If u ask me, I'd say this is all bull. If the mentality of thinking dat situation is tough carries on, then for sure we're screwed. But this mentality is wat most people hold.Originally posted by caramon:The confidence of the ordinary man and woman on the road now is low with so much uncertainty.. Who would dare to settle down and multiply and add burden to himself/herself? So many young couples are delaying having kids, the most having a kid..
It's a vicious cycle.. Because we produce less, more FTs are invited to come and take our jobs, our university places, etc.. Seems like we are screwed.. Most FT's will never come here to settle down and assimilate because they also have their own parents to take care back home..
Therefore, the talent pool here will be forever depending on FTs since locals are never given the chance to gain experience with so many jobs going to FTs.. Ultimately, with a greying population, untalented and unexperienced working local citizens, and high dependencies on FTs to run this country cheaply, seriously I can't see how life is going to get better..
I took 2 years off from work, yet I still drove SLK.. No, I am not being extravagant.. Huh? oh -- you mean the SLK.. keke.. it's being paid for by my parents.. yes, there's always two sides to a coin.. keke.. depend on how you see it..( sarcasm intended)Originally posted by Origami:If u ask me, I'd say this is all bull. If the mentality of thinking dat situation is tough carries on, then for sure we're screwed. But this mentality is wat most people hold.
Look at the malays in general. No racism but they have a lower income as compared to the other races yet they have the biggest families also. Why? Are our mentalities wrong? Everything is a double-edged sword. Having children can actually be financial wealth. U may start saving n planning for more financial security due to kids instead of spending it unneccesarily like most do.
Why do we have more FTs? Cos we keep having this loser attitude. If we still think like this, wat can the govt do but to keep bringing FTs? We dun take pride in our job n only know how to complain. If u r a boss, who would u hire? A whiner or someone who relishes in his/her job? Irregardless of whether the person is a FT or not, u will nvr be happy with the situation anyway.
I took 8 mths off from work yet I still drove my car n paid my bills all this while. Why? Cos i worked my finances properly. If u want to be extragavant all the time, dun complain about not having enuff. The country is not screwed, the people are. U should start reflecting on urself by looking at someone who agrees on ur way of thought.
There r also jobs which cannot be replaced by FTs, always more than enuff to go ard. It's how we excel n enjoy it. If u do not have the maturity or sense to see it, then look hard ard u n try to find those who genuinely enjoy their job.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):coz he is good citizen that listen to what the government say...ask ppl to have more children but never tell them how to support them....![]()
are you married ?Originally posted by Origami:If u ask me, I'd say this is all bull. If the mentality of thinking dat situation is tough carries on, then for sure we're screwed. But this mentality is wat most people hold.
Look at the malays in general. No racism but they have a lower income as compared to the other races yet they have the biggest families also. Why? Are our mentalities wrong? Everything is a double-edged sword. Having children can actually be financial wealth. U may start saving n planning for more financial security due to kids instead of spending it unneccesarily like most do.
Why do we have more FTs? Cos we keep having this loser attitude. If we still think like this, wat can the govt do but to keep bringing FTs? We dun take pride in our job n only know how to complain. If u r a boss, who would u hire? A whiner or someone who relishes in his/her job? Irregardless of whether the person is a FT or not, u will nvr be happy with the situation anyway.
I took 8 mths off from work yet I still drove my car n paid my bills all this while. Why? Cos i worked my finances properly. If u want to be extragavant all the time, dun complain about not having enuff. The country is not screwed, the people are. U should start reflecting on urself by looking at someone who agrees on ur way of thought.
There r also jobs which cannot be replaced by FTs, always more than enuff to go ard. It's how we excel n enjoy it. If u do not have the maturity or sense to see it, then look hard ard u n try to find those who genuinely enjoy their job.
well said...I have to agreed with some of ur point here.. but i guess u are one of those that have more choice and talented, educated or just luckier kind.....try telling that to alot others especially those over 40s and not so educated one...i do not think they have the money to spend on unneccesarily like most do...spending their youth working their arse off for their company just to earn a enough to feed their family and send them to sch....Originally posted by Origami:If u ask me, I'd say this is all bull. If the mentality of thinking dat situation is tough carries on, then for sure we're screwed. But this mentality is wat most people hold.
Because suddenly feel like typing somethingOriginally posted by BlTCHY_BlTCH:becos people like durian puff??
In some countries adverts like that are actually illegal. The singapore govt takes a different approach. If companies want to screw employees, the govt helps to bend them over and hold them down. This helps attract foreign investment.Originally posted by dragg:it is now employers's market. i recently saw an advert with 'applicant must not be older than 30' i hope this wont set a new trend. ageism is becoming more and more common
He was only referring to himself and the rest of his cronies lah.Originally posted by dragg:30 is really ridiculous. MM even suggest that able ppl should work beyond retirement age. contradictory isnt it?
So what do you suggest? Hand out money to the needy?Originally posted by caramon:There are many many stressed-out singaporeans, burdened by the high costs of living as wages remained stagnant.. private properties are increasingly dropping into negative equity, hdb properties mortaged to banks will be subject to repossess and auction..
According to a friend of mine who knows somebody manning the news hotline, there is an average of one suicide a day by jumping from a high-rise building.. there are no recent government data on suicides.. the latest data is about five year's old.. even using the data, which shows death by jumping at between 1/3 and 1/4 of all suicides and extrapolating, there are at least three suicides a day..
The SOS hotline cannot cope, social services are stretched and the government is doing very little, instead choosing to invest billions of dollars overseas to boost employment elsewhere.. what is the use of having so much reserves while many singaporeans are suffering to the extent of killing themselves, sometimes their loved ones who are innocent..
Ps: Bitchy_Bitch can you answer the question of the thread on (What SPGs want?) since you are so free..
Instead of giving the man the fish, you teach him how to fish.. But sadly, it's hard for him to even get that fish rod that could eventually help him.. The decay is beyond repair now unless something drastic happens..Originally posted by elindra:So what do you suggest? Hand out money to the needy?
As mentioned in my post, there is really nothing much you can do for people caught in the bind already as it is likely too late. It is for those heading into the trap. As mentioned, it is a chicken and egg problem. Anyway I think that instead of the government giving out the 'economic relief fund' to everyone, even to those who don't need it, they might as well put it in some skill upgrade program for people who wants to upgrade but can't afford to.Originally posted by caramon:Instead of giving the man the fish, you teach him how to fish.. But sadly, it's hard for him to even get that fish rod that could eventually help him.. The decay is beyond repair now unless something drastic happens..