yes, u're rite but then u are not considering a few things:Originally posted by Ah Ma:tink if the peh kim money ppl willing to give..is up to the parent to keep or nt to reveal.....ni qin wo yuan also...so dn tink ppl gt right to ask hw much
Strange that Took has NOT EVEN TALKED to his lawyer about his case. Is this the kind of legal procedure here in Singapore? Any lawyers or someone well-versed in the legal system plz tell me more?
December 9th is the next court date for Took Leng How; the vegetable seller who has been charged with the murder of 8-year-old Huang Na .
Took's lawyer says police investigations have now been completed and his client has been sent to the Changi Prison Hospital for a psychiatric examination.
Since Took's arrest, he has yet to meet his lawyer but an application has been filed so the two can meet.
His lawyer says this is a normal legal procedure.
Took's lawyer is in close contact with Took's parents and had been taking instructions from them.
As for Took's claims that he was abused while in police custody, a medical examination at Alexandra Hospital has shown that Took did not suffer any form of injury. - CNA
Harnor!!!!Originally posted by Ah Ma:tink if the peh kim money ppl willing to give..is up to the parent to keep or nt to reveal.....ni qin wo yuan also...so dn tink ppl gt right to ask hw much
But if they promised to donate to charity, they have to honour their word. How do you expect to gain others' trust if you make promises you don't intend to keep?Originally posted by Ah Ma:tink if the peh kim money ppl willing to give..is up to the parent to keep or nt to reveal.....ni qin wo yuan also...so dn tink ppl gt right to ask hw much
As earlier mentioned, abuse takes many forms. Furthermore, the doctors at AH are govt doctors. If Took had been taken to Mount E, then different story. Govt doctors have their hands tied and cannot do much no matter how much you are willing to give, while private doctors could do more if offered bigger payment. Overall, the system is simply not transparent in Singapore.Originally posted by Poopie-Head:Strange that Took has NOT EVEN TALKED to his lawyer about his case. Is this the kind of legal procedure here in Singapore? Any lawyers or someone well-versed in the legal system plz tell me more?
I was having the idea that when a person is charged, he must at least have access to his lawyer to discuss his case, this is everyone's basic rights isn;t it?![]()
I'm sure they owe the public & media ALOT!Originally posted by Honeybunz:Harnor!!!!
The parents owe the public & media NOTHING!
So public & media shd shuddup!
But then hor...
chances are... ppl who questioned are those who didn't even donate.
wat i am worried is that - are the accused or defendants (I'm speaking generally, not only Took) being read their rights?Originally posted by iveco:As earlier mentioned, abuse takes many forms. Furthermore, the doctors at AH are govt doctors. If Took had been taken to Mount E, then different story. Govt doctors have their hands tied and cannot do much no matter how much you are willing to give, while private doctors could do more if offered bigger payment. Overall, the system is simply not transparent in Singapore.
eh, dont understand what u are talking about.Originally posted by IntraKota:How certain are you guys that Ah Tok is a murderer. If your police force deprived him of water just to get him to confess to a crime he didn't even commit & he is pronounced guilty, U PPLE SHOULD HAVE THE WATER SUPPLY CUT OFF!!! There are better sources of revenue than that. Furthermore, Johor making a loss by buying purified water from you.![]()
If our pple are not treated properly on your soil, you must be prepared to suffer the consequences. Putrajaya has every right to get back to you in whatever way they like.Originally posted by Poopie-Head:eh, dont understand what u are talking about.
As for the OT issue of water supply, there is a contract on the sales of water. If the Msia govt feels that it is an unfair contract, they should bring it up to the international court (which i believed they have already done) and let it decide. Breaking a contract as and when u feel like it, and without a valid reason juz goes to show the world how untrustworthy u can be.
PutraJaya got problem?Originally posted by IntraKota:If our pple are not treated properly on your soil, you must be prepared to suffer the consequences. Putrajaya has every right to get back to you in whatever way they like.
LMAO ~~Originally posted by IntraKota:If our pple are not treated properly on your soil, you must be prepared to suffer the consequences. Putrajaya has every right to get back to you in whatever way they like.
It is Umno's (& Syed Mokhtar Al-bukhary's) dream to run your port.Originally posted by Poopie-Head:LMAO ~~![]()
The issue of whether Took had been abused has nothing to do with him being a Malaysian.
