have you worked there b4?Originally posted by lwflee:Yes. The problem is, contrary to popular belief, migrating to another country is not easy.
Having said that, i intend to migrate to the UK because working here, i am able to acheive the standard of living that i am aiming for.
Not everything is cheap & in some cities, their living styles are even higher than us.Originally posted by the.raven:go to China lor, everything cheap,![]()
haha.. good luck then.. the cost of living there is higher than in Singapore =DOriginally posted by lwflee:Yes. The problem is, contrary to popular belief, migrating to another country is not easy.
Having said that, i intend to migrate to the UK because working here, i am able to acheive the standard of living that i am aiming for. I will try work towards that goal once i graduate.
I guess I have thought about it sometimes. But in the end for some weird reason I love this place. I am happy when I go abroad but I am equally happy returning from abroad. So I suppose I am going to stay till I grow old. Besides we are such a mobile society. I know this is going to sound nauseatingly mushy but - I am just happy to jet to some foriegn country for the holidays and then return to Home Sweet Home...Originally posted by dragg:a lot of singaporeans complain about the high cost of living. have you ever thought of emigrating? if yes, when? and where to?
Ok i haven't worked in the UK before because i am currently in Univeristy here.Originally posted by coffeeortea:haha.. good luck then.. the cost of living there is higher than in Singapore =D
hmmm...Originally posted by lwflee:Ok i haven't worked in the UK before because i am currently in Univeristy here.
And yes, the cost of living is higher.But, imo, not that much higher, and i think for the lifestyle i am after, savings potential is greater in the UK.
Rent is about S$600/month outside of london.
Groceries will set you back about S$60/wk, though my fren seems to get by on 45/wk. Tv Licence is about S$360/yr. Gas + Electricity +water will set you back about S$50/month.
You also have to pay income tax and National Insurance. I am not exactly sure how much is due for National Insurance, but Income Tax isn't really that high. First S$15000 is tax free. Next S$90000 is taxed at about 22%. Any amt thereafter will be taxed 40%. I have been told that at an annual salary of S$84000/yr, your take home pay will be about S$5400.
Graduates on average earn about S$54000/yr though you can expect more if you work in London.
Note though, that it is difficult to get a job in the UK because of immigration controls. Some, like nurses obviously have an easier time than say Lawyers.
Pensions contribution is extra and the amt you pay into pension varies with the scheme you are in. I am quite sure it is optional.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:hmmm...
the income tax in comparable to s'pore...
do you noe if need to pay cpf or anything like tat?
if dun emigrate there...
at least go there work a few years also good experience...![]()
one of my good frens has already gotten the PR of sydney australia and her husband found a job there so she is leaving soon....very sadOriginally posted by dragg:a lot of singaporeans complain about the high cost of living. have you ever thought of emigrating? if yes, when? and where to?
can anyone tell me wad da "requirements" to be allowed to emigrate to da states by da US goverment?Originally posted by coffeeortea:aust is a slacker place to be in.. Singapore's cost of living is not as high as Japan.. its Sick to live in Japan.. Im in Usa now and the cost of living is not as high as i expected it to be back when i was a little kid.. im like oh usa is a superpower which means the expenses are super as well, but no.. land is cheap.. cars are cheap.. food is cheap.. but i still rather stay in singapore.. why?.. cause thats where i belong.. with my family.. and friends
I am thinking of going to Taipei.Originally posted by dragg:a lot of singaporeans complain about the high cost of living. have you ever thought of emigrating? if yes, when? and where to?
I hate UK...after studying there for 2 yrs...Originally posted by hyuuga neji:tot of going to uk...
read tat they need more it professionals...
hehe...
but gf dun wan to leave...
so have to shelf the idea...![]()