Originally posted by FireIce:congratz, u have been conned!
same as wad i had experience to dayOriginally posted by Jp1:I Have been conned before also.... I donate then they give me some buddha card..... They dressed like thai but then when they speak u know they from china....
i presume he said 'hope you find one soon' while walking awayOriginally posted by elindra:Some of these monks actually go around HDB estates as well.
Remembered one incident when I was in Poly and was on MC with fever and one of these monks came around trying to give me the card and get a 'donation' from me.
He was going like
"bless your kids so that they are smarter etc"
When I said I have no kids he went
"hope you have kids soon"
WTF!!! I was not even married then!!
I told him "I'm not married" then slammed the door in his face![]()
Maybe you look old and married..Originally posted by elindra:Some of these monks actually go around HDB estates as well.
Remembered one incident when I was in Poly and was on MC with fever and one of these monks came around trying to give me the card and get a 'donation' from me.
He was going like
just joking..don't take it seriously...Originally posted by elindra:Some of these monks actually go around HDB estates as well.
He was going like
I KENA b4!!!! Same as what u describe.. Jus that different place. I got conned at bugis.. My friend and I said we dun have money.. Ask donate 2 dollars can anot. He said cannot wor.. Wah lau.. Thought donation suppose to be sui2 yi4 one? Den we say we no money.. He say arbo we 2 combined donate 10dollars at least.. Haiz.. In order to get away. We gave in lor.. What to do? -_-Originally posted by I-Me-Myself:jus wondering whether the monks who goes around asking for donations is real or fake de?
cuz newpaper always say there are many this kind of people going around to cheat ppl money.
today went to mohd sultan road...then walk till Clarke Quay at the bridge...gt this monk..suddenly approach my fren and me..at first thod he wanna ask about direction cuz he holding one card.
then suddenly he push that cards to me and my fren(didnt plan to take...told him we dowan but he put on our hands)..take a closer look is a card which have guan ying on it.he say ar duno wad "wish ur family and so n so...ping an"..blah blah blah... kind of blur at tt time. then he take out one book, inside got a picture of a building (tink they gathering $$$ to build the building?) i don't quite understand what he is toking=.=". he then ask us to write down our name and donate $$$...donation wise, of cuz will donate de...but then me n my fren student mah dun have so much to donate...then so sian my fren n me only have 10 dollar notes dun have smaller number one...then we kind of like..tinking how..then tt monk say he will give us change if we dowan to donate so much. so we pass our 10 dollar notes to him-total $20. after he took the $20 he never gave us change!...instead he ask us wan to donate another $20 anot
!Wah seh jus lidat today bai bai lost $10. although nt alot but $10 can do many tings...somemore dunno he real or fake one(if real de then nvm lor). i rather gave my $10 to those student working hard for flag day.
Don't give in to them, obviously their not real monks. Where got real monks persuade ppl to give money one? Anyway monks are NOT suppose to ask for money, they can only ask for food.Originally posted by aiyo!:I KENA b4!!!! Same as what u describe.. Jus that different place. I got conned at bugis.. My friend and I said we dun have money.. Ask donate 2 dollars can anot. He said cannot wor.. Wah lau.. Thought donation suppose to be sui2 yi4 one? Den we say we no money.. He say arbo we 2 combined donate 10dollars at least.. Haiz.. In order to get away. We gave in lor.. What to do? -_-![]()
Not that we wanna part that money.. But you shld try them.. They can talk until u bth.. They have too much time liao, but we dun!! Argh.. Next time I see them, I'll jus bluff them, "I not buddhist" -_- wonder that works anot..Originally posted by Zooish:Don't give in to them, obviously their not real monks. Where got real monks persuade ppl to give money one? Anyway monks are NOT suppose to ask for money, they can only ask for food.
By giving in to them, you're only making them bolder. Scared of them for wat? If they're real monks, what can they possibly do to you? And if they're not, you have every right to report them to the police.![]()
Its easy to tell people who train in muay thai apart from the others.Originally posted by aiyo!:Not that we wanna part that money.. But you shld try them.. They can talk until u bth.. They have too much time liao, but we dun!! Argh.. Next time I see them, I'll jus bluff them, "I not buddhist" -_- wonder that works anot..![]()
Btw, that day I saw an ang moh lady about to kena, I wanna warn her.. But dun dare.. Cuz angmoh quite believe in Buddhism.. Some i mean.. And I dun wanna get into trouble with that fake monk, skali he learn muay thai one =X![]()
yah..tt monk..pester me n my fren..urgh!Originally posted by aiyo!:Not that we wanna part that money.. But you shld try them.. They can talk until u bth.. They have too much time liao, but we dun!! Argh.. Next time I see them, I'll jus bluff them, "I not buddhist" -_- wonder that works anot..![]()
Btw, that day I saw an ang moh lady about to kena, I wanna warn her.. But dun dare.. Cuz angmoh quite believe in Buddhism.. Some i mean.. And I dun wanna get into trouble with that fake monk, skali he learn muay thai one =X![]()
Tell the con artist that he will be punished for his sins.Then turn around and walk off.Originally posted by aiyo!:I KENA b4!!!! Same as what u describe.. Jus that different place. I got conned at bugis.. My friend and I said we dun have money.. Ask donate 2 dollars can anot. He said cannot wor.. Wah lau.. Thought donation suppose to be sui2 yi4 one? Den we say we no money.. He say arbo we 2 combined donate 10dollars at least.. Haiz.. In order to get away. We gave in lor.. What to do? -_-![]()