does not teach us to NOT honor our (biological) relatives. I never said - James did. Of course we honor our (biological) relatives. Like I said, Same as bioogical father, Pastor Kong can not be responsible for financial mismanagement of an adult. Pastor Kong can only lead by example.
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:U blur or what? My CHC brothers and sisters are also my relatives. You added the word "biological" to the verse. That is your (mis)-interpretation. The bible does not say that "relatives" is limited to "biological" now does it?
With your interpretation, should an adopted baby NOT honor it's parents only because there is no biological bond? Pastor Kong has adopted all of us as his children. Pastor Kong is our (spiritual) father.
Added to this. Pastor Kong does not teach us to NOT honor our (biological) relatives. I never said - James did. Of course we honor our (biological) relatives. Like I said, Same as bioogical father, Pastor Kong can not be responsible for financial mismanagement of an adult. Pastor Kong can only lead by example.
Even if I ASSUME your stance that your CHC brethren are your relatives, it still does not change anything. The context of 1 Tim 5:8 is children and their parents. So your immediate family is your biological family. There is no way you can argue out of this. The point is, it is irresponsible (and even hypocritical) to put your own family into financial misery by simply saying that it should be given to "God" aka the "church". It is a misplaced form of divine piety.
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:
But the will of the Father is that you also honor your parents (which includes financially supporting them) and that you provide for your own immediate family!
Damn lot of weird people around.
And you are still not listening.
Let me spell it out for you:
Everybody in CHC agrees with you. I agree with you. Pastor Kong agrees with you.
So what is your problem?
Pastor Kong, nor anybody can help it if people give their last penny to CHC. Is Pastor Kong responsible if this happens? course not.
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:And you are still not listening.
Let me spell it out for you:
Everybody in CHC agrees with you. I agree with you. Pastor Kong agrees with you.So what is your problem?
Pastor Kong, nor anybody can help it if people give their last penny to CHC. Is Pastor Kong responsible if this happens? course not.
And you still have not answered my question. Do you agree with me now? Then please answer why and where did people in CHC get the idea that they must give till they drop. A reckless form of pious giving that wreck their own families even?
Originally posted by BroInChrist:
And you still have not answered my question. Do you agree with me now? Then please answer why and where did people in CHC get the idea that they must give till they drop. A reckless form of pious giving that wreck their own families even?
They say everybody there is their family so have to give and give lor.
Give to family right?
Who said CHC people must give till they drop? Nobody in CHC for sure.
We give freely from the heart. Nobody is forcing us to give. Does it look like anybody does not want to give? Do you see any guns forcing us to pay?
And Pasto John Avanzini blessing the offerings for the 100-fold return.
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:Who said CHC people must give till they drop? Nobody in CHC for sure.
We give freely from the heart. Nobody is forcing us to give. Does it look like anybody does not want to give? Do you see any guns forcing us to pay?
Can buy lots of cai png with that money.
Originally posted by Zeeleewee
i saw suits!
Originally posted by Zeeleewong:Who said CHC people must give till they drop? Nobody in CHC for sure.
This is the part where kong hee says to hold your sealed offering envelope in the air and pray.
Somewhere before the next service, the cell group leaders collect the receipts (which are not sealed in an envelope). The member who invited me proudly told me "our church believes in transparency". At the next service, the cell group leaders will distribute your receipts to you.Guess what happens if you don't give enough.