Originally posted by Texcoco:
Republic Polytechnic
Direct Admissions Exercise (Full Time Courses)
Process Status:
REJECT
Comments:
[b]Too ugly to be accpeted in poly. We need only good looking people like models.Goodbye
Print this page Logout
WAH lau maths D7 all this $hit come all over the place, now not a single poly will accept me, must pin my hopes on my maths o level paper appeal, god bless me!
you are welcomeOriginally posted by Texcoco:Thanks Oyster for ur help
I am not impressedOriginally posted by Chewbacca:
with that piece of stinking diploma, u might still end up a roadsweeper job if not a janitorOriginally posted by Chewbacca:get ready for roadsweeper job
I'm sorry but thats a bit the jialatOriginally posted by Texcoco:Yah i quite surprise too since many of my friends in the past got accepted ven they fail their maths!
here's my result
Final Year Subjects Grades Obtained Marks Scored Full Marks Marks Converted
G11- ENGLISH (O LEVEL)
C5
G41- ELEMENTARY MATHS(O LEVEL)
D7
G49- COMBINED SCIENCE
C6
COMMERCIAL STUDIES
B3
COMBINED HUMANITES
B4
MOTHER TONGUE
B4
Total Marks Converted (Best 5) 25
CCA B4 25-1=24
Originally posted by CenturionMBT:try marintime engineering in sp. any tom dick or harry also can go in.
So high? 2 years ago it was 20 somethingOriginally posted by I-Me-Myself:i saw the cut off point was 18...this year..compared to last year 19
when did u appeal btw? try appeal again? frm 28 to 8 of aprilOriginally posted by Texcoco:Republic Polytechnic
Direct Admissions Exercise (Full Time Courses)
Process Status:
REJECT
Comments:
Print this page Logout
WAH lau maths D7 all this $hit come all over the place, now not a single poly will accept me, must pin my hopes on my maths o level paper appeal, god bless me!
agree..due to the year of dragon...cop drop till very jialat osoOriginally posted by Rusesabagina:u suay lah...this year damn diffcult to go in.normally fail math can go in one.heard that COP for BMS from 17 --> 9 Accountancy 17-->13.
r u sure...am studying part time @ poly, paying much lower than u statedOriginally posted by shade343:Try PSB academy. Btw private diploma is cheaper than local poly. Singapore poly must pay 11k for school fees per academic year while [private is only 4k a year![]()
I suggest tt you apply for study loan with DBS if you want study private.
not trying to gloat or suan you but you retook one subject only and still fail?Originally posted by Texcoco:cannot appeal loh, all is gone, i wasted one year retaking maths, now failed my primary objective of going to poly, anyway private diploma expensive, not trustworthy and not recongnised by unis, Sianz
agreed. i think RP's problem based learning approach would benefit the students more when they enter the working world as compared to purely academic systems.i would have gone there if they had non-technology based courses.Originally posted by Pretty_babe:Appeal at this late time won't help. Republic poly is not as bad as some thinks. It's a new school (This will be the 3rd year), that's y they are taking in more ppl. Moreover, no one had graduated from there yet, how can u judge the school? I'm a student from there. Will be year 2 soon. And from what i can say, it's a MIRACLE to fail there. Unless u skip lessons by not turning up for the module for like a month, or ur teacher hates u and gives lots of grade F. There is no way, no reason to fail there. Because ur overall GPA points is based on ur attendance + performance in class and 3 understanding tests ( unlike other poly where they have 1 major test ). And the diploma they give are as recongnised as the other polys. It's not as stressful to study there. It's a good choice going there. This year's intake is already alot, it's the combined number of year 1 and 2. And next year it will be moving to a new campus at woodlands, so i think intake will be slightly higher. The facilities are very good over there. Dun think it's bad to go to RP or treat it like ur last choice. I have friends who made it their 1st choice. Dun be suprised when they reject u. Btw, i got 14 for my L1R4 only, but i chose to go there..
Wow, u're aware of it's problem based learning system.. Yeah, i too think it's more beneficial.. Everyday in RP, u'll be given a 'Problem'. Then by the end of the day, u are supposed to come out with the solutions to the problem. It's modules related problem, like u're doing a science module, u might have problems regarding DNAs, Chemisry, etc. Then u'll solve ur problem from researchs through net, or library books or ur prior knowledge. This might be simple, u just go net and type in key words, found websites and copy paste all into ur powerpoint presentation where u'll have to present it to the whole class and be able to explain (means u understand). And guaranteed, by the end of the day, u'll learn something, definitely more then ppl doing lectures by the 'easy way'. The cons of pure academic system, when u study things which are not needed in ur working world. Eg; U study 'A' maths, with so many formulas learned and memorised, are u going to apply these in ur working life? And attending lectures, when u have ur lecturers talking down there, and u're up here talking or not paying attention, u'll learn NOTHING at all. Or u are given lecture notes, u'll have to study them to do well in ur exams. u must be really hardworking to do well in the lecture teaching style. While problem based learning, everyone or should i say every team has to submit their solutions to the problem everyday and be able to explain. U're given ample time to do research and at ur own pace, u can arrange ur time to which to do first. U can chat in msn and play games during ur time given then do ur work or watever. ( i can complete my research in 30 mins, then i have the whole hell of a few hours to relax ). By the end of the day without noticing, u've learn something about the problem of the day, surely.Originally posted by vito_corleone:agreed. i think RP's problem based learning approach would benefit the students more when they enter the working world as compared to purely academic systems.i would have gone there if they had non-technology based courses.