If the Msian authorities has "every right to get back to you in whatever way they like", then I must say that they are not very objective and clear on these separate issues. Only unruly and barbaric people "do whatever they like". I'm sure the Msian authorities are far from being that. Please don't get confused over these stuff. And I'm happy your are not holding any authoritative powers
They can have all the wet dream they wantOriginally posted by IntraKota:It is Umno's (& Syed Mokhtar Al-bukhary's) dream to run your port.
I dun mean to be a wet blanket... PTP hardly grows this year... They had expected 4.5M TEU but later on downgarded to 4.0M TEU... Desperate to get 1 more shipping line when PSA has went attractive... Most shipping lines are thinking of owning delicated terminals... Even so, PSA is expanding 15 more berths at the Pasir Panjang Terminal... By then, PSA has 52 berthsOriginally posted by IntraKota:It is Umno's (& Syed Mokhtar Al-bukhary's) dream to run your port.
Because they jealous that Singapore so small can be No 2 port in the worldOriginally posted by Poopie-Head:They can have all the wet dream they want![]()
Originally posted by Poopie-Head:Being grateful = announcing how much they have?
I'm sure they owe the public & media [b]ALOT!
If they were to think otherwise, I think they are ungrateful. I'm surprised u can be so ungrateful
Did u forget how the media made so much publicity over this matter? Granted, u can say that they are getting better sales in return, whatever, it is still due to their efforts that their case gets so publicized, resulting in many volunteers helping out to look for the missing kids, many people donated pek kim, and of coz also stressed the authorities to speed up on their work so as to be able to answer to the public.
If u're saying that they don't owe the public anything, are they compensating the time and efforts put in by the volunteers when they are looking for their kid? Of coz the volunteers didn't expect any return, but that doesn't mean the parents don't owe them anything - they owe them a BIGGG favor.
As for those who donated, the parents owe them an explanation why the promise to donate part of the pek kim was not carried out. In terms of monetary gain, the parents DO OWE these people the $$ now.
Originally posted by IntraKota:How certain are you guys that Ah Tok is a murderer. If your police force deprived him of water just to get him to confess to a crime he didn't even commit & he is pronounced guilty, U PPLE SHOULD HAVE THE WATER SUPPLY CUT OFF!!! There are better sources of revenue than that. Furthermore, Johor making a loss by buying purified water from you.![]()
Well, malaysian police has turn him in. He ran away for a reason.. and the investigation and court proceding is in progress. There is a lot of questions he has not been able and not willing to answer.Originally posted by IntraKota:How certain are you guys that Ah Tok is a murderer. If your police force deprived him of water just to get him to confess to a crime he didn't even commit & he is pronounced guilty, U PPLE SHOULD HAVE THE WATER SUPPLY CUT OFF!!! There are better sources of revenue than that. Furthermore, Johor making a loss by buying purified water from you.![]()
PLEASE don't mistake kindness as a weakness. Duh..Originally posted by mistyblue:L
Smile people. Singaporeans are quite easily fooled don't you think
took is chinese. i dun think the malaysian authorities care very much if he is abused.Originally posted by IntraKota:If our pple are not treated properly on your soil, you must be prepared to suffer the consequences. Putrajaya has every right to get back to you in whatever way they like.
honeybunz auntie, did they engage a killer from your company?Originally posted by Honeybunz:That IS right!!!!
Thank you, mr_sotong!!!!
Finally, something sensible here.
To others & Prof DunnoWho:
What is so impossible for Took to rape and kill the girl? .
A similar murder case happened many years ago in Singapore, where the victim's body (a girl of about Huang Na's age) was kept in a luggage bag.
Please don't confuse this case with Anthony Ler's. Anthony Ler killed his wife, but not his own kid. Can anyone bring up an example of a crime in Singapore whereby the parents kill the child for money?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Oh... I thought you juz posted saying that they don't owe the public anything? So fast change idea liao?
Being grateful = announcing how much they have?
Didn't they thank everyone openly?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:As for why the parents owe the media, volunteers and people who donated the pek kim, I have already spelt out very clearly in my previous post.
Harnor!!!!
The parents owe the public & media NOTHING!
So public & media shd shuddup!
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Of coz it's different from other charity drives. Why did I say that they need to give a satisfactory answer regarding the pek kim then?
This is very different from NKF or Cancer Foundation appealing for funds. They has never expressed nor implied that they needed anybody's donation. Pek Kim is given voluntarily by people, just like the way ang pao is given by the elders to us. We don't see our elders telling us to show our gratitude by announcing how much we collect.