it really depends on the ceiling, if the ceiling got renovate, then probably not, but I dont know how he is planning to hang it though, how he install the hook? it all depends on that. the structure itself is sturdy enough, after all people live above and never crash through the floor.Originally posted by fedor:Hi,i'm asking this question on behalf of my friend.
Anyway,he wanted to install a heavy bag in his hdb flat.He's planning to buy a 6ft 70 kg heavy bag.The question is, can a hdb ceiling sustain a bag that heavy?
If not can all of you advised on what's the heaviest bag,a hdb ceiling can hold without causing problem to the infrastructure?
Thanks in advance.
can lah u dun expect the whole slab to fall on ur friend do u? lolOriginally posted by fedor:Hi,i'm asking this question on behalf of my friend.
Anyway,he wanted to install a heavy bag in his hdb flat.He's planning to buy a 6ft 70 kg heavy bag.The question is, can a hdb ceiling sustain a bag that heavy?
If not can all of you advised on what's the heaviest bag,a hdb ceiling can hold without causing problem to the infrastructure?
Thanks in advance.
No lah,he is more afraid of paying compensation to the upstairs neighbour should the ceiling slab fall down or crack.Originally posted by aCid_rAIn:can lah u dun expect the whole slab to fall on ur friend do u? lol
infrastructure? u worry too much le, better worry about finding the suitable fixture to sustain that bag on the ceiling![]()
Hi Gentlerock,Originally posted by gentlerock:Hi fedor,
I have some opinions on hanging punching bags in HDB flats.....but its all bad news because I actually don't recommend it. I'm not sure if I should be the wet blanket and post these opinions....unless you wish to hear them?
Hi,Originally posted by fedor:ok,thanks Gentlerock for your views,will inform my friend asap.
So basicaly,a punching bag can't be install in a hdb flat whatever it's weight is,am i correct to say these?
Unless the punching bag is 6kg or below which to me is pretty pointless to install it anyway.
I think that only applies to downward load coming from above. In mech, a downward load from above is equal to a downward load from below.Originally posted by poon cho tang:floor slabs in general are designed for a live load of 3 kN/m²
How do u punch the bag?where do u put it ?Is a 20kg bag good enough?Originally posted by freemovement:A 70kg dun need 3-4 metre radius......................................................................................................................................... it hardly moves, unless your tyson. Believe me. But 70kg...... is farking heavy i dun recommend you to hang on the ceiling. Get a lighter one if u can. i have a 20kg bag but i am too lazy to hang it up.![]()